Wednesday, 18 October 2017

Review: Other Worlds: A Collection of stories by Isadora Brown and other authors 5 of 5 stars

Other Worlds: A Limited Edition Collection of Science Fiction Romance and Paranormal Romance Other Worlds: A Limited Edition Collection of Science Fiction Romance and Paranormal Romance by Allyson Lindt by Isadora Brown
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Read so far:
Discovering Starlight by Isadora Brown
This is the story of two sisters who have been separated at birth for their own safety as they are princesses and others want them to be dead. One of them knows she is a princess and has been raised with all of the trappings of such a life, the other has been raised as a normal person who has gone through education and now employment and has no idea of who she really is. The story is told from the point of view of 4 people and it is easy to work out who you are reading as their name is the heading of the chapter. It ends with a bit of a cliffhanger that comes a little abruptly but is a great first story in this series so a good hook to go and get the next in the series.

Will add to this review as I read more from this great looking collection of books.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 17 October 2017

Review: Cloaked in Sorcery by T.F. Walsh 5 of 5 stars

Cloaked in Sorcery Cloaked in Sorcery by T.F. Walsh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Werewolf Kalin Asen is part of the entertainment in Bran Castle which should be easy until she meets Axe Vuk commander from the Russian pack and it seems he might be her soul-mate - but he wants her pack dead so she tries hard to ignore it. Axe on the other hand has one mission - to get the ownership of Bran Castle signed over to his Alpha. Problem is it's not for sale so they've got a witch to put a hex on everyone to lose their inhibitions. So is this undeniable attraction between Kalin and Axe real or due to the enchantment? However everything suddenly gets out of control and all the weres lose control of their wolves and start chomping down on the humans in the castle. Can Kalin and Axe survive and get the chance to work out if they truly are soul-mates?

Great story that was very well told.  Loved the premise of the story which had touches of the wolf's hunger where Kalin was hungry and eating food that was being passed around.  The writing was great as I would have expected from this author.  Very enjoyable with lots of drama and the promise of something great in subsequent books.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 16 October 2017

Review: River Rising by John A. Heldt 5 of 5 stars

River Rising River Rising by John A. Heldt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Adam Carson is 27, an Engineer and the eldest of 5 siblings. When their parents disappear Adam starts to search for answers as to what had happened. Finding a secret website he convinces his siblings that they are stuck somewhere in the 1880's and that they should all go and try to find them and bring them back. They split up when there and Greg goes to the Wild West, Natalie works as a journalist and the two youngest enrol in high school. Having no prior knowledge of the area nor the time are in they have to get used to the clothes, events and norms of the time which puts them in situations of danger, adventure and there are opportunities for love on the way.

This is the first book in this new series from the author and was a great start to a new time travelling series involving the Carson family and the adventures that they are involved in. There was plenty of drama, danger and even some romance in places, so it was a very enjoyable read. I liked the contrast between the events and experiences of each of the siblings which was a clever way to cover lots of different stories with a common theme to pull them together. The writing was of a good standard and it was easy to empathise with the thoughts and emotions as the characters went through the events in their stories. I'm looking forward now to the next instalment of their combined stories.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 11 October 2017

Review: Dragon-Born: The Dragon-Born Saga Books 1-3 by K.N. Lee

Dragon-Born: The Dragon-Born Saga Books 1-3, Half-Blood Dragon, Magic-Born Dragon, Queen of the Dragons Dragon-Born: The Dragon-Born Saga Books 1-3, Half-Blood Dragon, Magic-Born Dragon, Queen of th by K.N. Lee
e DragonsMy rating: 5 of 5 stars

Half-Blood Dragon:
Rowen is a lady in waiting and trying to execute her stepfather's plan for her to marry the crown prince and improve the family's status. However she keeps having dreams that warn her that she is going to die in an unpleasant way. Then the dreams come true as she is framed and sentenced to death for the murder of the very prince she was going to marry. She has nowhere to run as the power is all in the hands of the full blood dragon shifters. Can the stranger save Rowen from execution and can she work with her gift and find the courage to set the world on fire?

I loved this story. I can imagine politics in a royal household being like she encountered and I definitely felt for her as the story unfolded and she was forced into situations through no fault of her own. The story was well written and I could definitely feel the emotions for the characters involved in the story.

Magic-Born Dragon:
Rowen is a fugitive and must avoid being captured by the Dragons by hiding in the human realm. All she has is a treasure map to find the Red Dragon and her two powers of persuasion and prophecy. She finds help from a new friend and has to hide from a pirate who is concentrating on vengeance. Then a man from her past warns her and questions this whole journey.

Wow - the plot definitely thickened in this book. I LOVED the story and the way it developed. It was very well told and the writing was easy to understand but also meant that I felt all the complex thoughts and emotions involved in the story. The ending was just WOW!!! I can't wait to find out what happens next in this complex story. You have got to read this.

Queen of the Dragons:
Rowen is a half-blood dragon who was taken by the Red Dragon and seems to have lost her memory. But she finds out some ancient secrets and her memory after a strange black dragon tries to free her (and gets injured in the process). Now they are both captives while he recovers. Elian Westin is a Captain and he and the remnants of his crew are travelling to Withrae where a war between dragons and humans is brewing - and it's not clear which side they will choose when he meets the woman who broke his heart years ago and suddenly the fate of both her and his daughter are at stake.

There was lots of action in the story as a the threads of the story were woven together to come to some fairly explosive conclusions. There were lots of surprises and twists and turns on the way. The story was well written and easy to understand. A very enjoyable read that transported me off to a land of dragons, magicians and humans.

Buy from Anazon

Review: SEALs of Honor: Ryder by Dale Mayer 5 of 5 stars

SEALs of Honor: Ryder SEALs of Honor: Ryder by Dale Mayer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ryder is a SEAL and has spent his career in all sorts of dangerous places but it pales in comparison to when he lost the one good thing in his life - his best friend Caitlyn. When Ryder goes to a medical facility to visit a friend he sees her working there and wonders if he can cope with the torture of her not being his anymore but maybe being just his friend so he doesn't lose her completely. Caitlyn is determined to work anywhere - even overseas if it means she can see him after she screwed up and pushed her best friend away. However when their outpost is attacked and supplies go missing it is the start of something much worse especially when Caitlyn is kidnapped. Can they work out their priorities and move past the events in their past?

A roller-coaster ride of both events and feelings in this powerful story of love and a journey of self awareness. The descriptions of the places they were and the events that were happening were clear and easy to understand. As I read the story I found myself getting more and more into the story and reading faster even though there were times I just wanted to give Caitlyn a shake and tell her to stop being an idiot! Ryder sounded like a really nice guy and was hot too, and she really needed to get her act together (and was incredibly lucky there was no one there to try and heal Ryder. Well written as I would expect,

Buy from Amazon

Review: Prequel (Dragons of Novai #0) by Ashley L. Hunt 4 of 5 stars

Prequel Prequel (Dragons of Novai #0) by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Novai are an alien race who have had no home for centuries but with the help of the A’li-uud from the Albaterra series they are searching for a new home planet. The captain of their large mothership Arguute Hett is working with the A'li-uud and doing his best to face dangers in a determined effort to put down roots and walk beneath the sun even though it may put some in danger it will in the long run benefit the many.

This is the book that joins the Albaterra books with the Novi books and sets the scene quite nicely. A great start to the series and I really hope it continues to be as good as it promises to be.

Download for free from here

Tuesday, 10 October 2017

Review: Magic & Romance by A.K. Michaels and others 4 of 5 stars

Magic & Romance Magic & Romance by A.K. Michaels
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Dragon and the Vampire by A.K. Michaels:

Ronan is a powerful vampire and Director of the Supernatural Enforcement Bureau is surprised to find out that dragons DO exist and that one is being hunted in his area. He has to find her and then protect her with everything he has before a group of black magic practising supernaturals catch her. Starr is a dragon and has spent her life hiding in order to say alive. When she meets Ronan she suddenly feels safe and it becomes apparent they are mates.

Great story with lots of drama and danger in the desperate fight to keep Starr safe. Mixed into that was a love story which certainly has a foundation in physical love too. Good start to the series. Well written and a pleasant read.

Buy from Amazon

Review: The Dragon and The Vampire by A.K. Michaels 4 of 5 stars

The Dragon and The Vampire The Dragon and The Vampire by A.K. Michaels
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Ronan is a powerful vampire and Director of the Supernatural Enforcement Bureau is surprised to find out that dragons DO exist and that one is being hunted in his area. He has to find her and then protect her with everything he has before a group of black magic practising supernaturals catch her. Starr is a dragon and has spent her life hiding in order to say alive. When she meets Ronan she suddenly feels safe and it becomes apparent they are mates.

Great story with lots of drama and danger in the desperate fight to keep Starr safe. Mixed into that was a love story which certainly has a foundation in physical love too. Good start to the series. Well written and a pleasant read.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 9 October 2017

Review: Ruin of the Gods by Erin Hayes 5 of 5 stars

Ruin of the Gods Ruin of the Gods by Erin Hayes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Tessa Forney is a brilliant cop, has a temper, and good at her job. She has the perfect partner in Ralph who does everything by the book. Thing is she has a big secret - sh is actually Tisiphone and a Furie from ancient Greek mythology and thousands of years old. So when she breaks up with her boyfriend of 5000 years after he cheated on her, she vows to take it out on the bad guys. However when other gods start disappearing she has to find them before it it too late.

This was a great story set in both the human world and the realm of the Greek gods. Tessa is definitely a woman with an amazing inner voice which is delightfully caustic and sarcastic - I found myself laughing a couple of times. She definitely has the best of intentions even if the result is not perfect. It was nice to have some of the other gods brought into the story and the name of her pet goldfish was inspired! Well written as always from Erin and very easy to feel and empathise with the thoughts and emotions of the characters.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 8 October 2017

Review: Highland Wolf Clan Boxset books 1 and 2 5 of 5 stars by A.K. Michaels

Highland Wolf Clan Boxset 1 - 2 : The Reluctant Alpha and The Alpha DecidesHighland Wolf Clan Boxset 1 - 2 : The Reluctant Alpha and The Alpha Decides by A K Michaels

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Great start to the series and as book one ends in a cliffhanger it is perfect that they are now in the one book. Can Cameron find happiness after walking away from his planned out birthright and make a success with his life elsewhere? Reviews for each book from before when I read them originally:

Book One:
What a great story with lots of drama, excitement and fun in this story about Scottish wolves who find a home in the US after a family disagreement. Can they find happiness and find their true mates? Story finishes with a cliffhanger - perfect excuse to read the next story in the series (if you needed one)

Book Two:
Cameron is torn between caring for his mate, the pack and his business when even more dangers appear. Can he bring his mate back from unconsciousness? Can he heal the pack after their previous cruel Alpha? Can he even get used to this position as Alpha that he never wanted? More drama in this second book in the series which is developing into an addiction.

Buy from Amazon

Review: The Reluctant Alpha by A.K. Michaels 5 of 5 stars

The Reluctant Alpha (Highland Wolf Clan #1)The Reluctant Alpha by A.K. Michaels

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What a great story with lots of drama, excitement and fun in this story about Scottish wolves who find a home in the US after a family disagreement. Can they find happiness and find their true mates? Story finishes with a cliffhanger - perfect excuse to read the next story in the series (if you needed one)


Buy from Amazon

Review: The Alpha Decides by A.K. Michaels 5 of 5 stars

The Alpha Decides (Highland Wolf Clan #2)The Alpha Decides by A.K. Michaels

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Cameron is torn between caring for his mate, the pack and his business when even more dangers appear. Can he bring his mate back from unconsciousness? Can he heal the pack after their previous cruel Alpha? Can he even get used to this position as Alpha that he never wanted? More drama in this second book in the series which is developing into an addiction.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Koivu by Laurie Olerich 5 of 5 stars

Koivu Koivu by Laurie Olerich
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Koivu was a Hell's Fury champion but is one of the banished demons living as a human. He's desperate to get back because he was the equivalent of a rock star with all it entails and now he is a pathetic human with all the limitations. So to say he is frustrated is a major understatement and his humour is only improved when he meets sexy physical therapist Micki Glass who is still struggling to get over her ex after three years of trying until she meets Koivu. He has a sexy smile and feral eyes and even though he takes crude to new extremes she finds him hard to resist. So when she stops resisting they both embark on a sexual joyride that appears to be saving them both from their pasts and she starts to crave him as if he is the oxygen she needs. Problem is when she discovers what he really is can she love him as he is now and forget his past? Can Koivu convince the woman he loves to give him another chance? There is also the problem that the day of reckoning is getting closer and sacrifices have started to happen - can they find the rest of the Trinity and save them?

Wow - a nice mixture in this book between love, relationships, demons, feelings and sex. It was so nice to read that two damaged people were finding happiness in each other even though it wasn't easy to either of them to handle their pasts, their futures and at times even their present lives. I liked the way the plot and story behind and around the politics and plots in Hell were woven into a love story that definitely had some physical basis as well. The way the plot by the evil force was woven into the human, demonic and even angelic worlds was great and the way they were all seeming to be working towards defeating this plot to get rid of Luther was great. As always well written and everything was clear and easy to feel and understand.

Note: This could be read stand alone but I recommend reading the other books in this series so you get all of the background and backstory of characters already in it. You also need to understand this story involves two consenting adults engaging in very hot sex.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Dragon's Gift by Jasmine Walt by May Sage 5 of 5 stars

Dragon's Gift: a Reverse Harem Fantasy Romance Dragon's Gift: a Reverse Harem Fantasy Romance by Jasmine Walt by May Sage
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Dareena Sellis is just and orphan of a farmer who works as a serving girl at the Hallowdale Inn until fate takes a hand and she is chosen by the dragon huntress and finds herself in the keep swapping her miserable suitor from before to three handsome dragon princes. Seems she is what is described as the Dragon's Gift and is supposed to become the mate and bear the children of the future king of Dragonfell. However the three princes are triplets and she is being asked to choose who will become the next king - and neither of them are willing to concede to the other. Her decision could mean the salvation or the end of the kingdom as the current enemy is close to victory against them. What will she do?.....

Wow - what a lovely problem to have. I loved the story and the premise behind it. It was very well told and I could feel and empathise with the dilemmas and problems she was going through. I'm not sure I could have chosen between them either - they were like one third of a whole person as they each had their own strong points that had to work together to get real results. Well written as I would expect from Jasmine and it was so easy to get immersed in the story and the world that she created. Definitely one to add to your lists of must read books.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 4 October 2017

Review: The Scarlett Legacy: Woodland Creek by K.N. Lee 3 of 5 stars

The Scarlett Legacy: Woodland Creek The Scarlett Legacy: Woodland Creek by K.N. Lee
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

College student Evie Scarlett is a wizard and only wants two things – to marry Parker Drake and leave Woodland Creek and get away from her family who drive her crazy. However it all falls over when dangerous crime boss Hugh Prince is murdered while awaiting trial for the murder of Evie's father and so Evie's family become the prime suspects. Avalon (Hugh's youngest son) arrives and throws the feud between their two families into chaos when a choice is given – either her eldest brother dies or they give Evie to him. Evie suddenly has to find a way to protect her family and win back her freedom which is then complicated when she finds a new power she had no idea she had and finds herself attracted to the very man who has bartered for her.

A pleasant novella that ties quite well into the Woodland Creek world. Well written but would have benefited from more detail and being a longer book.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Fallen Halos by Erin Hayes by Rebecca Hamilton 5 of 5 stars

Fallen Halos Fallen Halos by Erin Hayes and Rebecca Hamilton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The sector is cursed and everyone falls into a Hibernation after just 4 hours of exertion. Rahym runs a lodge so people can rest near to the Door to Hell before they cross the Karakum Desert - otherwise they run the risk of being caught by the fire that suddenly appears or the demonlings that enjoy killing people. He is also half insane after his wife and daughter were killed by fire and hears voices/talks to himself. Then Nakir, old friend and angel in charge of the Halos rebel group appears at his door with a new plan to break the curse. With Nakir is Jennet - friend from Rahym's childhood who disappeared and now seems to be both alive and in possession of witch powers which is being seen as the difference in this attempt at the curse. Can Rahym bring himself to do one more trip into Hell and show them the way?

Wow - an epic tale of bravery, determination, love, loss and passion. The story was very well told, everything was well described and the emotions and feelings were clear and easy to pick up and feel. I love the work of these two authors but the combination of the two was exponentially better and was addictive.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 3 October 2017

Review: Highland Wolf Clan, Book 8, Threats and Surprises by A K Michaels 5 of 5 stars

Highland Wolf Clan, Book 8, Threats and Surprises Highland Wolf Clan, Book 8, Threats and Surprises by A K Michaels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Cameron Sinclair has to relocate to the heart of the wolf pack after receiving letters and emails threatening Chastity and the children. It appears someone is trying to destroy him by taking away that which is precious to him. At the same time Clayr suddenly shows a side of her that was hidden until one of her charges is threatened. She then has to contend with a ghost from her past which sends her wolf crazy - can she work her way through this while the pack is in such danger?

Wow - so much drama, danger, passion and raw emotions in this story with two threads that combine together even though they are not really related. The emotions were very clear and easy to feel and empathise with. (I recommend reading this with wine, chocolate and tissues). There is a lot of drama and men who have feelings and emotions (and express them)! I loved the speech from Shaney - you need tissues for that one.

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 30 September 2017

Review: Dangerous & Moving by Isadora Brown 5 of 5 stars

Dangerous & Moving Dangerous & Moving by Isadora Brown
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Clara Fletcher is picked up by the Transporter but appears to need a doctor right now so he takes her to the nearest hospital - bad move. When the hospital works out who she is and why she needs help they try to detain them both. He should just leave her to her fate but he can't - instead he helps her to escape and they both go on the run as they are chased across the country as they desperately try to make it to California for sanctuary. Can they get there, can they get on, or will they kill each other first.

Wow - a dramatic story with lots of mystery, danger, and drama in this tale which has a love story woven seamlessly into it. I loved the writing which was so clear, the drama which was so dramatic, and the passion which was very easy to feel and experience. II was routing for them the whole time and so relieved when they saw what was clearly in front of their eyes if only they could choose to see it. Definitely recommended.

Buy from Amazon

Review: My Viking Wolf by Gwen Knight 4 of 5 stars

My Viking Wolf My Viking Wolf by Gwen Knight
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Reagan Compton is a wolf shifter who meets Jerrik the shadow wolf shifter and learns that her fiance has a plot to kill her and has hired him to do the deed. Now he has met her, Jerrik finds himself more focused on protecting and wanting her for himself. Also it was never part of her master plan, but she finds that she is falling for her assassin too. Can they sort out the problems created by her fiance and have time to explore this love which has taken them both by surprise?

What a charming story. Hot alpha males, a gorgeous woman who is more than capable of dishing out damage in a fight, lots of danger and a fair amount of passion - what's not to like? Well written as always from Gwen and everything clear and easy to feel and understand.


Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 28 September 2017

Review: Rex by Ashley L. Hunt 4 of 5 stars

Rex Rex by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Rex is the blue skinned warrior and Tribal Elder of one of the kingdoms on Albaterra. He is a fairly recent leader and his more modern ideas make them others wonder if he is really capable of his position. Tabitha is a feisty chef on the Paragon spaceship escaping Earth to start a new life exploring space. The Elders of Albaterra cause the spaceship to crash in a move to get rid of it and Rex finds Tabitha in the wreckage. They then have to work their way through secrets, prejudices, denial, duty and love. Can they work out how to prevent war, death and find a way for two people from separate species to also have love at the end too?

Lots of drama in this story of how two races can get over their prejudices to find a compromise, whilst two people (one from each race) can have a lasting love. There was a lot of passion in this story and it was nice to see the way the love crept up on Rex. Some of the trials became a little tedious but I also understand why they were needed. A lovely story of love against the odds between 2 people from different races.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 27 September 2017

Review: Yahn: Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance by Ashley L. Hunt 5 of 5 stars

Yahn: Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance Yahn: Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Yahn is a tall, blue-skinned Karkastian, and Jessie is a beautiful soldier assigned to explore the planet of Karkast which has recently been devastated by Sarceastians (a race that is determined to conquer the galaxy and use the resources they find to add to their wealth). Everything changes when Jessie encounters the last member of the Karkastian race (Yahn) and decides not to kill him but to protect him. Instead they both become fugitives having many adventures, drama and danger as they get to know each other better and gain acceptance for being together. As part of this journey they end up being known as liberators and gain allies across the galaxy even though they make a dangerous enemy too. Can they survive or will they go one crisis too far in their quest to be together in safety and happiness?

Wow - twists and turns had nothing on this story as they moved from one crisis to another in their need for acceptance and somewhere to call home. There was lots of danger and drama, whist in between there were tender moments of love and passion. It was charming to experience the relationship between Yahn and Jessie develop and blossom into something much more. A great read.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 25 September 2017

Review: Embellish: Brave Little Tailor Retold by Demelza Carlton 4 of 5 stars

Embellish: Brave Little Tailor Retold Embellish: Brave Little Tailor Retold by Demelza Carlton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

George lost a battle with a dragon and can't do it alone so advertises for an assistant. Melitta works as a royal tailor with her mother and longs for excitement and adventure and when she hears of the job opening jumps at the chance. Can they succeed at killing dangerous creatures or is the danger in their attraction for each other?

This was a charming story of a girls determination to have adventure and be taken seriously, and a shoemaker who had the ambition and will to make so much more of himself. It was well written and there was plenty of danger and drama as they worked their way through various dangerous situations whilst also trying hard to ignore the feelings that were developing. The ending was pleasant and there was a HEA even though the road wasn't always as smooth as the characters wanted.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 24 September 2017

Review: The Red Queen by K.N. Lee 5 of 5 stars

The Red Queen The Red Queen by K.N. Lee
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Beth will become Queen of Wonderland in 4 years, but in the meantime she needs to finish University. Problem is she has to cope with her nemesis Alice who has stolen her boyfriend, friends,etc - pretty much everything. Could life be any more miserable and how can she last 4 years like this? So she decides to stop being the perfect Princess and take Alice's attacks no more.

Great story. There was lots of danger and drama with plenty of twists (especially the large one at the end!). The writing was good and I could feel all the thoughts, emotions and fears being experienced by Beth in the story. It was definitely a great start to the series and promises something great going forward. I wonder if there is a magic potion so I can get the author to write faster?

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 22 September 2017

Review: Michael's Mercy by Dale Mayer 5 of 5 stars

Michael's Mercy Michael's Mercy by Dale Mayer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Michael Stanton retired as a Navy SEAL a year ago but when his former commander calls to say that a friend had been killed working undercover he agrees to go undercover to both replace his friend and find out who his murderer was. Mercy worked in Marketing but when she discovers that her long lost little sister has been murdered working as a maid and that there are no leads for the police, she takes leave from work and takes the job her sister held at the time she was murdered to try and work out not only what her life was like but who murdered her too. When she meets Michael she feels suspicious of him - who is he really and why is he working there as a gardener/driver plus she can't help being attracted to him too (not a good move). Can they work together (and resist each other) whilst staying one step ahead of the terrorists without getting caught?

Wow - lots of drama, danger and passion in this story. I liked the way they tried hard to fight their attraction even if it was an impossible task. Everything seemed to be very natural and not fake between them which was very pleasant. I liked that it went faster and faster towards the end as the danger built and I was definitely reading faster and faster as I needed to know what happened next. The book was well written and I could definitely feel the emotions, thoughts and dilemmas of the characters.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 20 September 2017

Review: Venan: Albaterra Mates Book 7by Ashley L. Hunt 5 of 5 stars

Venan: A Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance: Albaterra Mates Book 7 Venan: A Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance: Albaterra Mates Book 7 by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Octavia is a hairdresser on Albaterra and part of her job is to make people feel good about themselves. Venan is the latest Elder to join the council and is finally at the head of the kingdom he has devoted his life to protecting - that would be great apart from the controversial death of his predecessor, his previous imprisonment for his murder, and subsequent clearing. However he still feels criticism and disgust from the people he now leads. All that changes when he meets Octavia with her dark hair, dark eyes and open mind. So he asks her to dance and is even more captivated. She helps him onto a journey of self discovery as he learns about the priorities in life and how to get confidence again in his worth and his abilities, even though she unwittingly ends up in the middle of a family crisis which could prove deadly.

Wow - LOVED this story. It had so much romance and tenderness, which is a lovely surprise considering the serious and boring nature of Venan in the previous book about Zunan and the start of this book. It was very enjoyable how their relationship slowly built into friendship, respect, a form of partnership before it moved to a state of love and certainty of their feelings for each other. Everything was well written and the thoughts and emotions of the characters were easy to understand and feel. I loved the ending, I'm just very sad that it is the last story.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 19 September 2017

Review: Brick, A Wolf's Hunger by Elaine Barris by A.K. Michaels 4 of 5 stars

Brick, A Wolf's Hunger Brick, A Wolf's Hunger by Elaine Barris  by A.K. Michaels
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Brick is the Alpha of the Cross Plains Pack and together with his Beta Duke is trying to find an old book that was created by a group called The Mankind Defence who's aim is to locate and kill all shifters. This book gives the best ways to kill shifters and so it is important it is finally destroyed. Problem is a new resurgence of TMD are also trying to find the same book so it is a race across the country to find it first. On the way Brick and Duke continue their way of bedding every willing female they can as Brick is determined to never settle down with a mate believing he has escape the mythical Hunger that he is convinced doesn't exist. Everything is progressing well with their search until Brick meets Ivy - all Brick can think about then is the smell of magnolia and a need to claim her as his.

What a great story. Lots of danger, drama, and passion in this story of a sightly new variation of the Hunger story. I liked that Ivy was a strong woman who was not of the mood nor the frame of mind to submit to an Alpha (even if she wanted him).

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 18 September 2017

Review: House of Dusk, House of Dawn by Sarah M. Cradit 5 of 5 stars

House of Dusk, House of Dawn: The House of Crimson and Clover House of Dusk, House of Dawn: The House of Crimson and Clover by Sarah M. Cradit
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

** This is the very last book in the House of Crimson and Clover series - you HAVE to read the others first or this will not make any sense to you. **

All the threads will come together in such a way that nothing will be left open, and yet there are new avenues that open up and there will be the promise new stories in the future, just not in this particular vein. It had a format that meant there were sections that covered different sets of people or times but it did make sense. It was nice to finally read about some happiness for some of these characters, and the exchange between Nicholas and Mercy made me punch the air with joy!! Well written as you would expect from Sarah and whilst it could have been very sad to end the series I actually felt happiness for the characters and pleasure that for once something was going to go right. I'm now looking forward to the new avenues that became apparent.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Lunar Shadows by T.F. Walsh 5 of 5 stars

Lunar Shadows Lunar Shadows by T.F. Walsh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Zana is half human and half goblin so does not fit into either world. She lives in the world of Tapestry and makes an income trading as a fortune teller in the market run by Klurt. Behind some of her fortunes are the prophetic dreams she has and their usefulness comes to a head during the Lunar Festival when there is tragic death in the community. She also has to deal with an ex still not taking no for an answer, and the appearance of a hunky Guardian from the kingdom called Shadow who has come to visit his Uncle. She then has a premonition about Shadow's death and becomes determined to prevent it all costs. Shadow wonders if Zana was involved in the murder and then when she announces that she has had a premonition of his death, he can't work out if her insistence on protecting him is sweet or insulting. As Shadow and Zana close in on the murderer they find themselves in danger. Will they survive this investigation and will they still have each other at the end?

Wow - this was a roller coaster of action, romance, and passion. Well written and easy to understand it was an enchanting world of goblins fighting each other whilst also finding love. It was easy to imagine the characters, world and situations that they found themselves in as everything came to life on the page. I'm looking forward to the next story in the series now so I can understand more of their world.

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 14 September 2017

Review: Blood Princess: The Chronicles of Koa BookThree by K.N. Lee 4 of 5 stars

Blood Princess: The Chronicles of Koa Book Three Blood Princess: The Chronicles of Koa Book Three by K.N. Lee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In this third book the lines have been drawn between the vampires in both worlds as Lera builds an army and tries to seize the Lyrinian throne. At the same time Koa and the rest of those trying to avoid the war have to survive angels, demons and even worse - Death. Koa is also confused when she is described as the Blood Princess by some of the characters yet she has no idea what this means!

Lots of drama and action in this episode in the story of Koa. There were a lot of elements that you needed to keep on top of in order to understand the significance of the events and their connections. We still never understand what the Blood Princess is but hopefully that will become clear in the next instalment. The writing standard was good I just felt it needed to fill in more about what the Blood Princess actually is.

You needed to have read the previous books in the series first.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 12 September 2017

Review: Beauty's Beasts: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Fairy Tale by L.C. Hibbett 5 of 5 stars

Beauty's Beasts: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Fairy Tale Beauty's Beasts: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Fairy Tale by L.C. Hibbett
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Izzy (or Belle) is a woman who does not take crap from anyone, and after serving in the forces she has what she believes are the skills to be able to back that up. When a local mob has her brilliant scientist father a prisoner in their headquarters, she doesn't hesitate to jump on her motorbike and go on a rescue mission to retrieve him. However it's not so simple when she gets there, and she ends up caught with her father in the middle of a supernatural war between the brooding Alexander Blackwood and his pack, and the mysterious Julian Gastone and his house.

Wow - lots of testosterone, passion and danger in this story. I liked the story of the sisters, the families, their associations and how it all came to light for Izzy in a series of events and surprises from the past. Whilst I have read some reviews complaining that there was some explanation of paranormal beings that was not necessary I disagree - it added to the story as it reinforced the fact that Izzy knew nothing about this world and the people within it. The passion and tenderness in the encounters between Izzy and the Blackwood pack members was very well written and touching at times. It was great to read a story with one woman and many men who just wanted to look after her in every way. Well written and easy to feel and sense the thoughts and emotions involved in the story.

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 10 September 2017

Review: Rocking Standby by Cassandra Lawson 4 of 5 stars

Rocking Standby Rocking Standby by Cassandra Lawson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Gage is a up and coming rock star and is on standby trying to get to his mother who seems to be in a panic about something. I'm sat next to someone sweet but then find out she is deceitful and a gold digger. Bentley lost the phone number of the sweet guy she met on the flight and she was considering going out with him but she was so wrong - he's a lead guitarist of a rock group (and she doesn't date musicians) plus when they meet by chance calls her a gold digging whore! OMG - he might be hot as hell but no way is she going near him now.

This story had a fair few twists and turns in the path to true love. The addition of the supporting characters from family and the band added to the story and gave it some character. There was a lot of hot sex and passion mixed into the story which added some life to it. I did understand her reticence particularly after the way they met and the reaction the next time they saw each other. However I felt it went on a little too long and it became irritating in the end (hence the loss of one star). Generally the book is well written and I could feel and empathise with many of the thoughts, fears and emotions experienced by the characters.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Keeper Under Fire by Jennifer Malone Wright 5 of 5 stars

Keeper Under Fire Keeper Under Fire by Jennifer Malone Wright
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Olivia Estmond has made a decision - she has had enough of waiting for the Keepers to attack her family, so she now wants to go on the offensive and attack them instead. This is especially important after the Keepers are told by their Empress to kill her entire family. Aiden was a high-ranking soldier in the Keeper army, but has now changed sides to be with Jack his best friend. He has also developed an attraction to Olivia that just cannot be denied.

Wow - so many twists and turns in this dramatic story. It went from a fairly quiet period where Aiden was just a double agent to all out war. Then as a backdrop was the developing relationship between Aiden and Liv which was definitely a will they/won't they situation. It was well written and very enjoyable. Now I just NEED to know how everything develops and what happens next.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 8 September 2017

Review: Dragon Got Your Tongue by Julia Mills 5 of 5 stars

Dragon Got Your Tongue Dragon Got Your Tongue by Julia Mills
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Savannah is the Queen of a pride of lion shifters, and has given up trying to find a mate as she is sick and tired of crazy male cats. Hayes is a dragon shifter and is sick and tired of the atmosphere in his clan - it's full of loved up couples. Savannah's pride is threatened by another shifter group and Hayes's clan are called in to help - however a lot more will happen than just flying fur or scales.

Another great PDA story. In this one that is an attraction that is impossible to ignore, lots of sexual activity and a fair amount of violence between the aggressors and the lions and dragons defending. Well written and very easy to feel and empathise with everything in the story. It had lots of excitement mixed in with the occasional twists and turn.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 6 September 2017

Review: Volistad: Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance by Ashley L. Hunt 5 of 5 stars

Volistad: Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance Volistad: Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Joanna Angeles has been trained to go to an alien world and prepare it for human colonists due to arrive in 10 years time. However she is not so confident when she awakes to find herself on a frozen world with an artificial intelligence in her head to keep her company and stop her going insane. Volistad is a warrior and hunter known as a ranger and a member of the Erinye. He sees a god arrive on his world and finds that he will have to go against his leadership to find out more about this god. They both get caught up in ancient dark secrets and have to work together to get past everything. Can they save the Erinye and make the kind of environment that the incoming humans AND Erinye can live together in harmony?

This was a great story that added a futuristic touch with the AI in her head and the nanobots helping with everything. The building relationship between Joanna and Volistad was nicely written and I enjoyed the sections about learning the language. Everything was well written and clear/easy to understand. I could feel the thoughts and emotions of the characters and it was easy to empathise with them.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 5 September 2017

Review: Dakota's Delight by Dale Mayer 4 of 5 stars

Dakota's Delight Dakota's Delight by Dale Mayer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Bailey is getting over losing her husband and after witnessing a murder she runs into traffic to escape and is almost run over by Dakota. Not knowing if she is hurt or not Dakota has to find her, and then finding out why she was running he persuades her to move into the compound. Bailey feels forced into accepting his help by the circumstances which gives her a problem - he gives her thoughts and feelings she thought she could never have again - can she stay safe and not give away her heart?

This was a story containing lots of drama and action interwoven with a touching romantic story. The writing was such that everything was clear and easy to understand. I could feel emotions from the characters and was gunning for them to find a good conclusion to this story. Very enjoyable.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Paranormal Dating Agency: Her Purr-Fect Surprise by A.K. Michaels 5 of 5 stars

Paranormal Dating Agency: Her Purr-Fect Surprise Paranormal Dating Agency: Her Purr-Fect Surprise by A.K. Michaels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Connie loves her best friend Cyndi so much that when she notices how sad she is, she decides to find her love to fill the gap in her life - no matter the cost. So she contacts Gerri at the Paranormal Dating Agency online and offers everything she owns - including herself as a slave - in order to make her friend happy. Mitch Mackay arrives at the Silver Streak Pack both angry and confused - as Beta he should be hunting rogues not visiting the pack healer at another pack. Then he smells her - she is his soul mate who is both skittish and innocent - then she faints. Can he get her to recognise that he is her fated mate even though he is a cougar and she is a wolf? Then rogues attack the camp while the Alpha and others are away - can they beat them and survive?

Wow - a tale with lots of ups, downs, danger, romance and a HEA at the end. There was plenty of action in this story and as usual for this author it was well written and easy to feel and empathise with. I liked the mixture of a cougar and a wolf in this story and it was great that the fighting difference was covered in detail so it really felt that Mitch was different.

Please note this is only available on AMAZON.COM at the moment as it is a Kindle Worlds book. Folks in other countries can change their Kindle to the US store, buy it, then change it back.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 4 September 2017

Review: Whispers in the Dark by Gwen Knight 5 of 5 stars

Whispers in the Dark Whispers in the Dark by Gwen Knight
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Maddie is a mountain lion shifter and in the past was involved with a werewolf called Axel who left suddenly and broke her heart. With the discovery of a dead packmate of Axel's on her ranch there is a shadow that is threatening both her and her sisters. With the passing of her father, both the ranch and her sisters are her responsibility. So she is faced with an impossible choice - trust Axel or die. Can he step up and save the mate he abandoned?

Wow - lots of action in this story. The relationship aspects between the two were intriguing when it came down to understanding why he left her the first time. Mixed into the danger and action it was a focus of the story on how to tell who you can and cannot trust. I'm sure we all have that in our own lives even if it isn't as high stakes as this story. It was nicely told, well written and quite addictive as the story developed.

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 2 September 2017

Review: Venom by Madisyn Ashmore 4 of 5 stars

Venom Venom by Madisyn Ashmore
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Abby March fell for ripped and protective Caleb Crane when he seduce her on his Hollywood Estate. It seems Caleb fell for Abby just as hard but he discovers a secret that could completely destroy their romance. Can he fight for her or will he turn away and let everything fall to dust?

It helps if you have read the first book in this series but it is not completely essential. This second book was slow to start but soon developed into something more fast paced and dramatic. There were times when I wish I could give Abby a slap and tell her to pull herself together, and I felt that detracted slightly from the story. Apart from that it was hot and intense in places. Overall it was enjoyable, was well written and clear and easy t understand. This book ends in a cliffhanger so don't be surprised.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 1 September 2017

Review: Dragon Shadow by Alicia Wolfe 5 of 5 stars

Dragon Shadow Dragon Shadow by Alicia Wolfe
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Many years ago the Fae came to the human world and subsequently that world changed. Jade McClaren and her sister Ruby make their living stealing magical items from bad guys in New York and ensuring they are sold on to good people only. However Jade is not just human – she is also a half shifter. During one of those thefts she attracts the attention of both a number of bad people and one of the Fae-Knights (Davril Stormguard). Davril is currently on a mission to get to the bottom of something which could destroy the Fae-Lord (and maybe the world as we know it). Jade might know the secret to stopping it, but she wants nothing to do with him as he is basically the same as a cop (especially as he handcuffs her and then puts her in prison). However she has a problem – she needs to work with him so she can saver her sister and hopefully clear her own name at the same time. During this they will encounter demons, vampires, witches and worse things – can they learn to trust each other and save everyone?

WOW – LOVED this story. It was full on action throughout the story interspersed with more tender moments where emotions were more involved. The magical elements were well described and felt that they were necessary in the story and were relevant and not just there for the hell of it. Everything was well written and clear and easy to understand and feel. The trust between them were well written and it was nice to see it build, then because it was still fragile have a few hiccups, then build again (very much like real life). Now I need for the author to write the next instalment in the story as I want to know both what happens in the story AND what happens next between Jade and Davril – surely they will become romantically involved at some point in the future (please!!).

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 31 August 2017

Review: Terrors That Tingle by Wesley Thomas 5 of 5 stars

Terrors That Tingle: A collection of short horror storiesTerrors That Tingle: A collection of short horror stories by Wesley Thomas

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


A great collection of scary short stories that sometimes make you think "Could that happen?". The writing was very good and at times a joy to read as I felt it was of a higher standard that many other authors. I'm really not into this genre of book but his writing is so good I really enjoy the stories , so give it a try.

The Message - a writer lives in a remote location enjoying the solitude.
Great descriptions to set the scene and a great twist at the end. Loved it.

The Doll Maker - a tale of a gifted doll maker.
Good story, well told, and I loved the ending.

The Stairs - two cousins go on an adventure with surprising results.
Great story, well told with a surprise ending. I'm convinced this is the only story I've ever read that used the word "Discombobulated"

Stage Fright - the tale of a young man and his audition for a part in the play on the stage.
Good story of what happened. Great level of detail describing the scene, thoughts and feelings being experienced.

Dementia - the story of an old lady with dementia.
Great twist in the story at the end that bizarrely made me smile.

Boxed - a visit to a hotel goes spectacularly wrong.
Wow - now that definitely fed into most people's secret fears. Well told and very easy to imagine yourself in their position.

The Bar - Brad is determined to visit an invitation only bar.
Well that definitely wasn't what he (nor I) expected. Story contains bad language if you are sensitive to that.

Revelation - a mother reveals something disturbing from her past to her son.
Didn't see that ending coming.

In the Basement - a young boy discovers something in the basement.
Nice story - almost makes you wish it was true in some ways.

Bloody Baby - a tale of a very disturbed young man.
Wow - it was definitely disturbing.

Intruder Alert - Cassie battles with an intruder in her house with an unexpected end.
Interesting. Quite sad really.

Marnie - Marnie sits at home during a storm and has an intuition something is going to happen.
Lots of suspense in this short mystery.

Waxy Nightmares - a wax museum becomes a mystery.
I enjoyed this one which was quite interesting.

Horror Goggles - Paul is excited to go to a new VR experience in town to try it out with unpredictable consequences.
Good story which can definitely be imagined as real one day.

Helicopter Ride - a helicopter trip up a mountain has an unexpected result.
Wow - I think I'll stay on the ground down here.

Scarecrow, scarecrow - do you find scarecrows frightening? So does Greta.
Formidophobia has never been so real.

Buy from Amazon

Wednesday, 30 August 2017

Review: A Perfect Man by Cecilia Dominic 3 of 5 stars

A Perfect Man A Perfect Man by Cecilia Dominic
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Karen Hardeman attends Foothills University to study writing but her first assignment in Intro to Romance is a joint one and in it she has to find the perfect hero. Unfortunately her allocated partner for this assignment is overconfident and annoying as hell. Seth Sayers is at the University to escape his family and find a new direction. However he ends up humiliating Karen by rewriting her manuscript from the heroes POV. As the work on the collaboration goes on, Karen starts to trust Seth both with the manuscript and her heart. But Seth needs to resolve the questions around his father's death before he can concentrate on himself let alone anything else.

I liked this story and as a first foray into a romance without any shifters etc it was ok but I did find it a little boring in places. Hopefully his will all be better for her next story like this.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Reach for the Sky by Gwen Knight 5 of 5 stars

Reach for the Sky Reach for the Sky by Gwen Knight
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Werewolf Skylar Callahan has taken the step of ignoring her pack and family and instead has been working towards a career as a public advocate for werewolves and harbours political ambitions. However there is currently something dark in her life as a stalker s determined to claim her as his. Wyatt Turner is a hot Alpha who needs everything to be done to his satisfaction. Now his wolf has decided she is his intended mate and that he must protect her at all costs - even though she seems determined to keep him at arms length. Can he get close to her to keep her safe as well as win her over?

Wow - lots of danger, drama and intrigue in this fast moving story. As I would expect from this author, everything was well written, and I could feel and empathise with all thoughts, feelings and emotions. Definitely a great start to the series and a good taste of things to come.

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 28 August 2017

Review: Fugitive by Magic by Jasmine Walt 4 of 5 stars

Fugitive by Magic (The Baine Chronicles: Fenris's Story #1)Fugitive by Magic by Jasmine Walt

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Fenris had fled 3 years ago from being the Chief Mage and had been magically changed to be a shifter. While trying to adjust to his new life he ends up in a small human town called Abbsville. However he soon gets involved with Mina the local veterinarian who is also in trouble. Can they both learn to trust each other?

Great story, well written and very clear and easy to understand. I definitely found myself lost in the story. I just need to know what happens next now.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Claimed by Magic by Jasmine Walt 5 of 5 stars

Claimed by Magic Claimed by Magic by Jasmine Walt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Fenris and Mina are start to get used to their feeling for each other when she receive a letter telling her that her inheritance is about to be forfeit unless she goes back to confront the reasons she left in the first place. Can Fenris at her side helping her be enough to get it back from her family - especially when he meets someone dangerous from his past?

Lots of drama, danger and excitement in this continuation of the trilogy. Well written as I would expect from this author, and I could empathise and feel all the emotions involved in this complex tale.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Knight: Bridge & Sword: Apocalypse by JC Andrijeski 5 of 5 stars

Knight: Bridge & Sword: Apocalypse Knight: Bridge & Sword: Apocalypse by JC Andrijeski
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Allie and Revik have set up a camp with their alliance members within a hotel in New York. Then a mystery virus that only kills humans hits San Francisco and at the same time some key loved ones start disappearing. Add to that the fact that the Lao Hu is constantly attacking the alliance and Shadow is still lurking out there life is not simple for both Allie and Revik as they are forced to new find ways to work together effectively. They then find a list of humans that are marked as important in the Displacement so Jon sets to work with Wreg to find them and bring them into the protection of the hotel whilst training them.

WOW. This story was full of twists and turns and if you thought you knew what was going to happen next it quickly changed and so you were completely wrong in your assumptions. There was non-stop action for large sections of the book apart from some breaks more intimate moments that were sensitively done and added to the picture and character of the main people in the story. Everything was very well written and all the events, actions and emotions involved were clear and easy to understand and feel as you read the story. Now I just need JC to write the next book in the story so I can be put out of my misery!

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 26 August 2017

Review: Nadar by Vi Voxley 4 of 5 stars

Nadar Nadar by Vi Voxley
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Mara James is a Terran Union Fighter Pilot and is as angry as hell - after the humiliation of a failed mission her leadership is set on making enemies of one of the most dangerous warrior races. Her change to make a name for herself comes in the unexpected form of their fiercest warlord - Nadar Brengen - problem is is is also smoking hot!! Nadar is the kind of guy who when he sees something he wants he won't take no for an answer - and he badly wants Mara. Can they both deal with the spark of passion between them, whist handling their respective leaders who seem hell bent on a damaging war between the races. Can they protect an ancient shrine whilst finding ways to change the views of both races that are clouded in historic hearsay?

Wow - this story had lots of danger, romance, passion and even compassion in places. The story was sensitively told and the characters were well described and explored so we knew and understood them. I could feel their hopes, dreams and frustrations as the story built up to the dramatic climax. Promising start to the series.

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 18 August 2017

Review: Zuran: A Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance: Albaterra Mates Book 6 by Ashley L. Hunt 5 of 5 stars

Zuran: A Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance: Albaterra Mates Book 6 Zuran: A Paranormal Sci-Fi Alien Romance: Albaterra Mates Book 6 by Ashley L. Hunt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Phoebe is a human nurse based in Ka-lik’et (which is in the Albaterran kingdom of Dhal’at) and is considered as one of the best. When she loses an important patient events quickly spiral into critically important events.

As a nurse, Phoebe has spent her career helping people. She knows it’s her calling and throws herself into tending to her patients heart and soul. In the city of Ka-lik’et, she is considered one of the best attendants amongst those in the human colony. When she loses the most important patient she’s ever had, though, a fuse is ignited that sends her spiralling into a course of events she never could have imagined. Zuran is a reformed criminal and the Interplanetary Affairs Officer for the Albaterran kingdom of Dhal’at. He meets the curvy, intelligent and incredibly compassionate Phoebe and is awestruck by how amazingly good a person she is. When the Novai who have also colonised Albaterra are struck with a unknown disease they are both thrown together in a desperate battle to save the colonists, ensure it does not spread to the other planet's inhabitants. As part of that journey they discover things about each other (and themselves) that had been hidden for a long time. As part of that journey can they saves their world, themselves, and find out that they actually need each other too?

I absolutely LOVED this story. You don't need to have read the earlier books in the series (however you may well find you have to go back and read them all). The story had lots of drama, danger, romance and mystery in this tale of love and how it can creep up on you when you are not expecting nor necessarily looking for it. Everything was well written and I could feel all the thoughts, frustrations and emotions felt by the characters in this story.

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 15 August 2017

Review: Allex by Lisa Lace 5 of 5 stars

Allex Allex by Lisa Lace
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Priya is human and after a bad breakup decides to enrol as a mate for the Auxem but she is rejected thanks to genetics. She leaves the centre but is attacked by muggers so ends up hiding from them in a nearby shuttle intending to leave when it is safe. Unfortunately she actually finds herself on a much larger ship heading for Auxem as a stowaway. She then encounters Allex - a doctor and the fifth son of the king who is hiding from his brothers to get relief from their controlling and overbearing affection. They end up having a deep attraction for each other, and even though Alex knows he cannot her her he is determined to have her as his mate.

Wow - this is a great story that you don't have to read the earlier books in the series in order to enjoy but it does help. There was lots of drama and excitement in the story which contained an impossible to ignore love for each other. I could feel and sympathise with Allex's annoyance at the way his family treated him. The relationships between all of the characters were easy to to pick up and understand and the developing relationship between Priya and Allex was quite enchanting.

Buy from Amazon

Review: Creatures: A Limited Edition Collection by A K Michaels by Monica La Porta

Creatures: A Limited Edition Collection of Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance Creatures: A Limited Edition Collection of Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance by A K Michaels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Shade - AK Michaels - 5 of 5 stars

Shade Shawcross is the Alpha of the Silver Lake pack and seems to have a insatiable hunger that is beginning to consume him. His Betas (and best friends) suspect they know what might be happening and persuade him to look through the pack archives to confirm what it is and find out the cure. Shade eventually agrees and they start to go through the recently digitised archives. They are all shocked at what they find and when Shade finally lets his wolf take control to try and find his soulmate. This is not going to be easy as she is on the run from her pack and Shade has three bothers after him after their scheming sister told them a story that was incorrect. Will he find his mate or will either of them die from the others chasing them?

Wow - lots of action and excitement in this Wolf's Hunger story. After a slightly slow start the action just kept coming and the danger kept piling up on them both. Well written as always and all the thoughts, dreams, emotions and frustrations were all easy to feel and experience as you read this story.

The Fifth Moon's Dragon - Monica La Porta - 5 of 5 stars

Dragon Sol (High Lord of Solaria) has returned to marry his brides but ends up having to fight off an assassin. Jade is a member of the Assassin Academy and loves what she does. This mission however becomes dangerous for a whole list of reasons when their roles are reversed and their hearts and lives are both at stake.

I loved this story - drama and action from the very start and continued throughout the story. I defy anyone to read this and not want or need to know the rest of the story between Dragon and Jade.

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 10 August 2017

Review: Poison and Potions: a Limited Edition Collection by Erin Hayes by Debbie Herbert by K.N. Lee by Rebecca Hamilton

Poison and Potions: a Limited Edition Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy CollectionPoison and Potions: a Limited Edition Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy Collection by Erin Hayes

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


How to be a Mermaid - Erin Hayes

Tara has dreamed about being a mermaid since forever so takes a year out to wear a fake tail and be one in a professional group of performers. Then she meets a real one called Finn and starts to become a real one. When she tries to find him to stop the transformation she gets caught in the middle of a war between the land and sea - her only escape is to learn to be a real mermaid.

A charming story with a gentle love story mixed in with the being a mermaid transformation and the impending war. Well written, clear and easy to understand. An enjoyable light read.

Soul Stalkers - Norma Hinkins

Cursed Magic - Margo Bond Collins and Rebecca Hamilton

White as Snow - May Sage

Murder by Magic Catherine Vale

Soulless Monica Corwin

The Princess and the Vampire - Thea Atkinson

What Devil's May Come - Rachel McClellan

Changed - Debbie Herbert

Tara's world had recently changed dramatically from it's original course. Before she was a witch who was happy to go along with her coven's focus on world domination, then she was in love with an immortal called Andrew and had finally seen the truth - determined to extricate herself from the world she was in she went to a final coven meeting hoping this was he start of her new future.

Drama in spades in this story that sets the scene for the Appalachian Magic series of books by Debbie. Proof that life (and love) never run smoothly for all races but that it is possible to get a HEA in the end. Well written and emotions clear and easy to empathise with.

Ink - Melanie Karsak

Academia of the Beast - KN Lee

Allyn is a witch who lives if the slums of Eastria having escaped the hunters. Just before the Winter Winds trap everyone in their homes for the season she goes with friends to the Winter Ball and meets the crown prince of Elastria and she has hope for a brighter future until her ex-boyfriend tricks her and she is tuned in for the bounty on her head.

She then finds herself a prisoner in a strange castle that has ghost servants and talking walls. Can she tame the prince's mysterious twin and can she cure the curse?

This was a great retelling of Beauty and the Beast. It was well written, and I could definitely put myself in the position of the characters and relate to their feelings and emotions.

Blue Moon - Morgan J Parker and Nathan Squiers

Origins - Rebecca Hamilton

The regent needs a wife who is a witch who can give him a child to take over protecting the sector from the Ravagers. Problem is he is infertile so keeps banishing his wives to be killed rather than admit he has a problem.

Alec is a Hunter who searches for witches for the regent to marry and is looking for the next person. Adira is a witch that that Alec finds but cannot bear to hand her in immediately so gives her 13 days to prepare for the tests she will have as the regent's chosen bride. Alec helps to train her in combat in preparation for handing her in. Will he have the strength to hand her in or will they both give in to the pull between them?

I loved this book and the twists and turns in the story. A couple of times I became quite teary eyed so could definitely sense the emotion in those sections. Definitely recommended.

Moon Canyon - Conner Kressley and Rebecca Hamilton

Buy from Amazon