Sunday, 31 December 2017

Review: Special Minds by Ally K. 5 of 5 stars

Special Minds Special Minds by Ally K.
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Millicent Kale live with constant pain when her mental and psychological pain becomes physical, but she lives life as normally as she can by focusing completely on the task at hand. Then the closest person to her dies and everything changes for Milly - she finds out she is not quite human nor is she alone. As she has her breakdown her subconscious becomes another duplicate physical body and life is better again - for a while. Dean White is her new boss and she is trying to ignore him as much as she can even though her hard to ignore other self is telling her to give in and get involved with him. Eventually fate will not be denied, she finds out more about what she is and everything feels too good to be true until an ex-coworker takes revenge and she is suddenly entangled in a secret war she never knew existed.

This was a really clever story and I enjoyed the way it built up as it progressed. I loved all the plot's twists and turns that were there to surprise you - especially the one at the end (wow), It was well written and everything was clear and easy to understand. I could feel the thoughts and emotions of the characters and the love story element was kind of sweet too.

Read and review it yourself on Inkitt here

Review: The Gift Paradox by Noelle Greene 5 of 5 stars

The Gift Paradox The Gift Paradox by Noelle Greene
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Rose Slater and Jackson Lee might have known each other from childhood but they have had turbulent times in their lives but now they are together and their wedding is only days away. All they need to do is finish an easy job they have in the Philippines researching coral reefs. However Jackson is kidnapped by militants and everything is suddenly falling apart at a time when they should be happy. Even worse Rose has just discovered a precious gift for them both - can they get out of this mess and get the HEA they both are desperate for?

I loved this story - it had plenty of danger and drama as well as loving and tender moments. Life never seems to be easy for this pair and this was a perfect example of that. I liked that the story had current themes in it with the Chinese and terrorists which made it more believable. Well written as usual and very enjoyable. What will happen next for this pair as I can't imagine them ever having a quiet life?

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 29 December 2017

Review: Secret Admirer's Christmas Wish by Dariel Raye 4 of 5 stars

Secret Admirer's Christmas Wish Secret Admirer's Christmas Wish by Dariel Raye
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Cheryl Hightower is amazing with figures and when she changes job to a more fulfilling organisation it goes badly as there are manipulative people and her life unravels slowly. She also meets there a man who becomes her secret crush - however he is her boss. Disaster awaits unless some smart thinking can find a solution.

This was a sweet story that was definitely a Christmas story. It was well written and enjoyable to read - definitely good for something light to add something to your Christmas season.

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 28 December 2017

Review: Dragon's Curse by Jasmine Walt by May Sage 5 of 5 stars

Dragon's Curse: a Reverse Harem Fantasy Romance Dragon's Curse: a Reverse Harem Fantasy Romance by Jasmine Walt by 

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Dareena is pregnant but is in danger for both her own and her unborn child's life as the war with the magicians intensifies. Can the three mates survive and keep Dareena and the unborn child safe from all the spies and assassination attempts?

This is a great ending to the series and has a lot of action and drama as integral parts of the story. There were a lot of twists and turns many of which were impossible to predict and were a complete surprise to me. The book was well written and everything was clear and easy to understand.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 24 December 2017

Review: Saved by Her Dragon by Julia Mills 4 of 5 stars

Saved by Her Dragon Saved by Her Dragon by Julia Mills
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Devon has great heritage for a Guardsman - his Dad was the fiercest in history and his Mother is a healer. Anya Sloane is an orphan that has been raised by earth witches when she is abducted and then left for dead outside a hospital. After a month of trying to come out of the coma she is in, she discovers that everything she thought she knew were illusions. Can she work with Devon to find the traitor who imprisoned her and save the dragons?

Lots of drama and danger in this story of evil and betrayal all mixed into a love story between Devon and Anya. There were plenty of twists and turns in this story in the world of the dragon guards. A nice ending and yet the promise of much more to come in the next story. Well written and everything was clear and easy to feel and understand.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 20 December 2017

Review: Alien Mates: The Complete Box Set (Books 1-4) by Ashley L. Hunt 4 of 5 stars

Alien Mates: The Complete Box Set (Books 1-4): Paranormal SciFi Romance Alien Mates: The Complete Box Set (Books 1-4): Paranormal SciFi Romance by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Volistad 5*

Joanna Angeles has been trained to go to an alien world and prepare it for human colonists due to arrive in 10 years time. However she is not so confident when she awakes to find herself on a frozen world with an artificial intelligence in her head to keep her company and stop her going insane. Volistad is a warrior and hunter known as a ranger and a member of the Erinye. He sees a god arrive on his world and finds that he will have to go against his leadership to find out more about this god. They both get caught up in ancient dark secrets and have to work together to get past everything. Can they save the Erinye and make the kind of environment that the incoming humans and Erinye can live together in harmony?

This was a great story that added a futuristic touch with the AI in her head and the nanobots helping with everything. The building relationship between Joanna and Volistad was nicely written and I enjoyed the sections about learning the language. Everything was well written and clear/easy to understand. I could feel the thoughts and emotions of the characters and it was easy to empathise with them.

Kerr 4*

Kataline is a genetically engineered human who has been educated ready to bring peace to Earth - not that anyone bothered to ask her is she was happy to do that. Kerr is the alien Prince of Euthenia and he is the one she is being given to. However when they are travelling to Euthenia the human colonists from Earth start an uprising and Kataline is imprisoned by her father and starts to wonder if that was his plan all along.

This was a story with Kataline and Kerr as main characters but it covered their parents and friends too. Whilst it started in a very misogynist society it soon moved to a society where women were at last equal and able to have their own lives and hopes and dreams. I liked that the society was able to develop and correct many of the past wrongs by the younger generation. I did find it a little rambling and thought that the focus on the older generation was a little misplaced in a book with the title Kerr. The descriptions of emotions were clear and easy to understand and the writing was good.

Yahn 5*

Yahn is a tall, blue-skinned Karkastian, and Jessie is a beautiful soldier assigned to explore the planet of Karkast which has recently been devastated by Sarceastians (a race that is determined to conquer the galaxy and use the resources they find to add to their wealth). Everything changes when Jessie encounters the last member of the Karkastian race (Yahn) and decides not to kill him but to protect him. Instead they both become fugitives having many adventures, drama and danger as they get to know each other better and gain acceptance for being together. As part of this journey they end up being known as liberators and gain allies across the galaxy even though they make a dangerous enemy too. Can they survive or will they go one crisis too far in their quest to be together in safety and happiness?

Wow - twists and turns had nothing on this story as they moved from one crisis to another in their need for acceptance and somewhere to call home. There was lots of danger and drama, whist in between there were tender moments of love and passion. It was charming to experience the relationship between Yahn and Jessie develop and blossom into something much more. A great read.

Jasih 4*

This story is set on Earth in 2514 AD when the planet is abandoned and humans have spread to other planets in the galaxy. Eladia is a Chronicler and together with Silver her AI robot her tries to find artefacts and some mystery. There she meets Jasih an alien who has been in stasis since he crashed on Earth. Jasih has a dark secret and seems to have 2 personalities trapped in the one body. Can they work together to solve what is known as the Great Mystery and can they prevail when there are people around them trying to stop their progress?

This is much more like a true Science Fiction story with just a little alien mate thrown in for good measure so you might not enjoy this story if you are not into pure science fiction. I liked the descriptions of the worlds and the people and events there as they were very clear and easy to understand. I did find the emotion parts of the story a bit intense at times and the dual personality aspect didn't always help until I got a fair amount through the story and understood it better. This definitely didn't feel like a love story and was much more like science fiction with a bit of sex thrown in for good measure. The ending was good and I liked the way the story finally came to a stop.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Jasih by Ashley L. Hunt 4 of 5 stars

Jasih Jasih by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This story is set on Earth in 2514 AD when the planet is abandoned and humans have spread to other planets in the galaxy. Eladia is a Chronicler and together with Silver her AI robot her tries to find artefacts and some mystery. There she meets Jasih an alien who has been in stasis since he crashed on Earth. Jasih has a dark secret and seems to have 2 personalities trapped in the one body. Can they work together to solve what is known as the Great Mystery and can they prevail when there are people around them trying to stop their progress?

This is much more like a true Science Fiction story with just a little alien mate thrown in for good measure so you might not enjoy this story if you are not into pure science fiction. I liked the descriptions of the worlds and the people and events there as they were very clear and easy to understand. I did find the emotion parts of the story a bit intense at times and the dual personality aspect didn't always help until I got a fair amount through the story and understood it better. This definitely didn't feel like a love story and was much more like science fiction with a bit of sex thrown in for good measure. The ending was good and I liked the way the story finally came to a stop.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 18 December 2017

Review: Kerr by Ashley L. Hunt 4 of 5 stars

Kerr Kerr by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Kataline is a genetically engineered human who has been educated ready to bring peace to Earth - not that anyone bothered to ask her is she was happy to do that. Kerr is the alien Prince of Euthenia and he is the one she is being given to. However when they are travelling to Euthenia the human colonists from Earth start an uprising and Kataline is imprisoned by her father and starts to wonder if that was his plan all along.

This was a story with Kataline and Kerr as main characters but it covered their parents and friends too. Whilst it started in a very misogynist society it soon moved to a society where women were at last equal and able to have their own lives and hopes and dreams. I liked that the society was able to develop and correct many of the past wrongs by the younger generation. I did find it a little rambling and thought that the focus on the older generation was a little misplaced in a book with the title Kerr. The descriptions of emotions were clear and easy to understand and the writing was good.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 17 December 2017

Review: Bodacious Creed by Jonathan Fesmire 4 of 5 stars

Bodacious Creed: a Steampunk Zombie Western Bodacious Creed: a Steampunk Zombie Western by Jonathan Fesmire
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

James Creed is a US Marshal and has travelled to Santa Cruz CA to find at catch an infamous killer called Corwin Blake. Blake guns Creed down but he is brought back by Anna, a young woman in a lab under a brothel who has also given him some physical improvements that give him strength and speed. He now needs to work with the brothel madam, a bounty hunter and the remaining marshals to battle the criminal syndicate protecting Blake who are now creating zombies out of criminals who had been killed.

This was a charming merge between the wild west and steampunk in a story about US marshals trying to control criminals who are dabbling with advanced technology. It was seamlessly intertwined with the story of Anna and the way she saved James Creed from death and their relationship. It was really nice for there to be a strong woman who makes all the technical discoveries and be much more capable than the male who is working for the criminal syndicate doing similar sorts of work. The book was well written, everything was clearly described and there were lots of twists and turns in the story so you couldn't be bored. I liked the morality discussion around whether it was right to have and use technology to bring people back from the dead.

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 16 December 2017

Review: Achilles: Soul of Her King by Julia Mills 5 of 5 stars

Achilles: Soul of Her King Achilles: Soul of Her King by Julia Mills
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book covers the story of how the King Achilles and his soul-mate Juliette join with the rest of the kings to thwart the vindictive God Ares and bond so they can both live in eternal happiness.

I loved this story and the ending of it. There were plenty of twists and turns, but at the end of the day the kings know they can rely on each other and their mates to be a united family. I loved the way Achilles (Lee) was his normal alpha male self, and that his mate was not a weak willed woman and was a force to complement him. You don't have to read the previous books in the series to read this although it will help to have a little more of the background.

** Please note this book contains adult content including some sex.

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 14 December 2017

Review: Albaterra Mates: The Complete Box Set (Book 1-7) by Ashley L. Hunt 5 of 5 stars

Albaterra Mates: The Complete Box Set (Book 1-7): Paranormal SciFi Alien Romance Albaterra Mates: The Complete Box Set (Book 1-7): Paranormal SciFi Alien Romance by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Rex 4*

Rex is the blue skinned warrior and Tribal Elder of one of the kingdoms on Albaterra. He is a fairly recent leader and his more modern ideas make them others wonder if he is really capable of his position. Tabitha is a feisty chef on the Paragon spaceship escaping Earth to start a new life exploring space. The Elders of Albaterra cause the spaceship to crash in a move to get rid of it and Rex finds Tabitha in the wreckage. They then have to work their way through secrets, prejudices, denial, duty and love. Can they work out how to prevent war, death and find a way for two people from separate species to also have love at the end too?

Lots of drama in this story of how two races can get over their prejudices to find a compromise, whilst two people (one from each race) can have a lasting love. There was a lot of passion in this story and it was nice to see the way the love crept up on Rex. Some of the trials became a little tedious but I also understand why they were needed. A lovely story of love against the odds between 2 people from different races.

Duke 4*

Duke is an A’li-uud Elder just like his father was. Everything is going well because there is peace in his kingdom and his warriors are well trained and deadly. However when they travel to Earth he finds he cannot kill one human woman called Emily because he is in love with her, even if that means he has to ignore his loathing for humans as well as betray his own troops.

This is a charming story on how love can strike at the most inopportune moments between two people who should be enemies. The story covered how he tried to not feel anything for her, but in the end had to give in. The ending nicely handed over to Duke who is in the next story and I hope there will be space for the rest of the story between Duke and Emily to be told as so much more can and probably will happen when they arrive on Albaterra. So it would have been nice for this book to contain more on that.

Dane 5*

Dane is new as an A’li-uud Elder even though his elder brother and father were Elders before him and has responsibility for his warriors on Earth as they at at war with the humans. However when he meets Roxanne the new Ambassador to Alien Relations who is sharp witted, has a resolve of iron, is hard headed and obstinate he feels he has met his match in more ways than one. Can they work together, come to some kind of accord between their races and handle the doubts and deceptions that surround what they are trying to achieve? Can he also handle the fact that she is the woman for him and he loves her?

Lots of action in this story whether that was against humans, the A’li-uud, or within the races themselves. The love story between Dane and Roxanne was fairly quick as it was between Duke and Emily but it was nice to see they had a few issues settling into their relationship. Well written and an enjoyable read. Looking forward to reading the next story about Lokos.

Lokos 4*

Celine is a nutritionist and is on the first ship of colonists travelling to to colonise Albaterra. Lokos is the War Chief of Albaterra’s mountain kingdom and a fearsome warrior. Then he meets Celine who enchants him with her defiant mood even though he tries hard to only help her with understanding the planet and it's customs but it is a battle he cannot win. Unfortunately her ship crashes as it arrives after being attacked by another race and they both become entangled in a fight to stay alive and stay together.

I liked this story where he was trying really hard to resist her but in the end the attraction was too much. There was plenty of danger and drama in the story with the Novai part of the story and I enjoyed the ending even though it was a little rushed.

Khrel 5*

Lena is a life coach and has travelled to Albaterra in order to find a new purpose in her life. Khrel is the War Chief of one of the kingdoms and is focused on his job until he meets Lena and finds himself out of his comfort zone needing to know her. The Novai colony nearby is a source of danger after some rogues attack Lena and Khrel has to babysit her. When she tries to escape the isolation to find her friend she ends up being kidnapped by the Novai. When Khrel rescues her is signals a possible end to everything he has worked for – can they both come out of this with everything they want?

I really liked this story which had a great mixture of danger, drama and love as it developed between Khrel and Lena. The story was well written and I really enjoyed the drama and danger involved in the parts involving the Novai. I could feel some of the emotions they were going through and could empathise with them.

Zuran 5*

Phoebe is a human nurse based in Ka-lik’et (which is in the Albaterran kingdom of Dhal’at) and is considered as one of the best. When she loses an important patient events quickly spiral into critically important events.

As a nurse, Phoebe has spent her career helping people. She knows it’s her calling and throws herself into tending to her patients heart and soul. In the city of Ka-lik’et, she is considered one of the best attendants amongst those in the human colony. When she loses the most important patient she’s ever had, though, a fuse is ignited that sends her spiralling into a course of events she never could have imagined. Zuran is a reformed criminal and the Interplanetary Affairs Officer for the Albaterran kingdom of Dhal’at. He meets the curvy, intelligent and incredibly compassionate Phoebe and is awestruck by how amazingly good a person she is. When the Novai who have also colonised Albaterra are struck with a unknown disease they are both thrown together in a desperate battle to save the colonists, ensure it does not spread to the other planet's inhabitants. As part of that journey they discover things about each other (and themselves) that had been hidden for a long time. As part of that journey can they saves their world, themselves, and find out that they actually need each other too?

I absolutely LOVED this story. You don't need to have read the earlier books in the series (however you may well find you have to go back and read them all). The story had lots of drama, danger, romance and mystery in this tale of love and how it can creep up on you when you are not expecting nor necessarily looking for it. Everything was well written and I could feel all the thoughts, frustrations and emotions felt by the characters in this story.

Venan 5*

Octavia is a hairdresser on Albaterra and part of her job is to make people feel good about themselves. Venan is the latest Elder to join the council and is finally at the head of the kingdom he has devoted his life to protecting - that would be great apart from the controversial death of his predecessor, his previous imprisonment for his murder, and subsequent clearing. However he still feels criticism and disgust from the people he now leads. All that changes when he meets Octavia with her dark hair, dark eyes and open mind. So he asks her to dance and is even more captivated. She helps him onto a journey of self discovery as he learns about the priorities in life and how to get confidence again in his worth and his abilities, even though she unwittingly ends up in the middle of a family crisis which could prove deadly.

Wow - LOVED this story. It had so much romance and tenderness, which is a lovely surprise considering the serious and boring nature of Venan in the previous book about Zunan and the start of this book. It was very enjoyable how their relationship slowly built into friendship, respect, a form of partnership before it moved to a state of love and certainty of their feelings for each other. Everything was well written and the thoughts and emotions of the characters were easy to understand and feel. I loved the ending, I'm just very sad that it is the last story.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Khrel by Ashley L. Hunt 5 of 5 stars

Khrel Khrel by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lena is a life coach and has travelled to Albaterra in order to find a new purpose in her life. Khrel is the War Chief of one of the kingdoms and is focused on his job until he meets Lena and finds himself out of his comfort zone needing to know her. The Novai colony nearby is a source of danger after some rogues attack Lena and Khrel has to babysit her. When she tries to escape the isolation to find her friend she ends up being kidnapped by the Novai. When Khrel rescues her is signals a possible end to everything he has worked for – can they both come out of this with everything they want?

I really liked this story which had a great mixture of danger, drama and love as it developed between Khrel and Lena. The story was well written and I really enjoyed the drama and danger involved in the parts involving the Novai. I could feel some of the emotions they were going through and could empathise with them.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 13 December 2017

Review: Claimed by Andrea R. Cooper 5 of 5 stars

Claimed Claimed by Andrea R. Cooper
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Renee Maxwell is working in her dream job as an assistant to an archaeologist in Turkey when she seeing strange things after finding a crystal in the ground. He boss Damon Cubins might be hot but she isn't going to fall for his charms and become another notch in his bedpost. Damon is an incubus and has no time for love but is desperately trying to find a special crystal to stop himself becoming a demon - however Renee has it - can he romance it from her or give in and just walk away?

I really enjoyed this paranormal story which started nice and slow but soon developed into an action packed ending. Renee was an independent woman and determined to not cave in to the attraction to Damon (although I admit to wanting to shake her sometimes!), and Damon was a rare beast as he was trying his utmost to do the right thing (a rare thing for a half-demon). I liked the danger elements added to the story which gave it a nice build up towards the end of the story. Well written and enjoyable.

Buy from Amazon

Review: When Gargoyles Reign by Ashley C. Harris 4 of 5 stars

When Gargoyles Reign When Gargoyles Reign by Ashley C. Harris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is the prequel to the Shades and Shadows series and fills in a lot of the background as to how gargoyles ended up reigning, how vampires appeared on the scene and the adventures of Merlin and his involvement in all of those happenings.

This was really interesting and made the Shades and Shadows series feel much more rounded - so a must if you enjoy the series. I was fascinated to understand how some of the events that shaped the world before the series began affected the various characters and how it affected their emotions and motivations for certain actions. It was well written and although I found it a little hard to get into was very enjoyable and ended up with lights going off in my head as I realised how certain things happened in the series.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 10 December 2017

Review: Grey by Bella Roccaforte by A.K. Michaels 5 of 5 stars

Grey Grey by Bella Roccaforte by A.K. Michaels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Grey is a very old vampire and has been controlling his darker side and living off bagged blood - he could be held up as an example of how to live a quiet life by The Directive. Then he gets a call and has to help another vampire in The Directive by handling a problem for him in Atlanta. When he gets there a Thirst for blood hits him like lightening and he loses almost all control as he needs to find his blood-mate before he goes insane. Can he find her in time to save them both and how far is he going to go against The Directive to find her?

Wow - great second book in this new series where a vampire is struck by a thirst and his to find his blood-mate before it is too late. There was a great deal of drama and danger in this story which involved more members of the supernatural world. I loved the way the story developed and the trials and tribulations they both had to get through before they found each other and were able to have a happily ever after. Everything was well written and the people, situations and events were well described so that I felt as if I was there experiencing it with them. Looking forward to reading the next instalment in this series.

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 7 December 2017

Review: Lokos by Ashley L. Hunt 4 of 5 stars

Lokos Lokos by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Celine is a nutritionist and is on the first ship of colonists travelling to to colonise Albaterra. Lokos is the War Chief of Albaterra’s mountain kingdom and a fearsome warrior. Then he meets Celine who enchants him with her defiant mood even though he tries hard to only help her with understanding the planet and it's customs but it is a battle he cannot win. Unfortunately her ship crashes as it arrives after being attacked by another race and they both become entangled in a fight to stay alive and stay together.

I liked this story where he was trying really hard to resist her but in the end the attraction was too much. There was plenty of danger and drama in the story with the Novai part of the story and I enjoyed the ending even though it was a little rushed.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Dragon's Tears by Eva Chase 5 of 5 stars

Dragon's Tears: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Romance Dragon's Tears: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Romance by Eva Chase
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ren discovered in the previous book that she is the last dragon shifter alive and has to have 4 alpha shifters as her mates - such a hard task. However she is starting to get her abilities and emotions under control. However following a trail from her mother, both Ren and her mates have to face trials and dangers along the way. As part of that secrets are unearthed that threaten the peace that exists between shifters and fae - does Ren have the strength to handle everything that is thrown a her?

Wow - so much drama and danger all mixed in with a real need for restraint and diplomacy. I loved the interplay between Ren and her mates as well as Ren and the people in the wider shifter community. I won't spoil anything but two of them need a damn good shake! Well written and lots of drama, danger and excitement. Looking forward to what happens next.

** Please note this story contains scenes involving one woman, four men, and some sex.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Appalachian Prey by Debbie Herbert 5 of 5 stars

Appalachian Prey Appalachian Prey by Debbie Herbert
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lilah Tedder is pregnant and has to return to Lavender Mountain after her father is murdered, but in doing that she has to face Harlan Sampson who dumped her last time she was there and unbeknown to him is her baby's father. Yes she still wants him but he is more interested in his ambition and being associated with her will damage that. However when the killer now targets Lilah he becomes her protector. Can they uncover the family secrets before they end up paying the price?

This was a lovely story that had an amazing setting on Lavender Mountain in the Appalachians. I liked the joining of a love that is impossible to avoid and a murder mystery wrapped up in family history. It had plenty of drama and excitement and the story went through lots of twists and turns. I heartwarming story that will make you smile at the end.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 6 December 2017

Review: Ghosts and Grudges: a Reverse Harem Urban Fantasy by Jasmine Walt by J.A. Cipriano 5 of 5 stars

Ghosts and Grudges: a Reverse Harem Urban Fantasy Ghosts and Grudges: a Reverse Harem Urban Fantasy by Jasmine Walt by 
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Aika has a hidden ability awaken in her and that's when the trouble starts. How is she supposed to handle caring for her sick mother, studying for her medical degree and running their restaurant before this new ability to summon monsters? However when her mother is taken she can't ignore it anymore and ends up working with 2 shamans who are willing to train her as they help. Can she work out what is going on with her two helpers and her attraction to them whilst rescuing her mum?

WOW - if I could give this more than 5 stars I would. There was so much drama, mystery and action woven into this mystical story around an ancient Japanese folklore that I was hooked from start to finish. I couldn't put it down and ended up reading it until 3 am. I have loved books written individually by both these authors and thought it was worth a try and was blown away - these guys need to write together more.

Please note this is heading towards a MFM scenario so if you are not comfortable with that you may want to give this a skip, although you will miss out on a great book.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 5 December 2017

Review: Twice as Delicious by Bella Love-Wins by Vanessa Vale 4 of 5 stars

Twice as Delicious Twice as Delicious by Bella Love-Wins by Vanessa Vale
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Harper Larson has had to work hard for everything in her life, and there is no deviation from that even now as she is building up a catering business. However she sees something she shouldn't have when catering for the Irish Mafia. Fortunately for her there are two guys (Dane and Leo) who are gorgeous and will do anything it takes to protect her.

You'll need to fan yourself as you read about these two hunks who want to protect Harper and see to all her needs. I loved the way the story developed around the Irish Mafia, Harper's business and the relationship between Harper, Dane and Leo. Everything was clear and easy to understand plus it was a good read so don't be surprised if you read it in one sitting.

Warning: This book contains MFM sex.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Not on Her Watch by Nicole Zoltack 4 of 5 stars

Not on Her Watch Not on Her Watch by Nicole Zoltack
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Nathaniel Strongarm is a marine and is engaged to green beret Shauna West when they have to put their lives on hold while he goes to a remote island to tackle the Hidden Serpents who are a terrorist group. The operation is a bit of a disaster and Nathaniel is captured. When an operation to rescue the prisoners is mounted Shauna is part of the team due to her speciality. When they get there it appears there is someone killing civilians and even worse it is Nathaniel who has been brainwashed. Can Shauna rescue him and any other captured marines?

This is full of drama with many twists and turns as the action intensifies. It covered all the thoughts and emotions being experienced by both Nathaniel and Shauna and I felt as if I was there experiencing them. I loved the brainwashing side of things and how that was done and it definitely added to the mystery.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 4 December 2017

Review: Raising the Dead by D.B. Sieders 5 of 5 stars

Raising the Dead Raising the Dead by D. B. Sieders
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Vivian is a living soul broker and now has to juggle her finance job with collecting grief from the living when the departed souls cross to the other side with the help of a guardian. However she is living a dangerous existence as she is also helping a grim reaper called Lazarus Darkmore who has become an ally against the guardian management who are rather focused on a set of very limited aims. When a rogue guardian threatens her can she trust Darkmore to keep her safe?

Wow - so much happening in this the second book in the series. There was a focus on Vivian's abilities and how it affected both her and her friends as well as how that affected her emotions and relationships. I loved the relationship between Vivian and Darkmore and how that developed through the various events. Everything was well written and easy to feel and understand. It does end of a kind of a cliffhanger and that was just wow - can't wait to see what happens now.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 3 December 2017

Review: Jace's Jewel by Dale Mayer 4 of 5 stars

Jace's Jewel: A SEALs of Honor World Novel Jace's Jewel: A SEALs of Honor World Novel by Dale Mayer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Jace is sent to investigate the deaths of team members from a volunteer search and rescue team where he meets Emily who works for the insurance company facing a payout for all these deaths. Even worse for Emily is the fact that 3 of the men who have died have had a relationship with her which she worries will affect her judgement when looking at these cases. As they investigate the deaths it becomes apparent there are more and they are murder not an accident. Can they race to stop another murder and can they resist each other in the process.

Another exciting visit to Legendary Securities in this story where we see how Jace and Emily meet and start a relationship (which I hope is a permanent thing). There was a lot of mystery in this story and plenty of twists and turns where you thought you knew who it was and then it changed to someone else. Everything was well written and easy to understand. It was so nice to experience Jace being happy and coming out of his shell.

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 2 December 2017

Review: Shade by A.K. Michaels 5 of 5 stars

Shade Shade by A.K. Michaels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Shade Shawcross is the Alpha of the Silver Lake pack and seems to have a insatiable hunger that is beginning to consume him. His Betas (and best friends) suspect they know what might be happening and persuade him to look through the pack archives to confirm what it is and find out the cure. Shade eventually agrees and they start to go through the recently digitised archives. They are all shocked at what they find and when Shade finally lets his wolf take control to try and find his soulmate. This is not going to be easy as she is on the run from her pack and Shade has three bothers after him after their scheming sister told them a story that was incorrect. Will he find his mate or will either of them die from the others chasing them?

Wow - lots of action and excitement in this Wolf's Hunger story. After a slightly slow start the action just kept coming and the danger kept piling up on them both. Well written as always and all the thoughts, dreams, emotions and frustrations were all easy to feel and experience as you read this story.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 1 December 2017

Review: Undeniably Hellbound by Cassandra Lawson 5 of 5 stars

Undeniably Hellbound Undeniably Hellbound by Cassandra Lawson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lucifer is lonely and wants to find a good woman - he's not had a date in years and is tired of easy sex with sex demons. When he meets Beatrice she has no idea who he is and he wonders if she could be the one to reform him? Can he get her to fall for him? So when he is trying to stop a rebellion in Hell and keeping Beatrice safe from her brother when he escapes prison he has a problem - how can he stop her from leaving him when she works out who he really is?

Wow - who knew that Lucifer was all touchy-feely and had real bona-fide feelings? I loved this story and loved all the drama and action which built as the story developed. I was thrilled in the way the story ended and how they got there. Everything was well written and was clear and easy to feel and understand.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 29 November 2017

Review: The Vampire's Daughter by Leigh Anderson 4 of 5 stars

The Vampire's Daughter The Vampire's Daughter by Leigh Anderson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Ethan discovers that Victoria (his childhood best friend and the love of his life) is the daughter of a Vampire and is to marry a someone else to save her family so distraught he travels to a monastery to live in peace and contemplation with his broken heart. However instead he is asked to lead Dom Calmet the famous vampire hunter to his village to get rid of the vampires that plague it. Can Ethan work out whether to choose love or faith when he is back near Victoria again?

This story is a really heady mix of a whole host of cliches with a medieval village, a girl who has no idea what she really is, a journey, a lot of tortured thinking and enough drama to keep you going for ages. I'm tempted to suggest you with either love it or it will be too heavy and complicated and will not enjoy it. I would suggest you give it a try and persevere as if you can get a certain amount through the story you will enjoy it. The writing was good and I could understand everything, but the thoughts and emotions were a little over tortured in places.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 28 November 2017

Review: Victor by A.K. Michaels 5 of 5 stars

Victor Victor by A.K. Michaels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Victor Strong is an ancient Vampire, a successful businessman, and fully in control of his life and himself. All of a sudden he gets a strange thirst for blood and a drive that threatens to push him into insanity. Then he suddenly catches the sweetest of aromas that he just has to follow until he finds the owner. He is then told this person must be something very rare – a blood-mate and he enters a race against time to find her before the darkness becomes too much and he loses control completely (and therefore his life too). Can he battle through everything in his path to stop this thirst?

Wow – I've read the similar set of books around the shifter thirst but it was great to read it from another point of view of it also affecting a vampire. There was a lot of drama and danger in the story as well as i being a lovely story of love and how two strong people can get past their self reliance to come together as a unit. It was well written and everything was well described so that you felt you were there experiencing the same things as the characters. I felt fully engaged and it was such a relief when everything came good in the end. I loved the presents (you will know what I mean when you read it) and felt that they were well matched as a couple ignoring the blood-mate situation. Definitely recommended as an enjoyable read.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 27 November 2017

Review: How to Talk to Ghosts by Erin Hayes 5 of 5 stars

How to Talk to Ghosts How to Talk to Ghosts by Erin Hayes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lita has always been able to see and talk to ghosts to the point she is more comfortable with them than her father who only cares about power and building a business empire. So when her Uncle Neptune dies her Dad's sole focus is to take over his aquarium no matter who he actually left it to. SO Lita has a choice - help her father to get it and take over the world, or help her Uncle's friends who all have their own secrets to get it as per his wishes, and in the process save the world! Can Lita take the pressure and make the right decision?

Wow we had evil, varieties of paranormal and lots of ghosts! And at the centre one sightly overwhelmed woman who literally has the weight of the world on her shoulders. I loved the dynamic between Lita and Ryan - I sure hope that is taken further in later books. It was well written as I would expect from Erin and addictive from start to finish. I can't wait for the next book to be written and released now.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 26 November 2017

Review: Possess Me Under The Mistletoe by T.F. Walsh 5 of 5 stars

Possess Me Under The Mistletoe Possess Me Under The Mistletoe by T.F. Walsh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Cyra Mane is going to a haunted house for her first mission and she is determined to make a good impression with the demon hunting company that had hired her. However demon hunter Gunn turns up and suddenly the simple task becomes dangerous (even more so if you factor in that she has desired him for months). Gunn on the other hand has been fantasising about Cyra for months but he won't taint her with his bad luck and her brother would definitely not be happy if he touched her!! However Cyra's spell goes terribly wrong and everyone (including the elderly owners of the house) become imprisoned there plus they find a Hell portal in the loft too. Can they all survive this situation and can Cyra and Gunn resist each other?

Please note this is related to the Hell Unleashed series although you don't have to have read that before to enjoy this story.

I LOVED this story. It had lots of danger, magic and passion all mixed up into a melting pot to produce what is a great story that had me hooked from the start to the finish. Everything was well written and I defy anyone to read this story and not want to start reading the Hell Unleashed series. Lovely Christmas story which wasn't cheesy so definitely recommended for a bit of the Christmas spirit.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Blow: Three Little Pigs Retold by Demelza Carlton 4 of 5 stars

Blow: Three Little Pigs Retold Blow: Three Little Pigs Retold by Demelza Carlton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Portia is the eldest of triplets and Prince Rudolf has promised her and her sisters that he will protect them but he has to go back to his home country for a variety of reasons so has to leave them behind. After many changes she has to conquer her home which means he might lose her forever. When the wolf is at the door, who will win - love or war?

It was nice to read after the Appease story more about Rudolf and more about what happened to him. The story was well told and I enjoyed it right up until near the end when it didn't feel like the ending fit into the story completely. But i was an enchanting story in general and still very enjoyable. It had plenty of action and romance to enjoy.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 24 November 2017

Review: Wicked Destiny by L.C. Hibbett 5 of 5 stars

Wicked Destiny Wicked Destiny by L.C. Hibbett
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Destiny is the first black witch born into any family of the Celtic gods for 1000's of years and life was sweet as she held great parties and had a talent for being poisonous in words as well as her magic. Then she has two stripes on a pregnancy test and everything has to change. She just wants a normal life with her aunt and daughter. Then kids start going missing and she feels sorry but it's not her problem. All she needs to do is get to her 21st birthday and then she can join the free witches and escape The Family

This was a great story that had me so hooked I stayed up until 3 am reading it. Please don't be afraid or be put of by it being described as a "reverse harem" book - it was very sensitively done and there was no kissing let alone any sex. I loved the way the book ended and look forward to the next one to see how it develops going forward. Everything was well written and easy to understand.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 22 November 2017

Review: Dane by Ashley L. Hunt 5 of 5 stars

Dane Dane by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Dane is new as an A’li-uud Elder even though his elder brother and father were Elders before him and has responsibility for his warriors on Earth as they at at war with the humans. However when he meets Roxanne the new Ambassador to Alien Relations who is sharp witted, has a resolve of iron, is hard headed and obstinate he feels he has met his match in more ways than one. Can they work together, come to some kind of accord between their races and handle the doubts and deceptions that surround what they are trying to achieve? Can he also handle the fact that she is the woman for him and he loves her?

Lots of action in this story whether that was against humans, the A’li-uud, or within the races themselves. The love story between Dane and Roxanne was fairly quick as it was between Duke and Emily but it was nice to see they had a few issues settling into their relationship. Well written and an enjoyable read. Looking forward to reading the next story about Lokos.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 21 November 2017

Review: Duke by Ashley L. Hunt 4 of 5 stars

Duke Duke by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Duke is an A’li-uud Elder just like his father was. Everything is going well because there is peace in his kingdom and his warriors are well trained and deadly. However when they travel to Earth he finds he cannot kill one human woman called Emily because he is in love with her, even if that means he has to ignore his loathing for humans as well as betray his own troops.

This is a charming story on how love can strike at the most inopportune moments between two people who should be enemies. The story covered how he tried to not feel anything for her, but in the end had to give in. The ending nicely handed over to Duke who is in the next story and I hope there will be space for the rest of the story between Duke and Emily to be told as so much more can and probably will happen when they arrive on Albaterra. So it would have been nice for this book to contain more on that.

Buy from Amazon

Review: When Gargoyles Choose by Ashley C. Harris5 of 5 stars

When Gargoyles Choose When Gargoyles Choose by Ashley C. Harris
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Rose is a Gargoyle and was born in 1544, everything changed when the vampires came and brought a curse against her whole race. Now she is trying to hide in plain sight while trying to find a way to lift the curse.

I loved this and the drama and action in this story adds to the build-up of the overall series. I loved the way the interactions between her and the various vampires were written and the way it left some to our imagination to fill in the story. It definitely ended on a cliff-hanger and I now desperately need to read the next story in the series. Well written and all the thoughts and emotions were easy to feel and empathise with.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 20 November 2017

Review: Grinding Frost by Erin Bedford by J.A. Cipriano 5 of 5 stars

Grinding Frost: A Reverse Harem Dragon Fantasy Grinding Frost: A Reverse Harem Dragon Fantasy by Erin Bedford
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Maya Rose told everyone she was pregnant to ensure her suitors stayed alive, but this lie could be their undoing. Add to that the way she can add power to the ones she has mated with and the world is becoming a much more dangerous place for them. They travel to Raiden's home to seek refuge with the lightening dragons but his mother knows the truth and her price is very high for her silence - something that horrifies Maya. Can she play the old woman at her own game and what will her mates make of this situation?

Lots of drama and danger in this second part of the series. Through it all everything stays good between Maya and her three mates and they cope well with everything that is thrown at them. It was nice to see their relationships develop a bit more and for the four of them to be even more of a cohesive unit. Everything was very clear and easy to understand. I could feel all the thoughts and emotions between the characters and shared their outrage at Raiden's mother and what she was trying to do.

Please note that this is a reverse harem story and does contain scenes involving sex.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 19 November 2017

Review: Sorrow's Lie by Danielle DeVor 5 of 5 stars

Sorrow's Lie Sorrow's Lie by Danielle DeVor
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Jimmy Holiday is an exorcist and given a case by The Order to check out an alleged demon baby before the true experts arrive on a flight. However he finds that the order is not what he thought it was and that they are asking him to do unspeakable things. With the help of a voudou practitioner in the same lane and the safety of his family on the line, can he fight for the life of the child and what will be the repercussions in his life?

I really enjoyed this story. It was like a horror story but quite tame with the scary bits. The story was very well written and everything was clear and easy to understand. There was a lot of action and twists and turns (especially the one at the end which was a complete surprise!). Can be read stand alone even though it is the 4th book in the series.

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 18 November 2017

Review: Bridge: Bridge & Sword: Apocalypse by JC Andrijeski 5 of 5 stars

Bridge: Bridge & Sword: Apocalypse Bridge: Bridge & Sword: Apocalypse by JC Andrijeski
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Revik has lost everything – his unborn daughter, he got his wife back but they took her mind. So he decides it is time for a final confrontation – he prepares in San Francisco and then everyone moves to New York for the final battle. Can he rescue his child from the Dreng or will he have to kill her to save her from becoming their slave?

OMG – there was so much drama and danger in this book after the events in the previous one it felt like a roller-coaster at times. I felt so desperately SAD for Revik as events unfolded that I just wanted to give him a hug while at the same time I either felt like crying or wanting to kick some butt. There were a lot of descriptions of thoughts and emotions in this book and they were so clear and easy to understand I felt as if I was there living it with them. I can't wait for the next instalment now.

Please note this book needs you to have read the previous books in the series first.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 13 November 2017

Review: Fallen Empire: An Epic Dragon Fantasy Adventure by K.N. Lee 4 of 5 stars

Fallen Empire: An Epic Dragon Fantasy Adventure Fallen Empire: An Epic Dragon Fantasy Adventure by K.N. Lee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Kylan is in the last Dragon clan and hunts firedrakes by day as he prepares for a voyage to find the key to his people's survival. Amalia is a Mage who has escaped The Brotherhood who have been hunting down magic users and killing them. Can she survive in a land containing shifters, firedrakes and The Brotherhood's monks who are convinced that her death will save the world?

Good start to this series which has introduce the basic characters in the story to us. It was well told and everything was easy to understand and feel. Looking forward to the next instalment in the epic story.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 10 November 2017

Review: Shamelessly Spellboundby Cassandra Lawson 5 of 5 stars

Shamelessly Spellbound Shamelessly Spellbound by Cassandra Lawson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Trevor Dupree is a warlock and a bit of a player. He moved from witch to witch, being infatuated and convinced she will be the one for him - that is until he met Melina Blackwood - a witch who turned him down and then refused to go anywhere near him. For Melina, ever since she met Trevor she can'r get him out of her head and now she is being begged for another chance (can she resist him again?) However there is a woman who will do anything to get Trevor even if that means she has to kill. Can they both come out of this and find happiness together?

I LOVED this story which is a continuation from the events in the book Sinfully Spellbound (although you could read this stand alone). I loved the way the relationship developed between Melina and Trevor and how the danger from the other woman built. Please be aware there is sexual content in this story. I was thrilled with the ending and am now looking forward to the next story in the series. Well written and everything was clear and easy to understand.

Buy from Amazon

Review: The Rapture of Cain by Thea Atkinson 3 of 5 stars

The Rapture of Cain The Rapture of Cain by Thea Atkinson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Cain is immortal and finds himself in a Gothic-style church in a seedy part of New Earth. Even worse Sasha (a hermaphrodite) has been feeding him a drug called godspit and has got him addicted to it. Then the red general makes an entrance and he faces her wrath.

To be honest I had no idea what this was about and who all these people were. It might be good if you have read the books in the Theta Waves series but to read this cold it made very little sense. The writing was good I was just confused with the story.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 5 November 2017

Review: Appease: Princess and the Pea Retold by Demelza Carlton 5 of 5 stars

Appease: Princess and the Pea Retold Appease: Princess and the Pea Retold by Demelza Carlton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Princess Sativa was betrothed to Prince Reidar as a child so when her father promises her as a prize to any hero who can slay the dragon she decides to take matters into her own hand and set off to find him herself. Can she get over the sea and through all the barriers in her path to find him on her own?

I loved this story based on the Princess and the Pea fairytale. The story was quite charming and well told as the author described the characters, their thoughts, emotions and actions. I enjoyed the bravery of Sativa and the way she came through all of the adventures she encountered as part of her journey to find Reidar. As for his mother all I can say is what a total b*tch who deserved a lot more than she received after some of her stunts. Definitely recommended. You don't have to read the previous books in this series but there is a nice connection between the previous one to this one (Embellish: Brave Little Tailor Retold).

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 4 November 2017

Review: Taken by Magic by Jasmine Walt 5 of 5 stars

Taken by Magic Taken by Magic by Jasmine Walt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The wedding between Sunaya and Iannis is fast approaching but they are both incredibly busy sorting out a conference and the wedding itself when Iannis's family contact him complaining that they had not been consulted. Then a family member takes action and an adventure in Manuc enfolds. Can they get through this situation and get the dream wedding they both deserve.

What a great story to finish series. I loved the different trials and their stories which were all quite different. I loved the wedding and it was wonderful to have so much happiness for the central characters so I can imagine them having a fulfilling and very happy life going forward. Sad for the series to end but it had a fitting ending that you need to read if you have read any of the earlier books so you have closure. Well written and cleverly crafted into a worthy ending. Looking forward to whatever the author writes next.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Dragon's Guard by Eva Chase 5 of 5 stars

Dragon's Guard: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Romance Dragon's Guard: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Romance by Eva Chase
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ren Landis goes out on her 21st birthday and ends up being kidnapped. Then it all goes a bit weird when she discovers that shifters actually exist and that she is one too - and that she is the last dragon shifter too. She meets the hot alphas of the 4 shifter groups and she is supposed to mate with them and unite the shifter communities. However she has never shifted, has no idea how to reactivate her powers and there are rogues out for her blood so they can finish what they started years ago.

WOW. Lots of drama, danger, hot guys, passion and action. I loved the concept of the story with her mating with the 4 of them (lucky girl!) and her struggle to understand this new world and finding her powers. Well written and the sex scenes were tastefully written and appropriate to the story. I can't wait to read the next instalment in the story.

** Please note this story contains scenes involving one woman, four men, and some sex.

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 2 November 2017

Review: Tatum: A Wolf's Hunger by S. Raven Storm 5 of 5 stars

Tatum: A Wolf's Hunger Alpha Shifter Romance Tatum: A Wolf's Hunger Alpha Shifter Romance by S. Raven Storm
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Tatum is an Alpha with a large region who ruled in a firm but fair manner. He thinks that love is nonsense and doesn't have time for any of that and thinks that the wolf's hunger is an old wives tale. When he gets physical and emotional pain he does everything he can to ignore it. Bristol is the daughter of an Alpha who was recently murdered by Rex (who has also just killed her mother) one of the pack members who is determined to take over as Alpha and claim her as his mate. She is on the run when she meets Tatum who she recognises has her soulmate and Tatum suddenly finds that maybe the wolf's hunger is real after all - he can't get enough of her and is suddenly determined to make her his. Can he keep her safe from Rex or will he get her and kill Tatum into the bargain?

This is a great addition to the Wolf's Hunger collection The story had lots of danger and drama with the story between Tatum and Bristol. It was well written and I could feel and empathise will all the thoughts and emotions the characters in the story. I liked the descriptions of the settings and activities in the stories and it added to the feeling that I was watching the story in pictures or video. I've not read anything by this author but I enjoyed this and will look for other stories by her.

Buy from Amazon

Review: War of the Dragons by K.N. Lee 4 of 5 stars

War of the Dragons: Book Four of the Dragon-Born Saga War of the Dragons: Book Four of the Dragon-Born Saga by K.N. Lee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Rowen keeps dreaming of end of the world and she knows she needs to find a way to stop that from happening. This is even more imperative now she is the the queen of Withrae so is responsible for the family who are living in the palace. Can the scribe who worked for her father help her to stop the war between humans and dragons and stop it from happening?

This was a well written story that had a lots happening but it was a little slow in places. Hopefully it has done a lot of the work to set up the next book which will hopefully have a lot more drama and excitement. Well written and everything was clear and easy to understand. I'm looking forward to the next instalment now.

Please note this is the 4th book in the series and you need to have read the others first.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 1 November 2017

Review: Luke Complete Box Set by Ashley L. Hunt 3 of 5 stars

Luke Complete Box Set Luke Complete Box Set by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Luke is an alien who has been cursed to switch location between Earth and his planet when he feels extreme emotion. Candice is a human who meets him and they start a relationship suffering the switches between places and the effect on their relationship.

This is a strange story and it's a little hard to get your head around where the characters are and the effect on their lives of this curse. At first I felt sorry for them but after a while I just became annoyed with Candice. Well written and a nice concept but I found it a bit strange.

Please note this is only available on Instafreebie when you sign up for the author's mailing list.

Obtain via Instafreebie

Tuesday, 31 October 2017

Review: When Gargoyles Rise by Ashley C. Harris 4 of 5 stars

When Gargoyles Rise When Gargoyles Rise by Ashley C. Harris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Rose is a Gargoyle and was born in 1544 and life was good until the Vampires arrived and a curse came with them. After a 500 year gap she awakes from her stone form in Washington DC and there are no more gargoyles as they are all in stone and distributed all over. The world is now ruled by the vampires. However there is some hope as Rose learns she has to convince the human Sean Noble to fall in love with her if they can survive high school together. She also discovers that Adamus the vampire prince who betrayed her in 1556 is around and so she needs to keep her identity secret from him. Can Rose do all those things at the same time without getting into hot water?

This is a story with lots of intrigue, twists and turns. You can't help but feel sorry for Rose and the situation she awakens in as well as be frustrated with Sean and some of his attitudes. The plot of the story was good and I really enjoyed it, but the ending of this book is very abrupt (so be prepared for it) so I really need to read the next one in the series to find out what happens next.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 29 October 2017

Review: Losing Time by Nicola Claire 4 of 5 stars

Losing Time Losing Time by Nicola Claire
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Mimi Wylde (is a scientist with the nickname of Mouse) and her twin sister Carrie are on a holiday of a lifetime to get them out of their funk after their parents disappeared. However something bizarre happens when looking at a NASA installation and she suddenly has to find the kind of strength she never knew she had. Dr Jack Evans works as a Surgeon at the Royal Academy of Time Surgeons (RATS) where everything has a reason and consequence - even dreams. When sorting out an anomaly in the time waves he inadvertently picks up a woman from the past called Mimi Wylde and he knows that time must have been tampered with. Even worse he has been dreaming of her before he picked her up and she is everything he ever wanted. They both have to work together chasing down history and trying to fix the anomaly.

This is definitely a science fiction book so you will have to get your head around time travel and all the positives and negatives that it involves. Merged into this sci-fi story is a mystery, some danger and romance between Jack and Mimi. I found the doubt and the fighting of their attraction irritating at times and definitely had moments when I wanted to shake them. I really enjoyed the twist at the end of the story which set it up nicely for what will happen next in the story. Well written as always from Nicola

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 26 October 2017

Review: The Complete Circuit Trilogy by Rhett C. Bruno 5 of 5 stars

The Complete Circuit Trilogy The Complete Circuit Trilogy by Rhett C. Bruno
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Circuit is a string of colonies across the solar system where humans live mining resources. They are overseen by something called the New Earth Tribunal who are a religious sect who believe in something called the Spirit which they believe will one day welcome home to Earth humanity. However some random attacks are believed to come from the Ceresian sect in an attempt to challenge the Tribunal. Can a band of unlikely heroes challenge and save them all? Can the Tribunal's best spy, a Ceresian mercenary, an android and disgraced general save them from a conspiracy to bring down the Tribunal and change the Circuit forever? The trilogy contains:
Executor Rising
Progeny of Vale
Earthfall

Buckle up for this dramatic saga where you might think you know who the good and bad guys are, but then a change happens and you will start to doubt yourself and your judgement of character as everything changes as you read. There are twists and turns aplenty. It's told in such a clever way that it feels like you are reading a film script (and I think it should be turned into one). I loved the way the characters were developed and the “journey” they went through in their own self knowledge and personality as well as any journey they went through as part of the story. I've tried to think about who I find as my favourite character and I can't – I might have one in book 1, but by book 2 it has changed to someone else, so I guess I love them all although I have to admit to a soft spot for android ADIM who could help me so much with the practicalities in my own life. The finale of this trilogy was an explosive ending that had me so hooked that I stayed reading it even though I really should have been asleep. This as a story that has parallels with real life – there are politics, religion, technology, progress, artificial intelligence to name just a few.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Tyson's Treasure by Dale Mayer 5 of 5 stars

Tyson's Treasure: A SEALs of Honor World Novel Tyson's Treasure: A SEALs of Honor World Novel by Dale Mayer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Tyson tragically lost his wife and child a couple of years ago and he has now recognised it's time to reenter the world and move on. Then Kai, his wife's best friend, comes back into his new life and is in trouble - she has a stalker (even though she seems to not be taking it seriously in his opinion). Tyson decides in memory of his late wife he will protect her, but then realises he wants to be with her anyway. Kai on the other hand has always wanted him, but stayed away as he married her best friend. So when she sees her again at a product demo she understands that her feelings for him have not changed. Can they sort this out, can they face the other problems that they find out, and will they give a relationship between themselves a chance.

A great story about a man's struggle to move on with his life, a woman's struggle against a stalker mixed with male prejudice in the business world, and how friends will always have your back and happiness can come even after you think all is lost. I liked the drama in the story, the twists, turns and surprises. It was well written and addictive - I definitely found myself reading faster and faster as I got further through the story. At the very end it nicely set up the next story in the series so I'm looking forward to reading that one now.

Buy from Amazon