Thursday, 14 December 2017

Review: Albaterra Mates: The Complete Box Set (Book 1-7) by Ashley L. Hunt 5 of 5 stars

Albaterra Mates: The Complete Box Set (Book 1-7): Paranormal SciFi Alien Romance Albaterra Mates: The Complete Box Set (Book 1-7): Paranormal SciFi Alien Romance by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Rex 4*

Rex is the blue skinned warrior and Tribal Elder of one of the kingdoms on Albaterra. He is a fairly recent leader and his more modern ideas make them others wonder if he is really capable of his position. Tabitha is a feisty chef on the Paragon spaceship escaping Earth to start a new life exploring space. The Elders of Albaterra cause the spaceship to crash in a move to get rid of it and Rex finds Tabitha in the wreckage. They then have to work their way through secrets, prejudices, denial, duty and love. Can they work out how to prevent war, death and find a way for two people from separate species to also have love at the end too?

Lots of drama in this story of how two races can get over their prejudices to find a compromise, whilst two people (one from each race) can have a lasting love. There was a lot of passion in this story and it was nice to see the way the love crept up on Rex. Some of the trials became a little tedious but I also understand why they were needed. A lovely story of love against the odds between 2 people from different races.

Duke 4*

Duke is an A’li-uud Elder just like his father was. Everything is going well because there is peace in his kingdom and his warriors are well trained and deadly. However when they travel to Earth he finds he cannot kill one human woman called Emily because he is in love with her, even if that means he has to ignore his loathing for humans as well as betray his own troops.

This is a charming story on how love can strike at the most inopportune moments between two people who should be enemies. The story covered how he tried to not feel anything for her, but in the end had to give in. The ending nicely handed over to Duke who is in the next story and I hope there will be space for the rest of the story between Duke and Emily to be told as so much more can and probably will happen when they arrive on Albaterra. So it would have been nice for this book to contain more on that.

Dane 5*

Dane is new as an A’li-uud Elder even though his elder brother and father were Elders before him and has responsibility for his warriors on Earth as they at at war with the humans. However when he meets Roxanne the new Ambassador to Alien Relations who is sharp witted, has a resolve of iron, is hard headed and obstinate he feels he has met his match in more ways than one. Can they work together, come to some kind of accord between their races and handle the doubts and deceptions that surround what they are trying to achieve? Can he also handle the fact that she is the woman for him and he loves her?

Lots of action in this story whether that was against humans, the A’li-uud, or within the races themselves. The love story between Dane and Roxanne was fairly quick as it was between Duke and Emily but it was nice to see they had a few issues settling into their relationship. Well written and an enjoyable read. Looking forward to reading the next story about Lokos.

Lokos 4*

Celine is a nutritionist and is on the first ship of colonists travelling to to colonise Albaterra. Lokos is the War Chief of Albaterra’s mountain kingdom and a fearsome warrior. Then he meets Celine who enchants him with her defiant mood even though he tries hard to only help her with understanding the planet and it's customs but it is a battle he cannot win. Unfortunately her ship crashes as it arrives after being attacked by another race and they both become entangled in a fight to stay alive and stay together.

I liked this story where he was trying really hard to resist her but in the end the attraction was too much. There was plenty of danger and drama in the story with the Novai part of the story and I enjoyed the ending even though it was a little rushed.

Khrel 5*

Lena is a life coach and has travelled to Albaterra in order to find a new purpose in her life. Khrel is the War Chief of one of the kingdoms and is focused on his job until he meets Lena and finds himself out of his comfort zone needing to know her. The Novai colony nearby is a source of danger after some rogues attack Lena and Khrel has to babysit her. When she tries to escape the isolation to find her friend she ends up being kidnapped by the Novai. When Khrel rescues her is signals a possible end to everything he has worked for – can they both come out of this with everything they want?

I really liked this story which had a great mixture of danger, drama and love as it developed between Khrel and Lena. The story was well written and I really enjoyed the drama and danger involved in the parts involving the Novai. I could feel some of the emotions they were going through and could empathise with them.

Zuran 5*

Phoebe is a human nurse based in Ka-lik’et (which is in the Albaterran kingdom of Dhal’at) and is considered as one of the best. When she loses an important patient events quickly spiral into critically important events.

As a nurse, Phoebe has spent her career helping people. She knows it’s her calling and throws herself into tending to her patients heart and soul. In the city of Ka-lik’et, she is considered one of the best attendants amongst those in the human colony. When she loses the most important patient she’s ever had, though, a fuse is ignited that sends her spiralling into a course of events she never could have imagined. Zuran is a reformed criminal and the Interplanetary Affairs Officer for the Albaterran kingdom of Dhal’at. He meets the curvy, intelligent and incredibly compassionate Phoebe and is awestruck by how amazingly good a person she is. When the Novai who have also colonised Albaterra are struck with a unknown disease they are both thrown together in a desperate battle to save the colonists, ensure it does not spread to the other planet's inhabitants. As part of that journey they discover things about each other (and themselves) that had been hidden for a long time. As part of that journey can they saves their world, themselves, and find out that they actually need each other too?

I absolutely LOVED this story. You don't need to have read the earlier books in the series (however you may well find you have to go back and read them all). The story had lots of drama, danger, romance and mystery in this tale of love and how it can creep up on you when you are not expecting nor necessarily looking for it. Everything was well written and I could feel all the thoughts, frustrations and emotions felt by the characters in this story.

Venan 5*

Octavia is a hairdresser on Albaterra and part of her job is to make people feel good about themselves. Venan is the latest Elder to join the council and is finally at the head of the kingdom he has devoted his life to protecting - that would be great apart from the controversial death of his predecessor, his previous imprisonment for his murder, and subsequent clearing. However he still feels criticism and disgust from the people he now leads. All that changes when he meets Octavia with her dark hair, dark eyes and open mind. So he asks her to dance and is even more captivated. She helps him onto a journey of self discovery as he learns about the priorities in life and how to get confidence again in his worth and his abilities, even though she unwittingly ends up in the middle of a family crisis which could prove deadly.

Wow - LOVED this story. It had so much romance and tenderness, which is a lovely surprise considering the serious and boring nature of Venan in the previous book about Zunan and the start of this book. It was very enjoyable how their relationship slowly built into friendship, respect, a form of partnership before it moved to a state of love and certainty of their feelings for each other. Everything was well written and the thoughts and emotions of the characters were easy to understand and feel. I loved the ending, I'm just very sad that it is the last story.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Khrel by Ashley L. Hunt 5 of 5 stars

Khrel Khrel by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lena is a life coach and has travelled to Albaterra in order to find a new purpose in her life. Khrel is the War Chief of one of the kingdoms and is focused on his job until he meets Lena and finds himself out of his comfort zone needing to know her. The Novai colony nearby is a source of danger after some rogues attack Lena and Khrel has to babysit her. When she tries to escape the isolation to find her friend she ends up being kidnapped by the Novai. When Khrel rescues her is signals a possible end to everything he has worked for – can they both come out of this with everything they want?

I really liked this story which had a great mixture of danger, drama and love as it developed between Khrel and Lena. The story was well written and I really enjoyed the drama and danger involved in the parts involving the Novai. I could feel some of the emotions they were going through and could empathise with them.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 13 December 2017

Review: Claimed by Andrea R. Cooper 5 of 5 stars

Claimed Claimed by Andrea R. Cooper
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Renee Maxwell is working in her dream job as an assistant to an archaeologist in Turkey when she seeing strange things after finding a crystal in the ground. He boss Damon Cubins might be hot but she isn't going to fall for his charms and become another notch in his bedpost. Damon is an incubus and has no time for love but is desperately trying to find a special crystal to stop himself becoming a demon - however Renee has it - can he romance it from her or give in and just walk away?

I really enjoyed this paranormal story which started nice and slow but soon developed into an action packed ending. Renee was an independent woman and determined to not cave in to the attraction to Damon (although I admit to wanting to shake her sometimes!), and Damon was a rare beast as he was trying his utmost to do the right thing (a rare thing for a half-demon). I liked the danger elements added to the story which gave it a nice build up towards the end of the story. Well written and enjoyable.

Buy from Amazon

Review: When Gargoyles Reign by Ashley C. Harris 4 of 5 stars

When Gargoyles Reign When Gargoyles Reign by Ashley C. Harris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is the prequel to the Shades and Shadows series and fills in a lot of the background as to how gargoyles ended up reigning, how vampires appeared on the scene and the adventures of Merlin and his involvement in all of those happenings.

This was really interesting and made the Shades and Shadows series feel much more rounded - so a must if you enjoy the series. I was fascinated to understand how some of the events that shaped the world before the series began affected the various characters and how it affected their emotions and motivations for certain actions. It was well written and although I found it a little hard to get into was very enjoyable and ended up with lights going off in my head as I realised how certain things happened in the series.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 10 December 2017

Review: Grey by Bella Roccaforte by A.K. Michaels 5 of 5 stars

Grey Grey by Bella Roccaforte by A.K. Michaels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Grey is a very old vampire and has been controlling his darker side and living off bagged blood - he could be held up as an example of how to live a quiet life by The Directive. Then he gets a call and has to help another vampire in The Directive by handling a problem for him in Atlanta. When he gets there a Thirst for blood hits him like lightening and he loses almost all control as he needs to find his blood-mate before he goes insane. Can he find her in time to save them both and how far is he going to go against The Directive to find her?

Wow - great second book in this new series where a vampire is struck by a thirst and his to find his blood-mate before it is too late. There was a great deal of drama and danger in this story which involved more members of the supernatural world. I loved the way the story developed and the trials and tribulations they both had to get through before they found each other and were able to have a happily ever after. Everything was well written and the people, situations and events were well described so that I felt as if I was there experiencing it with them. Looking forward to reading the next instalment in this series.

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 7 December 2017

Review: Lokos by Ashley L. Hunt 4 of 5 stars

Lokos Lokos by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Celine is a nutritionist and is on the first ship of colonists travelling to to colonise Albaterra. Lokos is the War Chief of Albaterra’s mountain kingdom and a fearsome warrior. Then he meets Celine who enchants him with her defiant mood even though he tries hard to only help her with understanding the planet and it's customs but it is a battle he cannot win. Unfortunately her ship crashes as it arrives after being attacked by another race and they both become entangled in a fight to stay alive and stay together.

I liked this story where he was trying really hard to resist her but in the end the attraction was too much. There was plenty of danger and drama in the story with the Novai part of the story and I enjoyed the ending even though it was a little rushed.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Dragon's Tears by Eva Chase 5 of 5 stars

Dragon's Tears: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Romance Dragon's Tears: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Romance by Eva Chase
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ren discovered in the previous book that she is the last dragon shifter alive and has to have 4 alpha shifters as her mates - such a hard task. However she is starting to get her abilities and emotions under control. However following a trail from her mother, both Ren and her mates have to face trials and dangers along the way. As part of that secrets are unearthed that threaten the peace that exists between shifters and fae - does Ren have the strength to handle everything that is thrown a her?

Wow - so much drama and danger all mixed in with a real need for restraint and diplomacy. I loved the interplay between Ren and her mates as well as Ren and the people in the wider shifter community. I won't spoil anything but two of them need a damn good shake! Well written and lots of drama, danger and excitement. Looking forward to what happens next.

** Please note this story contains scenes involving one woman, four men, and some sex.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Appalachian Prey by Debbie Herbert 5 of 5 stars

Appalachian Prey Appalachian Prey by Debbie Herbert
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lilah Tedder is pregnant and has to return to Lavender Mountain after her father is murdered, but in doing that she has to face Harlan Sampson who dumped her last time she was there and unbeknown to him is her baby's father. Yes she still wants him but he is more interested in his ambition and being associated with her will damage that. However when the killer now targets Lilah he becomes her protector. Can they uncover the family secrets before they end up paying the price?

This was a lovely story that had an amazing setting on Lavender Mountain in the Appalachians. I liked the joining of a love that is impossible to avoid and a murder mystery wrapped up in family history. It had plenty of drama and excitement and the story went through lots of twists and turns. I heartwarming story that will make you smile at the end.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 6 December 2017

Review: Ghosts and Grudges: a Reverse Harem Urban Fantasy by Jasmine Walt by J.A. Cipriano 5 of 5 stars

Ghosts and Grudges: a Reverse Harem Urban Fantasy Ghosts and Grudges: a Reverse Harem Urban Fantasy by Jasmine Walt by 
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Aika has a hidden ability awaken in her and that's when the trouble starts. How is she supposed to handle caring for her sick mother, studying for her medical degree and running their restaurant before this new ability to summon monsters? However when her mother is taken she can't ignore it anymore and ends up working with 2 shamans who are willing to train her as they help. Can she work out what is going on with her two helpers and her attraction to them whilst rescuing her mum?

WOW - if I could give this more than 5 stars I would. There was so much drama, mystery and action woven into this mystical story around an ancient Japanese folklore that I was hooked from start to finish. I couldn't put it down and ended up reading it until 3 am. I have loved books written individually by both these authors and thought it was worth a try and was blown away - these guys need to write together more.

Please note this is heading towards a MFM scenario so if you are not comfortable with that you may want to give this a skip, although you will miss out on a great book.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 5 December 2017

Review: Twice as Delicious by Bella Love-Wins by Vanessa Vale 4 of 5 stars

Twice as Delicious Twice as Delicious by Bella Love-Wins by Vanessa Vale
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Harper Larson has had to work hard for everything in her life, and there is no deviation from that even now as she is building up a catering business. However she sees something she shouldn't have when catering for the Irish Mafia. Fortunately for her there are two guys (Dane and Leo) who are gorgeous and will do anything it takes to protect her.

You'll need to fan yourself as you read about these two hunks who want to protect Harper and see to all her needs. I loved the way the story developed around the Irish Mafia, Harper's business and the relationship between Harper, Dane and Leo. Everything was clear and easy to understand plus it was a good read so don't be surprised if you read it in one sitting.

Warning: This book contains MFM sex.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Not on Her Watch by Nicole Zoltack 4 of 5 stars

Not on Her Watch Not on Her Watch by Nicole Zoltack
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Nathaniel Strongarm is a marine and is engaged to green beret Shauna West when they have to put their lives on hold while he goes to a remote island to tackle the Hidden Serpents who are a terrorist group. The operation is a bit of a disaster and Nathaniel is captured. When an operation to rescue the prisoners is mounted Shauna is part of the team due to her speciality. When they get there it appears there is someone killing civilians and even worse it is Nathaniel who has been brainwashed. Can Shauna rescue him and any other captured marines?

This is full of drama with many twists and turns as the action intensifies. It covered all the thoughts and emotions being experienced by both Nathaniel and Shauna and I felt as if I was there experiencing them. I loved the brainwashing side of things and how that was done and it definitely added to the mystery.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 4 December 2017

Review: Raising the Dead by D.B. Sieders 5 of 5 stars

Raising the Dead Raising the Dead by D. B. Sieders
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Vivian is a living soul broker and now has to juggle her finance job with collecting grief from the living when the departed souls cross to the other side with the help of a guardian. However she is living a dangerous existence as she is also helping a grim reaper called Lazarus Darkmore who has become an ally against the guardian management who are rather focused on a set of very limited aims. When a rogue guardian threatens her can she trust Darkmore to keep her safe?

Wow - so much happening in this the second book in the series. There was a focus on Vivian's abilities and how it affected both her and her friends as well as how that affected her emotions and relationships. I loved the relationship between Vivian and Darkmore and how that developed through the various events. Everything was well written and easy to feel and understand. It does end of a kind of a cliffhanger and that was just wow - can't wait to see what happens now.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 3 December 2017

Review: Jace's Jewel by Dale Mayer 4 of 5 stars

Jace's Jewel: A SEALs of Honor World Novel Jace's Jewel: A SEALs of Honor World Novel by Dale Mayer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Jace is sent to investigate the deaths of team members from a volunteer search and rescue team where he meets Emily who works for the insurance company facing a payout for all these deaths. Even worse for Emily is the fact that 3 of the men who have died have had a relationship with her which she worries will affect her judgement when looking at these cases. As they investigate the deaths it becomes apparent there are more and they are murder not an accident. Can they race to stop another murder and can they resist each other in the process.

Another exciting visit to Legendary Securities in this story where we see how Jace and Emily meet and start a relationship (which I hope is a permanent thing). There was a lot of mystery in this story and plenty of twists and turns where you thought you knew who it was and then it changed to someone else. Everything was well written and easy to understand. It was so nice to experience Jace being happy and coming out of his shell.

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 2 December 2017

Review: Shade by A.K. Michaels 5 of 5 stars

Shade Shade by A.K. Michaels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Shade Shawcross is the Alpha of the Silver Lake pack and seems to have a insatiable hunger that is beginning to consume him. His Betas (and best friends) suspect they know what might be happening and persuade him to look through the pack archives to confirm what it is and find out the cure. Shade eventually agrees and they start to go through the recently digitised archives. They are all shocked at what they find and when Shade finally lets his wolf take control to try and find his soulmate. This is not going to be easy as she is on the run from her pack and Shade has three bothers after him after their scheming sister told them a story that was incorrect. Will he find his mate or will either of them die from the others chasing them?

Wow - lots of action and excitement in this Wolf's Hunger story. After a slightly slow start the action just kept coming and the danger kept piling up on them both. Well written as always and all the thoughts, dreams, emotions and frustrations were all easy to feel and experience as you read this story.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 1 December 2017

Review: Undeniably Hellbound by Cassandra Lawson 5 of 5 stars

Undeniably Hellbound Undeniably Hellbound by Cassandra Lawson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lucifer is lonely and wants to find a good woman - he's not had a date in years and is tired of easy sex with sex demons. When he meets Beatrice she has no idea who he is and he wonders if she could be the one to reform him? Can he get her to fall for him? So when he is trying to stop a rebellion in Hell and keeping Beatrice safe from her brother when he escapes prison he has a problem - how can he stop her from leaving him when she works out who he really is?

Wow - who knew that Lucifer was all touchy-feely and had real bona-fide feelings? I loved this story and loved all the drama and action which built as the story developed. I was thrilled in the way the story ended and how they got there. Everything was well written and was clear and easy to feel and understand.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 29 November 2017

Review: The Vampire's Daughter by Leigh Anderson 4 of 5 stars

The Vampire's Daughter The Vampire's Daughter by Leigh Anderson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Ethan discovers that Victoria (his childhood best friend and the love of his life) is the daughter of a Vampire and is to marry a someone else to save her family so distraught he travels to a monastery to live in peace and contemplation with his broken heart. However instead he is asked to lead Dom Calmet the famous vampire hunter to his village to get rid of the vampires that plague it. Can Ethan work out whether to choose love or faith when he is back near Victoria again?

This story is a really heady mix of a whole host of cliches with a medieval village, a girl who has no idea what she really is, a journey, a lot of tortured thinking and enough drama to keep you going for ages. I'm tempted to suggest you with either love it or it will be too heavy and complicated and will not enjoy it. I would suggest you give it a try and persevere as if you can get a certain amount through the story you will enjoy it. The writing was good and I could understand everything, but the thoughts and emotions were a little over tortured in places.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 28 November 2017

Review: Victor by A.K. Michaels 5 of 5 stars

Victor Victor by A.K. Michaels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Victor Strong is an ancient Vampire, a successful businessman, and fully in control of his life and himself. All of a sudden he gets a strange thirst for blood and a drive that threatens to push him into insanity. Then he suddenly catches the sweetest of aromas that he just has to follow until he finds the owner. He is then told this person must be something very rare – a blood-mate and he enters a race against time to find her before the darkness becomes too much and he loses control completely (and therefore his life too). Can he battle through everything in his path to stop this thirst?

Wow – I've read the similar set of books around the shifter thirst but it was great to read it from another point of view of it also affecting a vampire. There was a lot of drama and danger in the story as well as i being a lovely story of love and how two strong people can get past their self reliance to come together as a unit. It was well written and everything was well described so that you felt you were there experiencing the same things as the characters. I felt fully engaged and it was such a relief when everything came good in the end. I loved the presents (you will know what I mean when you read it) and felt that they were well matched as a couple ignoring the blood-mate situation. Definitely recommended as an enjoyable read.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 27 November 2017

Review: How to Talk to Ghosts by Erin Hayes 5 of 5 stars

How to Talk to Ghosts How to Talk to Ghosts by Erin Hayes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lita has always been able to see and talk to ghosts to the point she is more comfortable with them than her father who only cares about power and building a business empire. So when her Uncle Neptune dies her Dad's sole focus is to take over his aquarium no matter who he actually left it to. SO Lita has a choice - help her father to get it and take over the world, or help her Uncle's friends who all have their own secrets to get it as per his wishes, and in the process save the world! Can Lita take the pressure and make the right decision?

Wow we had evil, varieties of paranormal and lots of ghosts! And at the centre one sightly overwhelmed woman who literally has the weight of the world on her shoulders. I loved the dynamic between Lita and Ryan - I sure hope that is taken further in later books. It was well written as I would expect from Erin and addictive from start to finish. I can't wait for the next book to be written and released now.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 26 November 2017

Review: Possess Me Under The Mistletoe by T.F. Walsh 5 of 5 stars

Possess Me Under The Mistletoe Possess Me Under The Mistletoe by T.F. Walsh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Cyra Mane is going to a haunted house for her first mission and she is determined to make a good impression with the demon hunting company that had hired her. However demon hunter Gunn turns up and suddenly the simple task becomes dangerous (even more so if you factor in that she has desired him for months). Gunn on the other hand has been fantasising about Cyra for months but he won't taint her with his bad luck and her brother would definitely not be happy if he touched her!! However Cyra's spell goes terribly wrong and everyone (including the elderly owners of the house) become imprisoned there plus they find a Hell portal in the loft too. Can they all survive this situation and can Cyra and Gunn resist each other?

Please note this is related to the Hell Unleashed series although you don't have to have read that before to enjoy this story.

I LOVED this story. It had lots of danger, magic and passion all mixed up into a melting pot to produce what is a great story that had me hooked from the start to the finish. Everything was well written and I defy anyone to read this story and not want to start reading the Hell Unleashed series. Lovely Christmas story which wasn't cheesy so definitely recommended for a bit of the Christmas spirit.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Blow: Three Little Pigs Retold by Demelza Carlton 4 of 5 stars

Blow: Three Little Pigs Retold Blow: Three Little Pigs Retold by Demelza Carlton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Portia is the eldest of triplets and Prince Rudolf has promised her and her sisters that he will protect them but he has to go back to his home country for a variety of reasons so has to leave them behind. After many changes she has to conquer her home which means he might lose her forever. When the wolf is at the door, who will win - love or war?

It was nice to read after the Appease story more about Rudolf and more about what happened to him. The story was well told and I enjoyed it right up until near the end when it didn't feel like the ending fit into the story completely. But i was an enchanting story in general and still very enjoyable. It had plenty of action and romance to enjoy.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 24 November 2017

Review: Wicked Destiny by L.C. Hibbett 5 of 5 stars

Wicked Destiny Wicked Destiny by L.C. Hibbett
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Destiny is the first black witch born into any family of the Celtic gods for 1000's of years and life was sweet as she held great parties and had a talent for being poisonous in words as well as her magic. Then she has two stripes on a pregnancy test and everything has to change. She just wants a normal life with her aunt and daughter. Then kids start going missing and she feels sorry but it's not her problem. All she needs to do is get to her 21st birthday and then she can join the free witches and escape The Family

This was a great story that had me so hooked I stayed up until 3 am reading it. Please don't be afraid or be put of by it being described as a "reverse harem" book - it was very sensitively done and there was no kissing let alone any sex. I loved the way the book ended and look forward to the next one to see how it develops going forward. Everything was well written and easy to understand.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 22 November 2017

Review: Dane by Ashley L. Hunt 5 of 5 stars

Dane Dane by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Dane is new as an A’li-uud Elder even though his elder brother and father were Elders before him and has responsibility for his warriors on Earth as they at at war with the humans. However when he meets Roxanne the new Ambassador to Alien Relations who is sharp witted, has a resolve of iron, is hard headed and obstinate he feels he has met his match in more ways than one. Can they work together, come to some kind of accord between their races and handle the doubts and deceptions that surround what they are trying to achieve? Can he also handle the fact that she is the woman for him and he loves her?

Lots of action in this story whether that was against humans, the A’li-uud, or within the races themselves. The love story between Dane and Roxanne was fairly quick as it was between Duke and Emily but it was nice to see they had a few issues settling into their relationship. Well written and an enjoyable read. Looking forward to reading the next story about Lokos.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 21 November 2017

Review: Duke by Ashley L. Hunt 4 of 5 stars

Duke Duke by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Duke is an A’li-uud Elder just like his father was. Everything is going well because there is peace in his kingdom and his warriors are well trained and deadly. However when they travel to Earth he finds he cannot kill one human woman called Emily because he is in love with her, even if that means he has to ignore his loathing for humans as well as betray his own troops.

This is a charming story on how love can strike at the most inopportune moments between two people who should be enemies. The story covered how he tried to not feel anything for her, but in the end had to give in. The ending nicely handed over to Duke who is in the next story and I hope there will be space for the rest of the story between Duke and Emily to be told as so much more can and probably will happen when they arrive on Albaterra. So it would have been nice for this book to contain more on that.

Buy from Amazon

Review: When Gargoyles Choose by Ashley C. Harris5 of 5 stars

When Gargoyles Choose When Gargoyles Choose by Ashley C. Harris
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Rose is a Gargoyle and was born in 1544, everything changed when the vampires came and brought a curse against her whole race. Now she is trying to hide in plain sight while trying to find a way to lift the curse.

I loved this and the drama and action in this story adds to the build-up of the overall series. I loved the way the interactions between her and the various vampires were written and the way it left some to our imagination to fill in the story. It definitely ended on a cliff-hanger and I now desperately need to read the next story in the series. Well written and all the thoughts and emotions were easy to feel and empathise with.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 20 November 2017

Review: Grinding Frost by Erin Bedford by J.A. Cipriano 5 of 5 stars

Grinding Frost: A Reverse Harem Dragon Fantasy Grinding Frost: A Reverse Harem Dragon Fantasy by Erin Bedford
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Maya Rose told everyone she was pregnant to ensure her suitors stayed alive, but this lie could be their undoing. Add to that the way she can add power to the ones she has mated with and the world is becoming a much more dangerous place for them. They travel to Raiden's home to seek refuge with the lightening dragons but his mother knows the truth and her price is very high for her silence - something that horrifies Maya. Can she play the old woman at her own game and what will her mates make of this situation?

Lots of drama and danger in this second part of the series. Through it all everything stays good between Maya and her three mates and they cope well with everything that is thrown at them. It was nice to see their relationships develop a bit more and for the four of them to be even more of a cohesive unit. Everything was very clear and easy to understand. I could feel all the thoughts and emotions between the characters and shared their outrage at Raiden's mother and what she was trying to do.

Please note that this is a reverse harem story and does contain scenes involving sex.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 19 November 2017

Review: Sorrow's Lie by Danielle DeVor 5 of 5 stars

Sorrow's Lie Sorrow's Lie by Danielle DeVor
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Jimmy Holiday is an exorcist and given a case by The Order to check out an alleged demon baby before the true experts arrive on a flight. However he finds that the order is not what he thought it was and that they are asking him to do unspeakable things. With the help of a voudou practitioner in the same lane and the safety of his family on the line, can he fight for the life of the child and what will be the repercussions in his life?

I really enjoyed this story. It was like a horror story but quite tame with the scary bits. The story was very well written and everything was clear and easy to understand. There was a lot of action and twists and turns (especially the one at the end which was a complete surprise!). Can be read stand alone even though it is the 4th book in the series.

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 18 November 2017

Review: Bridge: Bridge & Sword: Apocalypse by JC Andrijeski 5 of 5 stars

Bridge: Bridge & Sword: Apocalypse Bridge: Bridge & Sword: Apocalypse by JC Andrijeski
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Revik has lost everything – his unborn daughter, he got his wife back but they took her mind. So he decides it is time for a final confrontation – he prepares in San Francisco and then everyone moves to New York for the final battle. Can he rescue his child from the Dreng or will he have to kill her to save her from becoming their slave?

OMG – there was so much drama and danger in this book after the events in the previous one it felt like a roller-coaster at times. I felt so desperately SAD for Revik as events unfolded that I just wanted to give him a hug while at the same time I either felt like crying or wanting to kick some butt. There were a lot of descriptions of thoughts and emotions in this book and they were so clear and easy to understand I felt as if I was there living it with them. I can't wait for the next instalment now.

Please note this book needs you to have read the previous books in the series first.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 13 November 2017

Review: Fallen Empire: An Epic Dragon Fantasy Adventure by K.N. Lee 4 of 5 stars

Fallen Empire: An Epic Dragon Fantasy Adventure Fallen Empire: An Epic Dragon Fantasy Adventure by K.N. Lee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Kylan is in the last Dragon clan and hunts firedrakes by day as he prepares for a voyage to find the key to his people's survival. Amalia is a Mage who has escaped The Brotherhood who have been hunting down magic users and killing them. Can she survive in a land containing shifters, firedrakes and The Brotherhood's monks who are convinced that her death will save the world?

Good start to this series which has introduce the basic characters in the story to us. It was well told and everything was easy to understand and feel. Looking forward to the next instalment in the epic story.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 10 November 2017

Review: Shamelessly Spellboundby Cassandra Lawson 5 of 5 stars

Shamelessly Spellbound Shamelessly Spellbound by Cassandra Lawson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Trevor Dupree is a warlock and a bit of a player. He moved from witch to witch, being infatuated and convinced she will be the one for him - that is until he met Melina Blackwood - a witch who turned him down and then refused to go anywhere near him. For Melina, ever since she met Trevor she can'r get him out of her head and now she is being begged for another chance (can she resist him again?) However there is a woman who will do anything to get Trevor even if that means she has to kill. Can they both come out of this and find happiness together?

I LOVED this story which is a continuation from the events in the book Sinfully Spellbound (although you could read this stand alone). I loved the way the relationship developed between Melina and Trevor and how the danger from the other woman built. Please be aware there is sexual content in this story. I was thrilled with the ending and am now looking forward to the next story in the series. Well written and everything was clear and easy to understand.

Buy from Amazon

Review: The Rapture of Cain by Thea Atkinson 3 of 5 stars

The Rapture of Cain The Rapture of Cain by Thea Atkinson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Cain is immortal and finds himself in a Gothic-style church in a seedy part of New Earth. Even worse Sasha (a hermaphrodite) has been feeding him a drug called godspit and has got him addicted to it. Then the red general makes an entrance and he faces her wrath.

To be honest I had no idea what this was about and who all these people were. It might be good if you have read the books in the Theta Waves series but to read this cold it made very little sense. The writing was good I was just confused with the story.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 5 November 2017

Review: Appease: Princess and the Pea Retold by Demelza Carlton 5 of 5 stars

Appease: Princess and the Pea Retold Appease: Princess and the Pea Retold by Demelza Carlton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Princess Sativa was betrothed to Prince Reidar as a child so when her father promises her as a prize to any hero who can slay the dragon she decides to take matters into her own hand and set off to find him herself. Can she get over the sea and through all the barriers in her path to find him on her own?

I loved this story based on the Princess and the Pea fairytale. The story was quite charming and well told as the author described the characters, their thoughts, emotions and actions. I enjoyed the bravery of Sativa and the way she came through all of the adventures she encountered as part of her journey to find Reidar. As for his mother all I can say is what a total b*tch who deserved a lot more than she received after some of her stunts. Definitely recommended. You don't have to read the previous books in this series but there is a nice connection between the previous one to this one (Embellish: Brave Little Tailor Retold).

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 4 November 2017

Review: Taken by Magic by Jasmine Walt 5 of 5 stars

Taken by Magic Taken by Magic by Jasmine Walt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The wedding between Sunaya and Iannis is fast approaching but they are both incredibly busy sorting out a conference and the wedding itself when Iannis's family contact him complaining that they had not been consulted. Then a family member takes action and an adventure in Manuc enfolds. Can they get through this situation and get the dream wedding they both deserve.

What a great story to finish series. I loved the different trials and their stories which were all quite different. I loved the wedding and it was wonderful to have so much happiness for the central characters so I can imagine them having a fulfilling and very happy life going forward. Sad for the series to end but it had a fitting ending that you need to read if you have read any of the earlier books so you have closure. Well written and cleverly crafted into a worthy ending. Looking forward to whatever the author writes next.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Dragon's Guard by Eva Chase 5 of 5 stars

Dragon's Guard: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Romance Dragon's Guard: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Romance by Eva Chase
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ren Landis goes out on her 21st birthday and ends up being kidnapped. Then it all goes a bit weird when she discovers that shifters actually exist and that she is one too - and that she is the last dragon shifter too. She meets the hot alphas of the 4 shifter groups and she is supposed to mate with them and unite the shifter communities. However she has never shifted, has no idea how to reactivate her powers and there are rogues out for her blood so they can finish what they started years ago.

WOW. Lots of drama, danger, hot guys, passion and action. I loved the concept of the story with her mating with the 4 of them (lucky girl!) and her struggle to understand this new world and finding her powers. Well written and the sex scenes were tastefully written and appropriate to the story. I can't wait to read the next instalment in the story.

** Please note this story contains scenes involving one woman, four men, and some sex.

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 2 November 2017

Review: Tatum: A Wolf's Hunger by S. Raven Storm 5 of 5 stars

Tatum: A Wolf's Hunger Alpha Shifter Romance Tatum: A Wolf's Hunger Alpha Shifter Romance by S. Raven Storm
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Tatum is an Alpha with a large region who ruled in a firm but fair manner. He thinks that love is nonsense and doesn't have time for any of that and thinks that the wolf's hunger is an old wives tale. When he gets physical and emotional pain he does everything he can to ignore it. Bristol is the daughter of an Alpha who was recently murdered by Rex (who has also just killed her mother) one of the pack members who is determined to take over as Alpha and claim her as his mate. She is on the run when she meets Tatum who she recognises has her soulmate and Tatum suddenly finds that maybe the wolf's hunger is real after all - he can't get enough of her and is suddenly determined to make her his. Can he keep her safe from Rex or will he get her and kill Tatum into the bargain?

This is a great addition to the Wolf's Hunger collection The story had lots of danger and drama with the story between Tatum and Bristol. It was well written and I could feel and empathise will all the thoughts and emotions the characters in the story. I liked the descriptions of the settings and activities in the stories and it added to the feeling that I was watching the story in pictures or video. I've not read anything by this author but I enjoyed this and will look for other stories by her.

Buy from Amazon

Review: War of the Dragons by K.N. Lee 4 of 5 stars

War of the Dragons: Book Four of the Dragon-Born Saga War of the Dragons: Book Four of the Dragon-Born Saga by K.N. Lee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Rowen keeps dreaming of end of the world and she knows she needs to find a way to stop that from happening. This is even more imperative now she is the the queen of Withrae so is responsible for the family who are living in the palace. Can the scribe who worked for her father help her to stop the war between humans and dragons and stop it from happening?

This was a well written story that had a lots happening but it was a little slow in places. Hopefully it has done a lot of the work to set up the next book which will hopefully have a lot more drama and excitement. Well written and everything was clear and easy to understand. I'm looking forward to the next instalment now.

Please note this is the 4th book in the series and you need to have read the others first.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 1 November 2017

Review: Luke Complete Box Set by Ashley L. Hunt 3 of 5 stars

Luke Complete Box Set Luke Complete Box Set by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Luke is an alien who has been cursed to switch location between Earth and his planet when he feels extreme emotion. Candice is a human who meets him and they start a relationship suffering the switches between places and the effect on their relationship.

This is a strange story and it's a little hard to get your head around where the characters are and the effect on their lives of this curse. At first I felt sorry for them but after a while I just became annoyed with Candice. Well written and a nice concept but I found it a bit strange.

Please note this is only available on Instafreebie when you sign up for the author's mailing list.

Obtain via Instafreebie

Tuesday, 31 October 2017

Review: When Gargoyles Rise by Ashley C. Harris 4 of 5 stars

When Gargoyles Rise When Gargoyles Rise by Ashley C. Harris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Rose is a Gargoyle and was born in 1544 and life was good until the Vampires arrived and a curse came with them. After a 500 year gap she awakes from her stone form in Washington DC and there are no more gargoyles as they are all in stone and distributed all over. The world is now ruled by the vampires. However there is some hope as Rose learns she has to convince the human Sean Noble to fall in love with her if they can survive high school together. She also discovers that Adamus the vampire prince who betrayed her in 1556 is around and so she needs to keep her identity secret from him. Can Rose do all those things at the same time without getting into hot water?

This is a story with lots of intrigue, twists and turns. You can't help but feel sorry for Rose and the situation she awakens in as well as be frustrated with Sean and some of his attitudes. The plot of the story was good and I really enjoyed it, but the ending of this book is very abrupt (so be prepared for it) so I really need to read the next one in the series to find out what happens next.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 29 October 2017

Review: Losing Time by Nicola Claire 4 of 5 stars

Losing Time Losing Time by Nicola Claire
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Mimi Wylde (is a scientist with the nickname of Mouse) and her twin sister Carrie are on a holiday of a lifetime to get them out of their funk after their parents disappeared. However something bizarre happens when looking at a NASA installation and she suddenly has to find the kind of strength she never knew she had. Dr Jack Evans works as a Surgeon at the Royal Academy of Time Surgeons (RATS) where everything has a reason and consequence - even dreams. When sorting out an anomaly in the time waves he inadvertently picks up a woman from the past called Mimi Wylde and he knows that time must have been tampered with. Even worse he has been dreaming of her before he picked her up and she is everything he ever wanted. They both have to work together chasing down history and trying to fix the anomaly.

This is definitely a science fiction book so you will have to get your head around time travel and all the positives and negatives that it involves. Merged into this sci-fi story is a mystery, some danger and romance between Jack and Mimi. I found the doubt and the fighting of their attraction irritating at times and definitely had moments when I wanted to shake them. I really enjoyed the twist at the end of the story which set it up nicely for what will happen next in the story. Well written as always from Nicola

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 26 October 2017

Review: The Complete Circuit Trilogy by Rhett C. Bruno 5 of 5 stars

The Complete Circuit Trilogy The Complete Circuit Trilogy by Rhett C. Bruno
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Circuit is a string of colonies across the solar system where humans live mining resources. They are overseen by something called the New Earth Tribunal who are a religious sect who believe in something called the Spirit which they believe will one day welcome home to Earth humanity. However some random attacks are believed to come from the Ceresian sect in an attempt to challenge the Tribunal. Can a band of unlikely heroes challenge and save them all? Can the Tribunal's best spy, a Ceresian mercenary, an android and disgraced general save them from a conspiracy to bring down the Tribunal and change the Circuit forever? The trilogy contains:
Executor Rising
Progeny of Vale
Earthfall

Buckle up for this dramatic saga where you might think you know who the good and bad guys are, but then a change happens and you will start to doubt yourself and your judgement of character as everything changes as you read. There are twists and turns aplenty. It's told in such a clever way that it feels like you are reading a film script (and I think it should be turned into one). I loved the way the characters were developed and the “journey” they went through in their own self knowledge and personality as well as any journey they went through as part of the story. I've tried to think about who I find as my favourite character and I can't – I might have one in book 1, but by book 2 it has changed to someone else, so I guess I love them all although I have to admit to a soft spot for android ADIM who could help me so much with the practicalities in my own life. The finale of this trilogy was an explosive ending that had me so hooked that I stayed reading it even though I really should have been asleep. This as a story that has parallels with real life – there are politics, religion, technology, progress, artificial intelligence to name just a few.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Tyson's Treasure by Dale Mayer 5 of 5 stars

Tyson's Treasure: A SEALs of Honor World Novel Tyson's Treasure: A SEALs of Honor World Novel by Dale Mayer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Tyson tragically lost his wife and child a couple of years ago and he has now recognised it's time to reenter the world and move on. Then Kai, his wife's best friend, comes back into his new life and is in trouble - she has a stalker (even though she seems to not be taking it seriously in his opinion). Tyson decides in memory of his late wife he will protect her, but then realises he wants to be with her anyway. Kai on the other hand has always wanted him, but stayed away as he married her best friend. So when she sees her again at a product demo she understands that her feelings for him have not changed. Can they sort this out, can they face the other problems that they find out, and will they give a relationship between themselves a chance.

A great story about a man's struggle to move on with his life, a woman's struggle against a stalker mixed with male prejudice in the business world, and how friends will always have your back and happiness can come even after you think all is lost. I liked the drama in the story, the twists, turns and surprises. It was well written and addictive - I definitely found myself reading faster and faster as I got further through the story. At the very end it nicely set up the next story in the series so I'm looking forward to reading that one now.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 25 October 2017

Review: Airwoman by Zara Quentin 4 of 5 stars

Airwoman Airwoman by Zara Quentin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Jade Gariq dreams of becoming a member of the Traveller Force visiting far flung worlds and defending the people and interests of the Dragonverse. However her life is turned upside down when her faster suddenly dies and she inherits his cross-portal trading company. It is complicated further when there are rumours of foul play and all the clues point to a far flung world only reached via the portal. Can she find the man who is alleged to kill her father or will he find her first?

This was a charming story with a solid foundation in a whole new world. Jade is a teenager about to become an adult and the story is written to show her confusion and difficulty in working out who to trust and what she should believe. Whilst the aim was a good one which fit well with the story I felt the execution of this concept was a little flawed as it because very annoying and in the end distracted me from the story and what was happening. I do however still think it is a good start to the series and I would love to find out what happens next. I really hope she gets more romantically involved with

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 24 October 2017

Review: Marked By Fate by Kristin D. Van Risseghem by Erin Hayes by Angela Friscoe 5 of 5 stars

Marked By FateMarked By Fate by Kristin D. Van Risseghem by Erin Hayes by Angela Friscoe
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review based on:

Fate’s Legacy by Angela Fristoe
This is a story of Willow an alien living on earth who has no idea what she is, what she is able to do, and about the actual danger she is in as her parents never told her. Plus Liam her protector who was originally supposed to kill her, who does know all about the races.

This is an enchanting story that I found quite addictive and that I was reading it faster and faster as the story progressed. There were times when I have to admit to feeling frustration at the attitudes of both characters (and even the need to give them a damn good slap while telling them to get their act together), but even accounting for that it was a great story that has the promise for a great series in any following books. Well written and very enjoyable.

How to talk to ghosts by Erin Hayes

Lita has always been able to see and talk to ghosts to the point she is more comfortable with them than her father who only cares about power and building a business empire. So when her Uncle Neptune dies her Dad's sole focus is to take over his aquarium no matter who he actually left it to. So Lita has a choice - help her father to get it and take over the world, or help her Uncle's friends who all have their own secrets to get it as per his wishes, and in the process save the world! Can Lita take the pressure and make the right decision?

Wow we had evil, varieties of paranormal and lots of ghosts! And at the centre one sightly overwhelmed woman who literally has the weight of the world on her shoulders. I loved the dynamic between Lita and Ryan. It was well written as I would expect from Erin and addictive from start to finish.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 23 October 2017

Review: A Ritual of Fire by J.L. Hendricks by J. A. Cipriano 5 of 5 stars

A Ritual of Fire A Ritual of Fire by J. A. Cipriano by J.L. Hendricks
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Alyson is a dragon shifter (the last one and hiding it from others) and Vlad a 200 year old Vampire - they work together as partners for the FBI in a secret department that looks into crime involving paranormal people and artefacts. They are starting to investigate some strange murders of shifters, witches and similar and see a disturbing pattern that suggests that something very dangerous and dark is going on. Can they find out what is going on, what they are trying to achieve and who is doing all of these murders?

Great story. I loved the relationship between Alyson and Vlad and the suggestion of possible romance between them in the future. The story was well told and very clear and easy to understand. As this is the first story in the series I'm definitely addicted and just NEED to know what happens next. A great writing partnership that has definitely delivered something special - they need to keep this going!!

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 22 October 2017

Review: Riding Lightning by Erin Bedford by J.A. Cipriano 5 of 5 stars

Riding Lightning: A Reverse Harem Dragon Fantasy Riding Lightning: A Reverse Harem Dragon Fantasy by Erin Bedford by J.A. Cipriano 
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Maya Rose has a major problem - as a dragon shifter she has to find a mate and produce and heir soon to avoid a disaster for her kingdom. Her father gathers several heroes from neighbouring kingdoms and sends both her and them on a joint quest which is supposed to end with a good result for the quest AND for her to pick one, marry them and produce this heir - the rest will only have death to look forward to. However how is she to choose when they are all hot, sexy and wonderful guys? Is there any rule that says she HAS to choose just the ONE?

I LOVED this book. The authors were careful to make sure there was enough interest that the indecision didn't become too irritating (which was a really fine line to tread) so it was done well. The guys were suitably unique so it was easy to work out the difference between them and they had different personalities which seemed to complement each other well. It got me hooked and so I'm definitely wanting to read the next instalment in the story. Well written and a very enjoyable read.

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 21 October 2017

Review: War: Bridge & Sword: Apocalypse by JC Andrijeski 5 of 5 stars

War: Bridge & Sword: Apocalypse War: Bridge & Sword: Apocalypse by JC Andrijeski
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Allie returns to New York as everything moves towards the apocalypse. The disease from Shadow is everywhere, there are earthquakes, storms, and chaos ensues (with pockets in military lockdown protecting the wealthy). Revik is acting strange and Dirini of the Lao Hu tells Allie that Shadow is coming for her but he brings War the fourth intermediary (and final member) who is going to help him end the human race )and the Bridge with it),

WOW! There were more strands of story and twists/turns than at times I felt I could cope with BUT even saying, that I kept reading as fast as I could as I NEEDED to know what was going to happen next. There are moments between Allie and Revik and even Wreg and Jonathan that were significant and added to their relationships. Cass had a major role in the story this time which made me quite sad and sorry for her (although mad as hell at her too). The ending of the story is very dramatic and so very sad too. You might want to have so chocolate or wine for this time. I found Praying for Time by George Michael quite apt too as the words seemed to resonate. I cannot wait for the next story now as I NEED to know what happens next.

Please note this is a great book but it will make much more sense if you have read the books before it in the series and you need to be comfortable with M/M and M/F sex.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 18 October 2017

Review: Other Worlds: A Collection of stories by Isadora Brown and other authors 5 of 5 stars

Other Worlds: A Limited Edition Collection of Science Fiction Romance and Paranormal Romance Other Worlds: A Limited Edition Collection of Science Fiction Romance and Paranormal Romance by Allyson Lindt by Isadora Brown
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Read so far:
Discovering Starlight by Isadora Brown
This is the story of two sisters who have been separated at birth for their own safety as they are princesses and others want them to be dead. One of them knows she is a princess and has been raised with all of the trappings of such a life, the other has been raised as a normal person who has gone through education and now employment and has no idea of who she really is. The story is told from the point of view of 4 people and it is easy to work out who you are reading as their name is the heading of the chapter. It ends with a bit of a cliffhanger that comes a little abruptly but is a great first story in this series so a good hook to go and get the next in the series.

Will add to this review as I read more from this great looking collection of books.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 17 October 2017

Review: Cloaked in Sorcery by T.F. Walsh 5 of 5 stars

Cloaked in Sorcery Cloaked in Sorcery by T.F. Walsh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Werewolf Kalin Asen is part of the entertainment in Bran Castle which should be easy until she meets Axe Vuk commander from the Russian pack and it seems he might be her soul-mate - but he wants her pack dead so she tries hard to ignore it. Axe on the other hand has one mission - to get the ownership of Bran Castle signed over to his Alpha. Problem is it's not for sale so they've got a witch to put a hex on everyone to lose their inhibitions. So is this undeniable attraction between Kalin and Axe real or due to the enchantment? However everything suddenly gets out of control and all the weres lose control of their wolves and start chomping down on the humans in the castle. Can Kalin and Axe survive and get the chance to work out if they truly are soul-mates?

Great story that was very well told.  Loved the premise of the story which had touches of the wolf's hunger where Kalin was hungry and eating food that was being passed around.  The writing was great as I would have expected from this author.  Very enjoyable with lots of drama and the promise of something great in subsequent books.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 16 October 2017

Review: River Rising by John A. Heldt 5 of 5 stars

River Rising River Rising by John A. Heldt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Adam Carson is 27, an Engineer and the eldest of 5 siblings. When their parents disappear Adam starts to search for answers as to what had happened. Finding a secret website he convinces his siblings that they are stuck somewhere in the 1880's and that they should all go and try to find them and bring them back. They split up when there and Greg goes to the Wild West, Natalie works as a journalist and the two youngest enrol in high school. Having no prior knowledge of the area nor the time are in they have to get used to the clothes, events and norms of the time which puts them in situations of danger, adventure and there are opportunities for love on the way.

This is the first book in this new series from the author and was a great start to a new time travelling series involving the Carson family and the adventures that they are involved in. There was plenty of drama, danger and even some romance in places, so it was a very enjoyable read. I liked the contrast between the events and experiences of each of the siblings which was a clever way to cover lots of different stories with a common theme to pull them together. The writing was of a good standard and it was easy to empathise with the thoughts and emotions as the characters went through the events in their stories. I'm looking forward now to the next instalment of their combined stories.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 11 October 2017

Review: Dragon-Born: The Dragon-Born Saga Books 1-3 by K.N. Lee

Dragon-Born: The Dragon-Born Saga Books 1-3, Half-Blood Dragon, Magic-Born Dragon, Queen of the Dragons Dragon-Born: The Dragon-Born Saga Books 1-3, Half-Blood Dragon, Magic-Born Dragon, Queen of th by K.N. Lee
e DragonsMy rating: 5 of 5 stars

Half-Blood Dragon:
Rowen is a lady in waiting and trying to execute her stepfather's plan for her to marry the crown prince and improve the family's status. However she keeps having dreams that warn her that she is going to die in an unpleasant way. Then the dreams come true as she is framed and sentenced to death for the murder of the very prince she was going to marry. She has nowhere to run as the power is all in the hands of the full blood dragon shifters. Can the stranger save Rowen from execution and can she work with her gift and find the courage to set the world on fire?

I loved this story. I can imagine politics in a royal household being like she encountered and I definitely felt for her as the story unfolded and she was forced into situations through no fault of her own. The story was well written and I could definitely feel the emotions for the characters involved in the story.

Magic-Born Dragon:
Rowen is a fugitive and must avoid being captured by the Dragons by hiding in the human realm. All she has is a treasure map to find the Red Dragon and her two powers of persuasion and prophecy. She finds help from a new friend and has to hide from a pirate who is concentrating on vengeance. Then a man from her past warns her and questions this whole journey.

Wow - the plot definitely thickened in this book. I LOVED the story and the way it developed. It was very well told and the writing was easy to understand but also meant that I felt all the complex thoughts and emotions involved in the story. The ending was just WOW!!! I can't wait to find out what happens next in this complex story. You have got to read this.

Queen of the Dragons:
Rowen is a half-blood dragon who was taken by the Red Dragon and seems to have lost her memory. But she finds out some ancient secrets and her memory after a strange black dragon tries to free her (and gets injured in the process). Now they are both captives while he recovers. Elian Westin is a Captain and he and the remnants of his crew are travelling to Withrae where a war between dragons and humans is brewing - and it's not clear which side they will choose when he meets the woman who broke his heart years ago and suddenly the fate of both her and his daughter are at stake.

There was lots of action in the story as a the threads of the story were woven together to come to some fairly explosive conclusions. There were lots of surprises and twists and turns on the way. The story was well written and easy to understand. A very enjoyable read that transported me off to a land of dragons, magicians and humans.

Buy from Anazon

Review: SEALs of Honor: Ryder by Dale Mayer 5 of 5 stars

SEALs of Honor: Ryder SEALs of Honor: Ryder by Dale Mayer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ryder is a SEAL and has spent his career in all sorts of dangerous places but it pales in comparison to when he lost the one good thing in his life - his best friend Caitlyn. When Ryder goes to a medical facility to visit a friend he sees her working there and wonders if he can cope with the torture of her not being his anymore but maybe being just his friend so he doesn't lose her completely. Caitlyn is determined to work anywhere - even overseas if it means she can see him after she screwed up and pushed her best friend away. However when their outpost is attacked and supplies go missing it is the start of something much worse especially when Caitlyn is kidnapped. Can they work out their priorities and move past the events in their past?

A roller-coaster ride of both events and feelings in this powerful story of love and a journey of self awareness. The descriptions of the places they were and the events that were happening were clear and easy to understand. As I read the story I found myself getting more and more into the story and reading faster even though there were times I just wanted to give Caitlyn a shake and tell her to stop being an idiot! Ryder sounded like a really nice guy and was hot too, and she really needed to get her act together (and was incredibly lucky there was no one there to try and heal Ryder. Well written as I would expect,

Buy from Amazon