Friday, 18 August 2017

Review: Zuran: A Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance: Albaterra Mates Book 6 by Ashley L. Hunt 5 of 5 stars

Zuran: A Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance: Albaterra Mates Book 6 Zuran: A Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance: Albaterra Mates Book 6 by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Phoebe is a human nurse based in Ka-lik’et (which is in the Albaterran kingdom of Dhal’at) and is considered as one of the best. When she loses an important patient events quickly spiral into critically important events.

As a nurse, Phoebe has spent her career helping people. She knows it’s her calling and throws herself into tending to her patients heart and soul. In the city of Ka-lik’et, she is considered one of the best attendants amongst those in the human colony. When she loses the most important patient she’s ever had, though, a fuse is ignited that sends her spiralling into a course of events she never could have imagined. Zuran is a reformed criminal and the Interplanetary Affairs Officer for the Albaterran kingdom of Dhal’at. He meets the curvy, intelligent and incredibly compassionate Phoebe and is awestruck by how amazingly good a person she is. When the Novai who have also colonised Albaterra are struck with a unknown disease they are both thrown together in a desperate battle to save the colonists, ensure it does not spread to the other planet's inhabitants. As part of that journey they discover things about each other (and themselves) that had been hidden for a long time. As part of that journey can they saves their world, themselves, and find out that they actually need each other too?

I absolutely LOVED this story. You don't need to have read the earlier books in the series (however you may well find you have to go back and read them all). The story had lots of drama, danger, romance and mystery in this tale of love and how it can creep up on you when you are not expecting nor necessarily looking for it. Everything was well written and I could feel all the thoughts, frustrations and emotions felt by the characters in this story.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 15 August 2017

Review: Allex by Lisa Lace 5 of 5 stars

Allex Allex by Lisa Lace
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Priya is human and after a bad breakup decides to enrol as a mate for the Auxem but she is rejected thanks to genetics. She leaves the centre but is attacked by muggers so ends up hiding from them in a nearby shuttle intending to leave when it is safe. Unfortunately she actually finds herself on a much larger ship heading for Auxem as a stowaway. She then encounters Allex - a doctor and the fifth son of the king who is hiding from his brothers to get relief from their controlling and overbearing affection. They end up having a deep attraction for each other, and even though Alex knows he cannot her her he is determined to have her as his mate.

Wow - this is a great story that you don't have to read the earlier books in the series in order to enjoy but it does help. There was lots of drama and excitement in the story which contained an impossible to ignore love for each other. I could feel and sympathise with Allex's annoyance at the way his family treated him. The relationships between all of the characters were easy to to pick up and understand and the developing relationship between Priya and Allex was quite enchanting.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Creatures: A Limited Edition Collection by A K Michaels by Monica La Porta

Creatures: A Limited Edition Collection of Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance Creatures: A Limited Edition Collection of Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance by A K Michaels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Shade - AK Michaels - 5 of 5 stars

Shade Shawcross is the Alpha of the Silver Lake pack and seems to have a insatiable hunger that is beginning to consume him. His Betas (and best friends) suspect they know what might be happening and persuade him to look through the pack archives to confirm what it is and find out the cure. Shade eventually agrees and they start to go through the recently digitised archives. They are all shocked at what they find and when Shade finally lets his wolf take control to try and find his soulmate. This is not going to be easy as she is on the run from her pack and Shade has three bothers after him after their scheming sister told them a story that was incorrect. Will he find his mate or will either of them die from the others chasing them?

Wow - lots of action and excitement in this Wolf's Hunger story. After a slightly slow start the action just kept coming and the danger kept piling up on them both. Well written as always and all the thoughts, dreams, emotions and frustrations were all easy to feel and experience as you read this story.

The Fifth Moon's Dragon - Monica La Porta - 5 of 5 stars

Dragon Sol (High Lord of Solaria) has returned to marry his brides but ends up having to fight off an assassin. Jade is a member of the Assassin Academy and loves what she does. This mission however becomes dangerous for a whole list of reasons when their roles are reversed and their hearts and lives are both at stake.

I loved this story - drama and action from the very start and continued throughout the story. I defy anyone to read this and not want or need to know the rest of the story between Dragon and Jade.

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 10 August 2017

Review: Poison and Potions: a Limited Edition Collection by Erin Hayes by Debbie Herbert by K.N. Lee by Rebecca Hamilton

Poison and Potions: a Limited Edition Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy CollectionPoison and Potions: a Limited Edition Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy Collection by Erin Hayes

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


How to be a Mermaid - Erin Hayes

Tara has dreamed about being a mermaid since forever so takes a year out to wear a fake tail and be one in a professional group of performers. Then she meets a real one called Finn and starts to become a real one. When she tries to find him to stop the transformation she gets caught in the middle of a war between the land and sea - her only escape is to learn to be a real mermaid.

A charming story with a gentle love story mixed in with the being a mermaid transformation and the impending war. Well written, clear and easy to understand. An enjoyable light read.

Soul Stalkers - Norma Hinkins

Cursed Magic - Margo Bond Collins and Rebecca Hamilton

White as Snow - May Sage

Murder by Magic Catherine Vale

Soulless Monica Corwin

The Princess and the Vampire - Thea Atkinson

What Devil's May Come - Rachel McClellan

Changed - Debbie Herbert

Tara's world had recently changed dramatically from it's original course. Before she was a witch who was happy to go along with her coven's focus on world domination, then she was in love with an immortal called Andrew and had finally seen the truth - determined to extricate herself from the world she was in she went to a final coven meeting hoping this was he start of her new future.

Drama in spades in this story that sets the scene for the Appalachian Magic series of books by Debbie. Proof that life (and love) never run smoothly for all races but that it is possible to get a HEA in the end. Well written and emotions clear and easy to empathise with.

Ink - Melanie Karsak

Academia of the Beast - KN Lee

Allyn is a witch who lives if the slums of Eastria having escaped the hunters. Just before the Winter Winds trap everyone in their homes for the season she goes with friends to the Winter Ball and meets the crown prince of Elastria and she has hope for a brighter future until her ex-boyfriend tricks her and she is tuned in for the bounty on her head.

She then finds herself a prisoner in a strange castle that has ghost servants and talking walls. Can she tame the prince's mysterious twin and can she cure the curse?

This was a great retelling of Beauty and the Beast. It was well written, and I could definitely put myself in the position of the characters and relate to their feelings and emotions.

Blue Moon - Morgan J Parker and Nathan Squiers

Origins - Rebecca Hamilton

The regent needs a wife who is a witch who can give him a child to take over protecting the sector from the Ravagers. Problem is he is infertile so keeps banishing his wives to be killed rather than admit he has a problem.

Alec is a Hunter who searches for witches for the regent to marry and is looking for the next person. Adira is a witch that that Alec finds but cannot bear to hand her in immediately so gives her 13 days to prepare for the tests she will have as the regent's chosen bride. Alec helps to train her in combat in preparation for handing her in. Will he have the strength to hand her in or will they both give in to the pull between them?

I loved this book and the twists and turns in the story. A couple of times I became quite teary eyed so could definitely sense the emotion in those sections. Definitely recommended.

Moon Canyon - Conner Kressley and Rebecca Hamilton

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 9 August 2017

Review: The Harker Trilogy: Books 1-3 by Erin Hayes 5 of 5 stars

The Harker Trilogy: Books 1-3: Damned if I Do, Damned if I Don't, Damned Either Way The Harker Trilogy: Books 1-3: Damned if I Do, Damned if I Don't, Damned Either Way by Erin Hayes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Damned if I do
Evie grew up in a family that hunted supernaturals but she wasn't directly involved so she didn't believe in a lot of things - however when her and her sister are attacked by Vampires it means her sister is killed and Evie has been infected. Now she has to take over from her sister while she herself is dying. She is determined to find the vampire who killed her sister with the help of a vampire with amnesia called Jude. Can she do everything she needs to do before she runs out of time?

I LOVED this story. It had the right mix of drama, mystery and romance. Just when it felt that everything was going to be there was a twist in the story and everything changed.

Damned if I don't
Evie seems to have messed up the chance to not only cure vampirism but also herself. Add to that her cousin Carl is no longer talking to her, her sister's killer Anthony is still at large and Jude has confessed that he loves her. Scarily he might be a vampire but Evie is in love with him too - problem is as Jude rediscovers his past there is a risk that both Evie and Jude will be torn apart. Add to that the little problem of having to find a new Progenitor while the old one is in hiding and life is just peachy.

Wow - so much drama and excitement even if it is tinged with a large dose of sadness. There was so much happening here and the story was developing at a fast pace - I found myself reading it faster and faster as I was caught up with the story. OMG - I have to wait for the next book to be written now.

Damned either way
The vampire Antony who killed my sister and her husband is currently in control of everything and I have nothing in comparison. I can't find my niece Amelia, Jude has run away to surrender the the hunger that is taking control of all the vampires across the world, and I'm no longer the Harker so can't fix any of it. Can I find the courage to take the one last chance I have left to save us all?

Oh WOW. This is the last book in the Harker Trilogy and has everything looking hopeless before building up slowly to pull the threads together into a dramatic finale that then leaves you feeling both relieved and heartbroken. Thank goodness for the Epilogue is all I can say about that!! I loved the story which was well written and everything was clear and easy to understand. I could feel all the emotions involved and was really routing for them to succeed in the story.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Damned if I Don't by Erin Hayes 5 of 5 stars

Damned if I Don't Damned if I Don't by Erin Hayes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Evie seems to have messed up the chance to not only cure vampirism but also herself. Add to that her cousin Carl is no longer talking to her, her sister's killer Anthony is still at large and Jude has confessed that he loves her. Scarily he might be a vampire but Evie is in love with him too - problem is as Jude rediscovers his past there is a risk that both Evie and Jude will be torn apart. Add to that the little problem of having to find a new Progenitor while the old one is in hiding and life is just peachy.

Wow - so much drama and excitement even if it is tinged with a large dose of sadness. There was so much happening here and the story was developing at a fast pace - I found myself reading it faster and faster as I was caught up with the story. OMG - I have to wait for the next book to be written now.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 8 August 2017

Review: Touching Infinity by Erin Hayes 5 of 5 stars

Touching Infinity Touching Infinity by Erin Hayes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

In this future the galaxy is ruled by greedy corporations who only care about their profits. Clementine Jones is slightly more robot that human and is first mate of the Pícara - a space pirate ship that makes a living working only for themselves doing the dangerous job of stealing corporate information for the highest bidder. However when she accidentally downloads a dangerous virus the crew is in extreme danger.

I loved this story. It had a great mixture a science fiction theme and a romance all given a slightly dark tinge. I really liked the characters and can't wait to read the next book in this series so I can find out what happens next.

Not available on Amazon to order yet.

Sunday, 6 August 2017

Review: Alien Enemy by Ashley L. Hunt 4 of 5 stars

Alien Enemy Alien Enemy by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Candice falls for Luke who is a performer with the Circus Of Cursed Souls - however she then learns that he is an alien from Corin and his real name is Arias. He is under a bizarre curse where if he experiences extreme sadness he is pushed to Earth, if he experiences extreme joy he is pushed to Corin.

This was a strange situation which meant they jumped to different worlds and therefore the story was a bit disjointed. However the characters felt very real and the emotions were easy to feel as you read the story.

Currently not available on Amazon to purchase.

Review: Holt: A Wolf's Hunger Alpha Shifter Romance by Desiree A. Cox by A.K. Michaels 5 of 5 stars

Holt: A Wolf's Hunger Alpha Shifter Romance Holt: A Wolf's Hunger Alpha Shifter Romance by Desiree A. Cox
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Barry “Holt” Scofield is an Omega in the Loca Nuna pack and he and his friend Dolph escape from a trap made by a group of wildlife preservationists. The sounds of his father (the pack Alpha) and the others being dragged away will haunt him forever. He knows what he needs to do now - work with Dolph and free his father and the rest of the pack. However before he can start on that he is struck down with the Hunger and so he can only think of eating before his wolf makes clear to him that he has to go find his mate - even though this is NOT the most convenient time. Can he free the pack and find his mate at the same time?

I really enjoyed reading this story. It had plenty of drama, excitement, the occasional twist and turn, but did reach a satisfactory conclusion in the end. I liked the addition of some different characters that were not shifters or shifters that I didn't find stuck in the stereotypical shifter behaviour. A very enjoyable story well written and easy to feel the emotions involved.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 4 August 2017

Review: Forsaken by Magic by Jasmine Walt 5 of 5 stars

Forsaken by Magic Forsaken by Magic by Jasmine Walt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lord Polar ar’Tollis has wealth, power, women throwing themselves at him - just about everything he could ever want. However as a mage he has been taught to rein in his emotions and that he is superior to other lives - humans or shifters. However when he receives an execution order for a child everything is called into question especially when he discovers corruption in his own organisation. How he enters the world of a catch-22 when he has to chose between killing an innocent child or saving her and potentially losing everything.

Loved this story!!! It was great to follow his realisation that there was corruption and that if it wasn't challenged an innocent child would die. The solution he came up with was inspired even if the final solution was a bit left field. The emotions, thoughts and emotions were very clear and I could feel all of them. This is a great introduction to The Baine Chronicles as well as an addition to any who already love the series.

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 3 August 2017

Review: The Marriage Paradox by Noelle Greene 5 of 5 stars

The Marriage Paradox The Marriage Paradox by Noelle Greene
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Olivia Munro is currently a legal attache but is also working hard to get her father released from a detention centre. However after she throws caution to the wind and has a fling with a guy called Ian her career seems to be destroyed. She then has to go on a road trip to try and save her father which involves a marriage of convenience to Australian Markus who is on the same road trip even though he had previously deceived her. Markus is suffering with a premonition that he will die at some time in the near future which affects some of his decisions but he is also very loyal and Olivia is soon captivated by him. Love is an unexpected surprise for them both. They end up caught between an authoritarian ruling regime and corruption in a casino. Can they play everything right or will they end up dead and ripped apart?

This story was a little slow to build up as it was laying out the story but eventually became a dramatic story with lots of twists, turns, surprises and passion. I loved the surprises in the story which hit you in such a way that there was no way you expected them. It was a story of love, passion and how love really can conquer all if you give it a chance no matter what is going on around you. Definitely worth sticking with it through the slow start.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 30 July 2017

Review: Ayrie --with 5 bonus stories by Lisa Lace 5 of 5 stars

Ayrie --with 5 bonus stories Ayrie --with 5 bonus stories by Lisa Lace
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Elle travelled halfway across the galaxy to Ayrie's planet Auxem to become his mail order bride due to a shortage of women on the planet because of an illness. He might be gorgeous but he acts like a complete jerk and barely talks to her. Can they both sort out the issues from the past and find a way of moving on together?

I loved this story. Yes it was a little slow in places but it was all for a reason and contributed to the story which had a HEA in the end. It was well written and I could clearly feel and experience the thoughts and emotions involved in the story - even if that was to become as frustrated as they both were with each other.

The book also contains 5 bonus stories which makes this an absolute bargain. They were just as enjoyable as Ayrie and just as well written.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Kendall: A Wolf's Hunger by Monica La Porta by A.K. Michaels

Kendall: A Wolf's Hunger Alpha Shifter Romance Kendall: A Wolf's Hunger Alpha Shifter Romance by Monica La Porta
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Kendall McKenzie doesn't believe in love - it can't exist after his brother Ax was hit with a fabled Hunger and stole his fiancee from him. He just wants to ignore his responsibilities and drink himself silly - however his Beta accepts an invitation to Hawaii for him so once again his plans are ruined! Juliette Kewada is a rare female Alpha and is the leader of the Honolulu Wolves. Her leadership is challenge at ever turn by her neighbours and she has unruly teenage pack members so the last thing she needs is a mate. Then bizarrely when Kendall lands in Honolulu both of them are hit with a mysterious hunger that will change their lives forever if only they can find their HEA.

This is another variation of a Hunger story with this one involving two Alpha wolves from different parts of the country. I liked the drama in the story involving the local wolves doubting and challenging Juliette and the way Kendall struggled but ultimately did manage to support her. I did however have issues with the teenagers not heeding their Alpha - surely they would take notice of her more than they actually were? The story was well written and I could feel the emotions involved.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 28 July 2017

Review: Dominion Rising by Gwynn White by J.C. Andrijeski by Erin Hayes 5 of 5 stars

Dominion Rising Dominion Rising by Gwynn White
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I will update this review as and when I read stories in the boxset.

New York – JC Andrijeski – 5 of 5 stars

Allie Taylor lives in a world with two races - humans and seers. These seers are enslaved by governments, corporations and the wealthy. They are psychic in nature and have a high sexuality. Allie is fascinated by these exotic beings even though she is never likely to ever meet one. Then her boyfriend's band has a gig in New York and seers are visible on the streets there. Whilst she is experiencing trouble with her boyfriend she observes seers being tasered, a terrorist attack and she seems to have a crazy stalker leaving her weird cryptic notes. She also finds that no matter where she is there is a tall black haired buy with the most amazing eyes. Then her trip becomes downright dangerous when a a strange religious cult that venerates seers targets her in a strange ritual which could prove fatal to her.

Wow – great story! I really enjoyed reading about this period before the Bridge and Sword World series started It certainly helped me understand some of what happens in the books and why certain things happen and why the main characters Allie and Revik behave the way they do. Everything was well written and made perfect sense. I could empathise with the characters and understand their feelings and motivations. If you have not read any of the stories in the series this is a perfect introduction.


Touching Infinity - Erin Hayes - 5 of 5 stars

In this future the galaxy is ruled by greedy corporations who only care about their profits. Clementine Jones is slightly more robot that human and is first mate of the Pícara - a space pirate ship that makes a living working only for themselves doing the dangerous job of stealing corporate information for the highest bidder. However when she accidentally downloads a dangerous virus the crew is in extreme danger.

I loved this story. It had a great mixture a science fiction theme and a romance all given a slightly dark tinge. I really liked the characters and can't wait to read the next book in this series so I can find out what happens next.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 26 July 2017

Review: A Diagnosis Dark & Deadly by Heather C. Myers 4 of 5 stars

A Diagnosis Dark & Deadly: A Dark & Deadly Novella A Diagnosis Dark & Deadly: A Dark & Deadly Novella by Heather C. Myers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Olivia Goodson broke up with an abusive boyfriend but then bizarrely hooks up with doctor and top diagnostician Mason Hadley who is her boss on the same night. She never used to be the type of girl to do a "friends with benefits" type situation but Mason is so good she can't help herself. Then it all goes wrong when feelings get involved. Then when her ex-boyfriend does something that needs Hadley to make to make a choice that Olivia now needs to decide if she can forgive or not.

This is a charming story that has a definite dark twist at the end. As I would expect from this author it was well written and I could clearly pick up the thoughts and emotions of the characters. Loved the twist at the end.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Mako by Bella Roccaforte by A.K. Michaels 5 of 5 stars

Mako Mako by Bella Roccaforte
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Mako is the Beta in the Blackhawk pack but when Mage Robin arrives at the pack Mako is struck down with the Hunger. Problem is Mako is more focused on protecting the pack and being a good Beta and all Robin is there for is to exact revenge on the anti-mage who killed her grandmother. Can they fight their attraction or will the Hunger create another mated pair?

I loved this story. It was nice to read a version of the Hunger stories that was not to a basic formula but featured a mage and a wolf shifter paired together. The emotions, thoughts and feelings we very well described and I could definitely fee and appreciate the various emotions involved in this story.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 24 July 2017

Review: Terror Train: A Collection Of Short Horror Tales by Wesley Thomas 5 of 5 stars

Terror Train: A Collection Of Short Horror Tales Terror Train: A Collection Of Short Horror Tales by Wesley Thomas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A great collection of scary short stories that sometimes make you think "Could that happen?". The writing was very good and at times a joy to read as I felt it was of a higher standard that many other authors. I'm really not into this genre of book but his writing is so good I really enjoy the stories , so give it a try.

The Message - a writer lives in a remote location enjoying the solitude.
Great descriptions to set the scene and a great twist at the end. Loved it.

The Doll Maker - a tale of a gifted doll maker.
Good story, well told, and I loved the ending.

The Stairs - two cousins go on an adventure with surprising results.
Great story, well told with a surprise ending. I'm convinced this is the only story I've ever read that used the word "Discombobulated"

Stage Fright - the tale of a young man and his audition for a part in the play on the stage.
Good story of what happened. Great level of detail describing the scene, thoughts and feelings being experienced.

Dementia - the story of an old lady with dementia.
Great twist in the story at the end that bizarrely made me smile.

Boxed - a visit to a hotel goes spectacularly wrong.
Wow - now that definitely fed into most people's secret fears. Well told and very easy to imagine yourself in their position.

The Bar - Brad is determined to visit an invitation only bar.
Well that definitely wasn't what he (nor I) expected. Story contains bad language if you are sensitive to that.

Revelation - a mother reveals something disturbing from her past to her son.
Didn't see that ending coming.

In the Basement - a young boy discovers something in the basement.
Nice story - almost makes you wish it was true in some ways.

Bloody Baby - a tale of a very disturbed young man.
Wow - it was definitely disturbing.

Intruder Alert - Cassie battles with an intruder in her house with an unexpected end.
Interesting. Quite sad really.

Marnie - Marnie sits at home during a storm and has an intuition something is going to happen.
Lots of suspense in this short mystery.

Waxy Nightmares - a wax museum becomes a mystery.
I enjoyed this one which was quite interesting.

Horror Goggles - Paul is excited to go to a new VR experience in town to try it out with unpredictable consequences.
Good story which can definitely be imagined as real one day.

Helicopter Ride - a helicopter trip up a mountain has an unexpected result.
Wow - I think I'll stay on the ground down here.

Scarecrow, scarecrow - do you find scarecrows frightening? So does Greta.
Formidophobia has never been so real.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 23 July 2017

Review: Fishtail by Demelza Carlton 5 of 5 stars

Fishtail Fishtail by Demelza Carlton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Sven is a hot Mer man and is currently the leader of the Mer colony in the Complex. Life seems smooth until a dead body is found in the fish tank in his shop which then makes him the prime suspect in the murder case. The investigators finding the killer are Violet (a succubus) and Minali (a human) who seems to have already decided it was him. Even worse the rest of his community seem to be ready to give up on him and let him be charged with murder. In desperation he decides to find the killer himself. Can he find the murderer or will he have lost everything?

A great story in The Complex world with another set of characters joining the characters we have already met. We got some more explanation of the history of the Mer race and that helped to understand their abilities better. Nicely told and everything was well written and easy to feel and understand the thoughts and emotions of the characters. A must read if you enjoy this world and the stories set within it.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Captive by Anna Santos 5 of 5 stars

Captive Captive by Anna Santos
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Aria is innocent and is given a trip to Paris for her 18th birthday by her parents. Suddenly her world is completely shaken when a Vampire (Philippe) who is apparently her fated mate rejects her. She nearly dies but is saved by a Gargoyle (Cedric) and then becomes his fated mate. She is suddenly in a love triangle between two powerful races. She also has a rapid discovery that vampires, angels, gargoyles and shifters are all real. Who will she choose and can she handle the pressure of these two beings vying for her love?

I love the story and the whole premise behind it. In my head I was thinking that she would chose the both as a way of brokering peace, bu at the end of this book it appears one way but is not resolved, so I'll definitely have to read the next book to find out what happens next and who she chooses. The story was carefully written and there was a good level of detail so you could find yourself feeling and thinking like the characters.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 19 July 2017

Review: Magic Unleashed by Melanie James by A.K. Michaels 5 of 5 stars

Magic Unleashed Magic Unleashed by Melanie James
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A Wolf's Hunger - Sheba by A.K. Michaels - 5 stars
Sheba has broken a taboo in the Dark Moon Pack because she is the first female Alpha. It was not easy to get there and she had to fight hard and be much better than any male to get to that position - so she is determined for it to stay like that and not slip in her focus. Then she gets a hunger that makes her hunt and eat lots - nothing wrong with that surely as that it what a shifter was born to do right? Then she starts dreaming about the most magnificent Lion - strange - maybe she ate something bad? When renegades start becoming a problem she has a dilemma - she has to defend the pack and get rid of the renegades, but the pack healer says she has to go and find her soul-mate or go mad. Sensing her disbelief her beta Ray insists she must find the soul-mate and that he will go with her. Can she find him before the renegades?

Great story - and so nice to read another story in the A Wolf's Hunger collection of stories that is about a female Alpha and not a male one. It was nice to have a slightly different slant on the story which made it less formulaic and not a wolf or human for the soul-mate. It was well written and I could feel and empathise with the story as it unfolded. Loved it.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 16 July 2017

Review: Council of Magic by J.L. Hendricks 4 of 5 stars

Council of Magic Council of Magic by J.L. Hendricks
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Kat Deveroix is a member of the Voodoo Dolls and recently found out she is part shifter. Problem is she can't shift and shifter DNA is dominant so there has to be another reason. In their shop a woman talks to Kat and Jenna about a problem with her boyfriend but it soon becomes apparent that there is a much bigger problem and it is one that the shifter pack thought they had removed some time ago. As part of working out the new monster problem Kat has to decide between Ivan and her new man. Strap in as we find out so much more about who Kat is.

A great story explaining about who Kat is, how she became that way, and the developments afterwards. Finally some romance for some of the Dolls which was long overdue. Well written and everything was clear and easy to feel and experience for the characters. The ending was a little rushed and the last sentence needed details as I think we all wanted it to be horrible/painful for that character. However - I am GUTTED/ANNOYED/pick your word that this is the end of the trilogy when there are still so MANY things for the characters to achieve. No proper HEA for each of the Dolls, and I have questions floating around in my head.

Buy from Amazon

Review: How to be a Mermaid by Erin Hayes 5 of 5 stars

How to be a Mermaid How to be a Mermaid by Erin Hayes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Tara has dreamed about being a mermaid since forever so takes a year out to wear a fake tail and be one in a professional group of performers. Then she meets a real one called Finn and starts to become a real one. When she tries to find him to stop the transformation she gets caught in the middle of a war between the land and sea - her only escape is to learn to be a real mermaid.

A charming story with a gentle love story mixed in with the being a mermaid transformation and the impending war. Well written, clear and easy to understand. An enjoyable light read.

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 15 July 2017

Review: Souls Unchained by C.C. Wood 5 of 5 stars

Souls Unchained Souls Unchained by C.C. Wood
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Rhys Carey spent centuries unable to trust anyone and hiding from his evil twin brother, but now he is dead he wants a home and love from the right someone for him, but he is saddled with the self-loathing that he has always lived with. Savannah Baker is a lonely empath trapped in her own small world with just one friend. She dreams of happiness and someone to love. So when Rhys moves in across the street they have an attraction that neither believed was possible. However there is danger on the horizon and both Savannah and Rhys is in peril from the darkness that unknown to him has been stalking him for years.

I was so so happy that Rhys finally found the person who is the other half of his soul. I loved the twists and turns in the story and the introduction of new characters that I suspect will be the focus of the next story in this series. The character Ava is definitely someone I'd love to have as my big sister and also makes me think of author A K Michaels. The story was as per usual from this author was well told and I could feel and sense all the hopes and dreams of the characters. It was carefully and sensitively told and that made for a very enjoyable book.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Her Panther for Hire: Howls Romance by C.E. Black 4 of 5 stars

Her Panther for Hire: Howls Romance Her Panther for Hire: Howls Romance by C.E. Black
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Lainey Nickels' brother Shane has been abducted and being the typical big sister she hires a shifter mercenary called Gideon Hunt to go and rescue him. Whilst Gideon looks like he could take on anyone on his own Lainey decides that Shane is her responsibility and she should accompany him to go and find Shane - she even has her passport on her to prove that she is serious about it. Gideon works on his own normally and prefers it that way, as he reminds Lainey constantly with words, looks, grunts and demands. However at the same time, even though she is independent, he has to grudgingly admire her bravery. They come together in an explosion of passion - how is this going to work out both for rescuing Shane and what has happened between Lainey and Gideon?

Wow - so this was a delightful mix of story of an incredibly independent and strong woman, a dramatic rescue from kidnapping and a surprise relationship between 2 very independent people. Everything was clearly explained and I could feel all their thoughts, concerns and emotions. The decision at the end was nicely explained and the decision was exactly what I needed as a reader. It's a nice length of story so everything moves along at a good pace.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Redemption by Laxmi Hariharan 5 of 5 stars

Redemption Redemption by Laxmi Hariharan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Mikhail Anton is a recluse and blames shifters for the memory loss that he is suffering from conveniently ignoring the fact that he is aso now immortal. Then he meets a female shifter cage-fighter called Leana Iyeroy and he is inexplicably drawn to her. It gets more complicated when vampires threaten Leana he has to admit to both her and himself what his own abilities are in order to rescue her. Can they now work together to save the city from the vampires or will they fail and lose everything they love?

Wow - lots happening in this story. On the one side there is the love/lust story between Mikhail and Leana where they both fight hard to resist the increasing attraction between each other. Then there is also the story of their city, the politics between the races that live there, and the evil plotting between certain members of those races. The story was fast moving, had so many twists and turns you start to feel almost dizzy, and was very clear and easy to understand the thoughts and emotions being experienced by the characters

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 11 July 2017

Review: This Long Vigil by Rhett C. Bruno 5 of 5 stars

This Long Vigil This Long Vigil by Rhett C. Bruno
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Orion is on an Interstellar Ark called Hermes and for the last 25 years has been the lone human monitor with only an AI called Dan for company. As Orion approaches the end of this 25 year tenure he is due to be put back into hibernation in the chamber and will eventually die and be replaced before the ship reaches it's final destination. So Orion decides he will not do that as he needs to escape Hermes and see space again no matter what he has to do.

Great short story that is very detailed in it's description of the scene, the characters, the thoughts and the emotions involved in the story. I was hooked in the story and was dying to know how it was going to turn out. I think if I was reading it on a traditional paperback I would have been tempted to skip to the end to know how it was going to end, but as it was I just started to read it faster and I have to admit ignoring things I shouldn't have (just don't tell anyone).

Buy from Amazon

Review: Phantoms of Dusk by K.N. Lee 5 of 5 stars

Phantoms of Dusk Phantoms of Dusk by K.N. Lee
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Elora Snow is an orphan and is hoping Westerly University is the fresh start she needs. She meets Ripley as shifter and her only friend and ally. This is very welcome as everything goes south as she finds she unexpectedly has magical powers and is destined to become a member of secret organisation called the Phantoms of Dusk. Could this be the family she has always yearned for?However people on campus start dying and evil creatures start stalking her so the world suddenly gets more dangerous and complicated for her. Can Elora face the truth of her past and she and Ripley keep on with their relationship when the normal is that witches and shifters are not supposed to get along.

Wow - what a great start to this series. It was able to fill in all the right details and set the scene without detracting from the story nor does it make the book slow and boring (like some first books in a series do). Everything was well written, clear and easy to understand. I am already addicted and want to know what happens next.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 9 July 2017

Review: Marked By Fate by Kristin D. Van Risseghem by Erin Hayes 5 of 5 stars

Marked By Fate Marked By Fate by Kristin D. Van Risseghem
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review based on:

How to talk to ghosts by Erin Hayes

Lita has always been able to see and talk to ghosts to the point she is more comfortable with them than her father who only cares about power and building a business empire. So when her Uncle Neptune dies her Dad's sole focus is to take over his aquarium no matter who he actually left it to. SO Lita has a choice - help her father to get it and take over the world, or help her Uncle's friends who all have their own secrets to get it as per his wishes, and in the process save the world! Can Lita take the pressure and make the right decision?

Wow we had evil, varieties of paranormal and lots of ghosts! And at the centre one sightly overwhelmed woman who literally has the weight of the world on her shoulders. I loved the dynamic between Lita and Ryan. It was well written as I would expect from Erin and addictive from start to finish.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Goddess of War by K.N. Lee 5 of 5 stars

Goddess of War Goddess of War by K.N. Lee
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Preeti and Vineet are twins are the Goddess of War and the God of Peace, and are currently imprisoned in the Vault, where the Goddess of Law has put them in order for her to rule the world. They manage to escape and find themselves jumping to another world called the Abyss (the human world). It's not the cold barren place they imagined it to be and in the three years they have to hide there the realise how much they like it and the people there who they have become friends with. However the Goddess of Law is determined to do anything and everything (including tearing the human world apart) to either imprison or kill them so she can replace them as the rulers of the gods.

Wow - what a roller-coaster of a ride with these two young adults with the weight of the world on their shoulders. It had everything - love, romance, action (both from gods and men fighting) and plot twists and turns as the events were happening and situations were changing. The writing of this story was great and the events, thoughts, hopes and emotions of the characters were well told and completely understandable. Now I just need to know what happens next and will the characters meet again (I really hope so).

Buy from Amazon

Review: Marked by Fate: Origins by Kristin D. Van Risseghem by Erin Hayes 5 of 5 stars

Marked by Fate: Origins Marked by Fate: Origins by Kristin D. Van Risseghem
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Bargain of a box set. I will read the other stories when I have the time but for now review based on:

I want to be a Pirate by Erin Hayes
This is the story of how Neptune acquired his love of the sea and came to buy the aquarium. It was a great story of love (both of the sea and a woman) and was a great setting of the scene to events that happened in How to talk to ghosts by the same author.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 7 July 2017

Review: Worlds Away by J.L. Hendricks 5 of 5 stars

Worlds Away Worlds Away by J.L. Hendricks
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Paris became an orphan at a young age and ended up on the Los Angeles streets and not in the foster system. She was tough and doing well when one day she was spirited out of a field by aliens. Venay is a Commander in the V’Zenian Empire and his job is to abduct humans to become slaves or mates for the males of his species. When he saw Paris across the field he knew he just had to have her. So Paris has a complicated choice to make - become a slave or Venay's mate. Then a rival alien species causes their spaceship to crash on a planet and she has a new decision - think only of saving herself or work with Venay to save everyone from their spaceship by killing all the rival aliens who would treat the humans far worse.

What can I say - I LOVED this story. It had lots of emotions from both the humans and the V'Zenians who were not used to showing and expressing them. It was enjoyable to experience the slow realisation by Paris that they really were mates and she could fight it all the way but it was going to end the same way. The V'Zenians was quite enchanting the way they tried to see the humans as much more than slaves and could related and converse with them as colleagues and friends as they realised that the humans had skills that made them more useful than lowly slaves. Now I have to get the next book in the series so I can find out what happens next.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Fever Claim by Marie Johnston 3 of 5 stars

Fever Claim Fever Claim by Marie Johnston
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Cassie Stockwell was dumped 2 weeks before her wedding and only has one intention - to drink alcohol and forget. When the gorgeous barman that she has secretly obsessed over the last few months offers her a lift home due to her safe driver leaving her she thinks that one night won't matter. However Jace Miller is a wolf-shifter and he knows she is his destined mate. Can the one night of passion between them be enough to persuade her to copy with a world she had no idea existed and is dangerous?

This was a book of three parts - the first part was all passion and excitement and enjoyable to read - the second part was quite boring while she had a lengthy pity party which ended in rejection of Jace that I found painful to read and SO wanted to give her a damn good slap and tell her to pull herself together - then the third part was the exciting part where she came to her senses and everything was sorted out. So a nice story, reasonably well told, but needed to be shorter so some of the middle section could have been removed.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 5 July 2017

Review: Princess SOS by Sara Page 4 of 5 stars

Princess SOS Princess SOS by Sara Page
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Princess Ameia has been put in an escape pod and it has crashed on an unknown planet. The only other life she has observed is a large purple man and although she has tried tried to communicate they don't appear to speak the same language. As she runs out of the meagre supplies in the pod she has to take a chance and trust the other planet inhabitant as he seems to want to help.

This was a lovely story looking at how two people who can't communicate easily can build some sort of trust and have a relationship even if they can't understand each other. I liked the way in the end they got to communicate together properly and could come to some sort of understanding. It was a nice start to the series and I'm looking forward to reading the next instalment of the story.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Her Empath by Mina Carter 5 of 5 stars

Her Empath Her Empath by Mina Carter
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lyssa Ryland is half human half alien and behaves just like her red hair - tough and impossible to control. JJ is an empath and has been send to control her via any means. He expects an old battle-ax and instead finds the hot woman he had a one night stand with the night before. On a mission, can they escape the homicidal cyborg and can they sort out their feelings for each other.

There was plenty of action both in and out of the bedroom in this charming story of lust and potentially love set in space. The characters were well described and the thoughts and feelings were easy to understand.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 3 July 2017

Review: Abducted by Evangeline Anderson 5 of 5 stars

Abducted Abducted by Evangeline Anderson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Zoe McKinley is dragged through a mirror and abducted onto a spaceship and sold to a large alien male called Sarden who reminds her of the devil (even though he is hot). Even worse the food-sim makes disgusting tasting food and she is given clothes that barely cover anything. Then in a contrary move she realises she might be falling for him.

I loved this story. It was fun to read and I could really relate to Zoe and all the events she was going through. Great start to the series of books and if it is a taste of what is to come then I'll definitely be reading more of them.


Buy from Amazon

Review: Vampire Girl by Karpov Kinrade 3 of 5 stars

Vampire Girl Vampire Girl by Karpov Kinrade
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Arianna (Ari) Spero has been brought up as an ordinary girl with a fairly normal life. However her mother had made a deal with the devil when Ari was a child and on Ari's 18th birthday the debt was collected. Her mother is currently in a coma and all Ari needs to do is agree to marry one of the princes of hell and give the chosen one an heir for her mother to live. What she finds is unexpected beauty and magic - she also didn't expect to fall in love with one of them. Problem is they have been keeping secrets from her and this could well be a dealbreaker.

Nice story of this polar opposite version of hell with the various inhabitants there. I'm hoping the next books in the series are more interesting as I found Ari a little irritating at times which was unfortunate as it distracted me from the story.

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 1 July 2017

Review: Silence: Little Mermaid Retold by Demelza Carlton 5 of 5 stars

Silence: Little Mermaid Retold Silence: Little Mermaid Retold by Demelza Carlton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Margareta is a mermaid and she had saved Prince Erik from a shipwreck some years ago. In the intervening years she had agreed with the Master of Beacon Isle that she will save his sons from a curse by staying silent. However when Prince Erik appears having been searching for her she is limited in her communication with him by her vow of silence. Can she still communicate with him without words and can they come to the right conclusion for them both?

Nice retelling of the Little Mermaid. I liked the emotional turmoil that both were going through as part of the story and felt I could feel their thoughts and emotions well. Definitely a great read for when you want to just sit and enjoy yourself.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 27 June 2017

Review: To the Teeth by Erin Hayes 5 of 5 stars

To the Teeth To the Teeth by Erin Hayes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Serena is a kitsune is stuck inside the Complex dome for two years helping her mother with her restaurant and raising her 11 younger siblings. As much as she would rather be anywhere else she is enjoying her time with the family and looking forward to her 100,000 S-Co payment at the end when she can go and do her own thing. Then a shtrigu appears (they feast on life force), so when her brother Ken is taken she knows exactly who to blame. In hunting the shrigu and her missing brother she ends up uncovering something much larger which puts her in danger.

Great story with lots of twists and turns in this drama which has 2 key stories - the kidnapping and the romance between Serena and the shrigu. Both the stories were nicely woven together and fit well into The Complex based books. It was well written and it was easy to pick up on the thoughts, emotions and frustrations of the characters. Now I just want to know what happens between the two main characters going forward - do they have a HEA and what do they do next?

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 25 June 2017

Review: Reaper: Faction 14 by Gwen Knight 5 of 5 stars

Reaper: Faction 14 Reaper: Faction 14 by Gwen Knight
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Kiera is a human witch who has been held captive by the Fae ruling Faction Fourteen since she was a teenager. Her job is to reap the magic from others and pass it onto the Fae ruler of the Faction. The rest of the witches a live in poverty and fear her. Maybe they think she lives in luxury, but as a prisoner that is far from the truth. It all seems hopeless until she meets Oren, brother of Lord Dask the newly appointed ruthless Fae ruler. Oren insists he can fix the situation and see witches free and treated the same as Fae. In taking a chance on Oren being able to free witches he becomes much more important to her. Now she is wondering can she have two dreams - to have free witches and be able to love a Fae?

This was a great story - lots of drama, intrigue, twists, turns, and underpinning it a love story that was against the odds. It was well written and I could feel all of their emotions, hopes and dreams.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 23 June 2017

Review: Seductively Spellbound by Cassandra Lawson 5 of 5 stars

Seductively Spellbound Seductively Spellbound by Cassandra Lawson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Julia hoped when arrogant werewolf Gryph walked out of her life she would forget him but he is constantly in her naughty dreams. So she decides to take control and when she needs a bodyguard knows the person to contact - especially as she needs to seduce him so she gets him out of her system! When Gryph gets a job offer to protect the sassy witch it's a temptation that he is not sure he can turn down - he trusts no one else to protect his mate as well as he could do himself - if only he can control both sides of himself. So can he focus on no only keeping her alive AND get her to recognise that she is his mate?

Wow - lots of danger, twists, turns and sexual frustration in this story as Gryph fights to get Julia to understand they are mates. I could feel his frustration at her stubbornness to the point I just wanted to slap her myself until she realised the truth. Everything was well written and I enjoyed the plot twists and turns. The end of the story was suitably dramatic and unexpected in many ways. A great story.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 20 June 2017

Review: Saint by Bella Roccaforte and by A.K. Michaels 5 of 5 stars

Saint Saint by Bella Roccaforte and by A.K. Michaels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Saint is destined to become the pack Alpha after his father and has always been well rounded with his priorities right and a healthy respect for both the pack and the law. But when an unknown woman arrives in town his hunger goes completely mad. Scarlet was born without her wolf and so was banished as a bad omen. Then after 25 years her mother brings her home but nothing has changed so Scarlet tries to run away - but there is some strange force that stops her leaving. Could it be something connected to her missing wolf or the handsome Alpha set met on the road?

Wow - loved this story. It had the right mix of a hot Alpha, a couple of mysteries, and some pack politics. It was well written and I could really sense and feel the thoughts and emotions of the characters in the story.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 18 June 2017

Review: Sleeper Hit by Madisyn Monroe 4 of 5 stars

Sleeper Hit Sleeper Hit by Madisyn Monroe
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Scarlett and Oliver have grown closer and professed their love for each other. Oliver had also agreed to finance her movie although she is still trying to find someone else as part of her drive for independence and not being seen as being with him just to have his money. However apart from that life is perfect and couldn't be better. Then something shocking comes out from Scarlett's past and that changes everything as she can't hide from it nor can she run away any longer. However will Oliver be able to get over this and stay with her or will this ruin everything?

Wow - this was another rollercoaster ride through the highs and lows of their relationship with the past coming back to haunt them. As usual their relationship was very physical and so this is a book for adults. It was well written and ended once again with a cliff hanger so you just have to carry on to the next book to find out what happens next.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 16 June 2017

Review: The Shadow War: A Dark Paranormal Fantasy by L.C. Hibbett 5 of 5 stars

The Shadow War: A Dark Paranormal Fantasy The Shadow War: A Dark Paranormal Fantasy by L.C. Hibbett
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The enemies of the Shadow Children are unmasked and the stakes are much higher than Grace had ever contemplated. Many of her friends are imprisoned and the Circle are doing everything they can to destroy the human race. Faced with a stark situation and even less choices it becomes apparent that Grace and the other Shadow Children are going to have to prepare for war. According to an ancient text there is only one way to break the Circle and their power but can Grace and Sam be strong enough to make that sacrifice?

What can I say? WOW. This is a fast paced drawing together of all the story threads towards the final confrontation. On the way there, were lots of twists, turns, and surprises where you didn't always know who was a friend and who was a foe. I felt that the ending was just open enough that there was room for a follow on series which I really hope the author creates as I will miss these characters and feel that there is more for them to achieve. As always everything was well written and clear/easy to understand. I could feel the emotions of the characters and the feelings involved in the story events.

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 15 June 2017

Review: Urban Mythic: Thirteen Novels of Adventure and Romance by C. Gockel 4 of 5 stars

Urban Mythic: Thirteen Novels of Adventure and Romance, featuring Norse and Greek Gods, Demons and Djinn, Angels, Fairies, Vampires, and Werewolves in the Modern World Urban Mythic: Thirteen Novels of Adventure and Romance, featuring Norse and Greek Gods, Demons and Djinn, Angels, Fairies, Vampires, and Werewolves in the Modern World by C. Gockel
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I Bring the Fire - C. Gockel
Amy Lewis has a plan to get to her grandmother's house in time for dinner. Loki knows he has forgotten something but has no idea what it is just that he is trapped in the mortal world. Can they join forces to defeat the gods, elves and neighbours or will Loki be distracted by technology, boobs and alcoholic benders.

Great story that made me laugh out loud at times. Well written and definitely worth considering reading the rest of the series (this is the first book in it).

Chosen - Christine Pope
A fatal illness wipes out most of the population of earth - just when the survivors think the worst is over they have to handle the next development.7
A nice story. Reasonably written.

The Hunted One - Meg Collett
Archangel Michaela has had his wings removed in disgrace when he discovers that the Angels have a lan for Heaven that may a step too far and irrevocable.
Nicely written. Reasonable story that I enjoyed

Things Unseen - C.J. Brightley
Aria Forsyth is drawn into the confict between human and inhuman and has to handle the differences between them all and try not to be involved in it.
Nice story that was pleasant to read.

Way of the Wolf - Mark E. Cooper
Dr David Lephmann helps a shifter and find himself in a different world containing violence and mistrust.
Nice story with plenty of action and drama.

Eros - Helen Harper
The Greek god of Love and the human who caught his heart - Eros is a contemporary re-telling of the myth of Cupid and Psyche.
I enjoyed this and found it quite clever in the way it was written and the way the story unfolded.

The Wild Hunt - Ron Nieto
Lily was meant to become a faerie doctor, disbelief and pragmatism led her away from the hidden world. She will be forced to face the truth, and the fae, if she wants to save her family.
Lots of drama and action in this lovely story.

A Demon Bound - Debra Dunbar
Sam is an imp, on vacation from Hell, but when she's blackmailed into tracking a rogue angel, her vacation, and possibly her life, might be over.
Great story that I enjoyed.

Vampire Addiction - Eva Pohler
A New York teen studies abroad in Athens and discovers that vampires are real, and unwittingly becomes a catalyst to an uprising led by god.
Lots of drama and intrigue in this clever story.

Valkyrie's Vengeance - Melissa Snark
When children are abducted, Victoria, priestess of the Valkyrie, must work with her worst enemy to rescue them.
Pleasant story that didn't set my world on fire but was enjoyable.

The Blue Rose - Lola St. Vil
The most powerful Angel that ever lived and the dangerous demon who holds her heart.
Great story that had a nice contrast between angels and demons and the torture of a forbidden love.

Elsker - S.T. Bende
Kristia Tostenson just found out her new boyfriend is the Norse God of Winter -an immortal assassin destined to die at Ragnarok.
Wow - amazing story that I enjoyed a great deal.

Blood Debt - Nancy Straight
Camille discovers a family she never dreamed of and a world that should not exist.
Enjoyable story that was nice to read and very enjoyable.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 14 June 2017

Review: Black In White by J.C. Andrijeski 5 of 5 stars

Black In White Black In White by J.C. Andrijeski
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Miri Fox is a psychologist who also works as a on/off profiler for the police. They believe they have caught the "Wedding Killer" but when she checks him out Quntin Black claims to be hunting the killer too. He is nothing like Miri expects and she becomes determined to work out what his secrets are. However Black confronts Miri about her "insight" into people and she gets pulled een further into the game to catch the killer and also as a result into Black's world. Can Miri cope with the doubts and fascination with Black as well as handling the views from her best friend (who is a homicide cop) and her own boyfriend who works in intelligence.

WOW - loved this story. The story was intense and the building fascination between Miri and Black was quite lovely at times The relationship between Miri and her boyfriend seemed like it wasn't anything special and I think when she meets Black no one else had a look in. There was lots of action, twists and turns in the story that kept me gripped and reading faster as I got further into the story and became more hooked. I can't wait to see how this develops in the next book of the series.

There was a sight crossover with the Bridge and Sword World series of books from the same author as they both feature seers.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 13 June 2017

Review: Andorra Pett and the Oort Cloud Café by Richard Dee 5 of 5 stars

Andorra Pett and the Oort Cloud Café Andorra Pett and the Oort Cloud Café by Richard Dee
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Andorra Pett and her business partner Cyril have taken over a derelict cafe on a mining station that is orbiting Saturn. She is intending to have a fresh start away from her past, but events and circumstances have a different path for them. The cafe starts off badly for them with a body in the freezer, a local mafia boss who runs the competition and other secrets that will come out no matter what anyone else wants. It soon becomes clear that there is a lot more going on there and that the fate of the entire station depends on Andorra.

I loved the story and the entire concept. There were the trials and tribulations of running the bakery/cafe, the interations between the characters in the story, the slant on the story being on a space station plus the plotting and danger from the mafia boss. There were plenty of twists and turns in the story and there were also a few moments in the story that made me laugh out loud. A great sci/fi book that is also a crime story that is humourous too.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 12 June 2017

Review: Shades of the Gods by Erin Hayes 5 of 5 stars

Shades of the Gods Shades of the Gods by Erin Hayes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ex police detective Callie Saunders is lucky to be alive but is doing well away from all the Greek gods and goddesses - but of course she is missing the one she loves so it is always going to be a struggle.

It all comes to a head when a god seeking vengeance kidnaps her son and she has to go back to the world of those gods and goddesses to try and rescue him. Will she save not just him but maybe even humanity and how will she cope with seeing the one who seems to hold her heart?

What can I say? I LOVED this story. It was full of plots, twists, turns, emotions and passion. I loved the way the story was woven into the Greek mythology whilst also making all the gods and goddesses more "human" with the same feelings and emotions as the rest of us. Now all I need is to read the next part of this story as I NEED to know what happens next.

View all my reviews

Review: Deep Focus by Madisyn Monroe 4 of 5 stars

Deep Focus Deep Focus by Madisyn Monroe
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Scarlett graduates and arrives in Hollywood with a screenplay and is focussed on getting it made into a movie, but to her great disappointment she can't find anyone who bites. Then she has a chance meeting with billionare Oliver Tate who just happens to be the most powerful man in Hollywood. He also happens to be gorgeous and almost impossible to resist. Oliver will produce her movie but it has a price - can love between them become a reward or a mistake?

This book is the start of a series and ends in a bit of a cliffhanger. I also contains adult scenes so we aware of that.

This was an enchanting tale of the start of a relationship between two damaged people that could easily fail just because of the damage that each of them have sustained in the past. It does howeer make Scarlett a bit neurotic at times which comes across as a bit odd. I have to admit to wanting to slap her and tell her to pull herself together!! I found it a little difficult to imagine she coped with college if she was like that normally. I did however enjoy the book and the writing was all good and the story completely understandable. I felt the emotions that the characters were experiencing and could empathise with them for most of the time. It will be interesting to see how the story develops and what adventures they have next.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 9 June 2017

Review: Shadow (Bridge & Sword: Awakenings #4) by JC Andrijeski 5 of 5 stars

Shadow (Bridge & Sword: Awakenings #4): Bridge & Sword World Shadow (Bridge & Sword: Awakenings #4): Bridge & Sword World by JC Andrijeski
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Now that the Sword has disappeared Allie becomes despised by free seers in the western and eastern world. There are contracts on her life from all sorts of people. She is actually hiding underground with Revik trying desperately to save him and break him free of his dark masters. However to do that she has to learn much more about his rather colourful past and try to get back his trust as she damaged that in her actions to get him free. Then something called the "Shadow" starts to rise with their army of ancient seers and wha appears to be the darkest of agendas.

Oh WOW. So much happened in this book - there were twists, turns, advanced politics, drama, and a most bizarre period where Allie works off a debt. I supposed a great way of summarising it would be exquisite torture. When I read chapters 42 and 43 I was heartbroken and I will admit to crying with despair at the stupidity of two people who love each other as much as these two. Great book, well written and building up to more epic adventures and events in the next book in the series. I can't wait as I NEED to know what happens next.

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 8 June 2017

Review: Queen of the Dragons by K.N. Lee 4 of 5 stars

Queen of the Dragons Queen of the Dragons by K.N. Lee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Rowen is a half-blood dragon who was taken by the Red Dragon and seems to have lost her memory. But she finds out some ancient secrets and her memory after a strange black dragon tries to free her (and gets injured in the process). Now they are both captives while he recovers. Elian Westin is a Ceptain and he and the remnants of his crew are travelling to Withrae where a war between dragons and humans is brewing - and it's not clear which side they will choose when he meets the woman who broke his heart years ago and suddenly the fate of both her and his daughter are at stake.

There was lots of action in the story as a the threads of the story were woven together to come to some fairly exlosive conclusions. There were lots of surprises and twists and turns on the way. The story was well written and easy to understand. A very enjoyable read that transported me off to a land of dragons, magicians and humans.

Buy from Amazon