Thursday, 29 December 2016

Review: The Quantum Door by Jonathan Ballagh 4 of 5 stars

The Quantum Door The Quantum Door by Jonathan Ballagh
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book.

Brady and Felix live with their Mom next to a wood that is mysterious and now has a fence and signs warning them to stay away. However the brothers have notices strange lights and noises happening at night and so feel compelled to cross the fence.

What they find there are some dark technological secrets and objects they could never imagine. Just like Pandora's Box - they can never go back to ignorance once they experience the mysterious wood and all it contains.

This was a really great story that worked hard to activate your imagination and get you emotionally involved in the story. The descriptions of places, people, thoughts and emotions were well done and very clear and detailed. I loved the characters - I won't give away my favourite so I don't spoil the book for you. Definitely worth a read and don't let the technology and science bits scare you away - it's done at a high enough level that you won't feel lost or confused.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 27 December 2016

Review: An Education in Business: A Somerset Novel by Heather C. Myers 5 of 5 stars

An Education in Business: A Somerset Novel An Education in Business: A Somerset Novel by Heather C. Myers
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

Avery Montgomery is striving to prove herself in the male dominated world of business in order to show she is worthy to succeed her father and run his company when he retires. She has no real world experience but she did Summer Internships at the company and graduated from Somerset University with a honours and has a Master's degree in Business.

She sees the opportunity to invest in a Supernatural Registry application but she has a rival - Lucas Cruz - an Alpha shifter and self-made billionaire with lots of experience. To make it worse Avery's fiance Rick Ashton and both her parents are doubting her ability to get this contract due to her lack of experience.

How bad can a girl feel - she is a virgin in the boardroom and the bedroom and she appears to be taking flack from her so called loved ones for both.

Suddenly, Avery is being doubted by fellow businessman and her fiance, Rick Ashton, her mother, and her father's company. They all say the same thing: Experience is everything. Then Lucas offers to educate her in both areas - does she take him up on his offer and can she keep it purely business?

I loved this story and the premise behind it. I felt for Avery when it appeared that no one but Lucas was prepared to believe in her and give her support. Well written and very clear and enjoyable.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: Bite Me C.C. Wood 5 of 5 stars

Bite Me Bite Me by C.C. Wood
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Donna Perry had the perfect life - a great job in advertising and a nice apartment. Then everything came crashing down and she was living in a small apartment and working as a cocktail waitress - plus she was having serious issues not hating all of the male species. Then she met Conner Savage - gorgeous guy and very addictive - just one small problem - he is a Vampire. Is he mad or do they really exist? Can she stay in the supernatural culture with Conner or leave and go live a normal life? (and hey what is normal anyway??)

This story was a bit slow to get going but it grew on me and before I knew it I was hooked as I started to read it faster and faster. Well written and a good start to the series - I just want to know what happens to them next now.


View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 26 December 2016

Review: The Fallen Vampire by Beata Blitz 5 of 5 stars

The Fallen Vampire The Fallen Vampire by Beata Blitz
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed a review copy of this book.

An accident at a birthday party reveals Chloe's psychic abilities and she is condemned to burn to death as a witch. Following the rift and arrival of Supernaturals to rule the Earth she attempts to flee across the war torn area around her homeland, but could now end up dragged into the conflict between the Drakonin dragon shifters, the night flying Vampirii Cloud Lords and the subjugated human population. In that escape she comes across the wounded Vampirii prince Aethan - can she save both herself and him?

This was a great start to a new series. The descriptions of the world and what happened was good and it was crafted in such a way that you were told enough detail while having enough gaps that they can be filled in during subsequent books. The emotions and feelings were well described and I could definitely start to feel annoyed with Chloe and her dogged love for her best friend. I can't wait to read the next instalment now.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: Fallen Ashes by T.F. Walsh 5 of 5 stars

Fallen Ashes Fallen Ashes by T.F. Walsh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Fallen is the dragon shifter in Tapestry and wakes up in a cell - but also appears to be bound to a Queen's Guardian named Saber who is in the next door cell. Fallen is on everyone's hit list but now has a marking that means she has to find her life mate in four weeks or else life in her world will be destroyed.

Saber has a dark secret that turned him into a shadow assassin which has resulted in him being exiled from the Kingdom. He somehow has to get free, rescue his step-rather and remove this binding to the woman in the cell next door before he can prove his innocence.

Can Saber and Fallen be able to resolve all of their problems, survive AND save the rest of the world?

This was a lovely story which was well written. It was told with a good level of detail in order to make it easy to understand the thoughts, feelings and emotions that the characters were going through. I was definitely pushing for them to succeed at the end of the book.


View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 24 December 2016

Review: A Vampire's Christmas Carol by Cynthia Eden 3 of 5 stars

A Vampire's Christmas Carol A Vampire's Christmas Carol by Cynthia Eden
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A vampire based retelling of "A Christmas Carol".

Ben Prescott hates Christmas - he spends his time dishing out justice killing the bad guys while missing the woman he loves (Simone Laurent) that he lost on the night he was turned.

In this story he has three visitors - a demon, a ghost and a shifter (there has to be a bad joke in here somewhere) who try to change Ben's ways (and remove his melancholia) so that he can have a better future than the dark one he is currently heading for. Will he heed all that he has been told and change his ways (and so have the happy future he wants)?

A sweet story for the Christmas season. A little irritating in places but it was ok.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: Fallen: A BBW Vampire Blood Courtesans Romance by Ever Coming 5 of 5 stars

Fallen: A BBW Vampire Blood Courtesans Romance Fallen: A BBW Vampire Blood Courtesans Romance by Ever Coming
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is the story of Paige - to the outside world she has had a charmed life and has a great future ahead of her. However her Dad is head of a religious cult, is abusive and the Golden Boy of that cult, raped her and then tried to kill her. Even worse her Dad insisted it was all her fault. So instead she's on the run with her daughter Daisy trying to stay one step ahead of the cult.

So as the options dry up even with the help of a friendly neighbour and the cook at a diner, she decides her only option is to become a Blood Courtesan - after all her father called her a whore so she may as well live up to the name.

I enjoyed this story. It was nice the way the story was stand alone but did dovetail nicely into some characters from other stories in the collection. It was well written and I could empathise and understand the thoughts and feelings that the characters were having.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 23 December 2016

Review: Light Fantastique by Cecilia Dominic 4 of 5 stars

Light Fantastique Light Fantastique by Cecilia Dominic
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Marie St. Jean is known as a great actress but it is isn't just a matter of talent as she uses her soul in producing her great works. Johann Bledsoe is a violinist who has made some poor choices in life but it currently fascinated by Marie. They are both stuck in Paris which is surrounded by the Prussians.

Also stuck with them are Iris McTavish (an aspiring Archaeologist), Professor Edward Bailey (man who is developing the Aether side of things), Patrick O’Connell (an Irishman who is helping Edward) and Doctor Chadwick Radcliffe (an African American medical doctor).

The Focus of this story is all about Marie and what has happened in the past. There is also progress on figuring out the Eros Element.

This was well written and there was a lot of expansion on what was given as hints in the past, but we now get the facts and understanding of the emotions that came to play at that time. I felt by the end of this book both the characters and us as the readers understood them much better. I did get a little lost at times and that is why I only gave this a 4 and not a 5.


View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 19 December 2016

Review: Faye Magic by Jo Michaels 5 of 5 stars

Faye Magic Faye Magic by Jo Michaels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Morgan LeFaye Woodenson plans to marry Sawyer and live a blissful life. However when the Regent's wife dies suddenly, she is suddenly forced from her home, and has to compete with all the other 19 year old women in a battle (based in an arena) where the surviving competitor wins the position of his wife. Can Faye hold on to her dreams and not become become something that she despises?

This was a different story to what I expected (which was good). It was well written and had lots of drama and intrigue. There were plenty of surprises and it was a great new twist on the Othala Witch story.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: The Wolf Who Stole Christmas by C.E. Black 5 of 5 stars

The Wolf Who Stole Christmas The Wolf Who Stole Christmas by C.E. Black
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

Kellan Archer just wants a quiet life but it appears his new neighbour Joanna Mackay and her son might have other ideas. Giving him cookies and trying to get him to feel the spirit of Christmas is not going to work and he'll do his damnedest to make sure it doesn't.

This was a really sweet story that gets you right to the heart - I have to admit I cried reading this story so read it when no one is watching! Well written and very enjoyable.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 16 December 2016

Review: Taken by Laxmi Hariharan 5 of 5 stars

Taken Taken by Laxmi Hariharan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Jai is the son of the Mayor of Bombay and is an honourable, fierce soldier who has vowed to protect the city. Aria is from London and lost everything when that city fell. She saves Jai from a hybrid and their budding romance is kindled.

This is a complex story with detail of the places, people and emotions that all build together into a vivid picture of this story. The trials and tribulations that they both go through are clearly told so that you can live it with them. The building love between them both and their realisation of it is beautiful to experience. Great ending to the story.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 15 December 2016

Review: Once Upon a Midnight Solstice by Gwen Knight and C. E. Black 5 of 5 stars

Once Upon a Midnight Solstice Once Upon a Midnight Solstice by Gwen Knight
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

Death by Mistletoe by Gwen Knight
Never kiss beneath cursed mistletoe - you just know from the word "cursed" it's not going to be pretty for either of them. Can Rumour and Knox solve all the killings and survive the curse themselves?

This is a lovely shifter story containing love, passion, magic, betrayal and a wished for HEA. I loved the way the story developed and the interplay of all the characters and the politics that also needed to be navigated.

The Alpha's Christmas Mate by R.E. Butler
Sugar Pierce is a snow leopard shifter and agrees to be her sister's Maid of Honour. Maddox Haynes is an alpha lion shifter and is the Best Man at the same wedding. When they meet will sparks fly or will they choose their packs and deny any attraction they may feel for each other?

This was a lovely story nicely told. I enjoyed the ending which showed how people can work together to achieve the right thing and it can be easier than they probably thought.

The Wolf Who Stole Christmas by C.E. Black
Kellan Archer just wants a quiet life but it appears his new neighbour Joanna Mackay and her son might have other ideas. Giving him cookies and trying to get him to feel the spirit of Christmas is not going to work and he'll do his damnedest to make sure it doesn't.

This was a really sweet story that gets you right to the heart - I have to admit I cried reading this story so read it when no one is watching!

Celebrate Me by Kristen Strassel
Delaney arrives unable to speak due to trauma, and Shea is damaged in his own way due to a difficult younger life. Can they find happiness and joy by helping each other?

This was a lovely Christmas story showing how love can conquer pretty much all. Carefully told and with the right amount of detail.

Lir's Lady: A Fada Shapeshifter Story by Rebecca Rivard
Shifter Lir has returned to claim his fae mate via a gamble with a passion filled night - will everything work out the way he wants or will he have to go away alone again?

This was a lovely story with lots of feelings and emotions getting involved with feelings of duty affected by out of date impressions.

Chamber Music by DJ Shaw
Can Celestine play her cello solo in the concert and can she also solve the connection she has to her magical cello?

A strange little story but quite pleasant. I like the ending but it was a bit rushed I felt at the end and could have been done nicer in more detail.

A Kiss for Solstice by Elizabeth Allyn-Dean
Zelda's sister is being kept a hostage in order to force her to do things for their step-mother - can the kiss between Dax and Zelda be the start of a solution to this problem?

This was a great story - a nice length for it to be quite involving and well told so I could feel the drama and emotions. A nice twist on the evil step-mother class of story. I think we all need our own Dax.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 13 December 2016

Review: Nightmares of Caitlin Lockyer by Demelza Carlton 4 of 5 stars

Nightmares of Caitlin Lockyer Nightmares of Caitlin Lockyer by Demelza Carlton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Six months ago, 23 year old Nathan's sister Allegra was brutally murdered. Now he has set aside his philandering ways and is only focused on revenge against her killers. Late one night Nathan finds himself on the same beach his sister's mutilated body was found only he finds another tortured girl - and she is still alive. After saving Caitlin's life he becomes both a suspect and the only person who can protect and calm her - can he dig into her memories to find the people that did this?

Wow - this is different to the usual books I have read from this author. It's definitely a thriller of a story which twists and turns until towards the end everything becomes clearer only to get mysterious ready for the next book. This was well written and quite enjoyable.

View all my reviews

Buy on Amazon

Review: Caught in the Rush by Eva Chase 5 of 5 stars

Caught in the Rush Caught in the Rush by Eva Chase
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book.

Fiona Wilde has always lived up to her last name but she is determined to do the only job she is qualified for - protecting LA stars from the Glowers. She takes her thrills from casual encounters with the opposite sex and always leaves before anyone could possibly leave her - it's just safer for her heart that way. A perfect opportunity presents itself to her in Will who is the older brother of the current teen star she is guarding as he visits just for spring break - no need to leave anyone as he will be returning to college.

Then the Glowers start a concerted attack on the teen she is guarding and life gets a bit interesting in general for Fiona as things between here and Will also appear to be hotting up - can she cope with the pressures from both sides or will she crack and relapse into past behaviour?

I loved this story. It had lots of action at times and I loved the way the relationship built between Fiona and Will challenging both of their normal behaviours. Well written and a great second book in the Glower Chronicles.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 11 December 2016

Review: Spell Slinger by K.N. Lee 5 of 5 stars

Spell Slinger Spell Slinger by K.N. Lee
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Yara Ortuso is part of a family of Spell Slingers that have kept the West District of Allarya since the beginning of time. However King Loric thinks differently and sets out to kill all the Spell Slingers.

Yara vows to end the reign of King Loric after he executes her father for being a Spell Slinger. however the skeleton key has other ideas and sends Yara and her companion Hero (a crow shifter) into the distant future where King Loric is still in power.

Can Yara finally kill King Loric and have a change for peace and happiness or will her soul end up in the Soul Haven for all eternity?

I loved this story. It was well written and had lots of drama and intrigue and I had no idea how it was going to end but that it all seemed to be going to an unhappy ending,

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Saturday, 10 December 2016

Review: Halcyon by Demelza Carlton 5 of 5 stars

Halcyon Halcyon by Demelza Carlton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

Allie is sick of war and grief so has signed on as a maintenance worker for the Complex hoping for a lasting peace between the Metas and Humans. However she is also on an assignment from the Lorn government to monitor the Complex for a suspected saboteur.

Galen is the only survivor of the historic Poseidon shipwreck. He only has thoughts of vengeance on the siren Halcyon who is the Meta (in fact a Mer) who in his mind, killed more humans than any other Meta during the war (including his parents). He has been reliably informed that Halcyon is on Lorn so he is determined to kill as many Mer in the Complex as necessary until his parents' murderer is dead.

I loved this story. It was well written and had enough plot twists to keep you on your toes as you read it. I can also relate to the Meta's love of chocolate.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 9 December 2016

Review: Song of the Ancients by Sandy Wright 3 of 5 stars

Song of the Ancients (Ancient Magic #1)Song of the Ancients by Sandy  Wright
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book.
Samantha Danroe doesn't believe in magic but is about to have to believe in it and learn about it really fast before she is killed. Nicholas Orenda is a sixth-generation witch and is generally grumpy and terrified of being weak by loving someone. Nicholas takes on the task of teaching Sam about magic in order to try to keep her alive - the alternative is death for her and the gates of the Underworld are opened.

I'm in two minds about this book. In some ways it was written well, and in other ways it was mixed up and unclear. Sam is so confused and yet at the same time underhand about knowledge that I spent about half of the book just being very annoyed with her and wanting to give her a good slap and tell her to pull herself together. The descriptions of the spells, ceremonies etc were very good though.


View all my reviews

Thursday, 8 December 2016

Review: The Perfect Mate by C.E. Black 5 of 5 stars

The Perfect Mate The Perfect Mate by C.E. Black
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Susan stops in Savannah, Georgia after spending a year on the run from a man who took over her home pack. Her focus is on freedom and safety not finding a mate but there is just something about Paul that draws her to him. Can she ever become what she thinks he wants and can her home pack be free of a tyrant?

I lovely story that shows the differences and nuances of a mate bond and how it can be misunderstood. Plenty of action and drama in places which makes you want the to succeed and have some peace/happiness. Well written and very enjoyable.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: The Amnesia Paradox by Noelle Greene 5 of 5 stars

The Amnesia Paradox (Unlikely Spies, #1)The Amnesia Paradox by Noelle Greene
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
Rose Slater wakes up in a third world county and has absolutely no idea how or why she is there. A stranger shows up and helps her when she needs him. They seem to have a weird bond that means they know each others thoughts which appears to reinforce his story that they were childhood sweethearts. She is just confused, he is definitely distrustful of her alleged lack of memory and also unable to look at her without wanting to get much much closer to her.

Jackson Lee loved Rose but is confused as to why she now looks right through him. When insurgents accuse her of spying and they miss the last flight out he is her only hope - even though they are 8000 miles from home.

I loved this story of the confused woman far from home with the danger and the strong man who does everything he can to keep her safe - even when she is so stubborn she doesn't help their situation. It was well written and I could definitely relate to the characters and their situation.


View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 6 December 2016

Review: Charmed by the Salem Witch by Debbie Herbert 5 of 5 stars

Charmed by the Salem Witch Charmed by the Salem Witch by Debbie Herbert
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Sarah is a student in her Freshman Year at the Women’s College of Salem hoping to meet other students of The Craft as well as make some friends. She joins a coven with some girls in her hall but she then notices strange things and the others seem to have a problem with her but he has no idea why this is all happening. Tanner is a cute IT guy working for the University and helps to uncover a dark secret from her family. Sarah has to learn to trust Tanner to survive the year and Tanner is going to have to accept his powers if Sarah is going to survive events when the blood moon rises at Samhain.

I loved this story. It had lots of intrigue and drama and led you one way only for it to change at the end. Well written and very enjoyable.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: Resurrected: A Vampire Blood Courtesans Romance by Kim Faulks 5 of 5 stars

Resurrected: A Vampire Blood Courtesans Romance Resurrected: A Vampire Blood Courtesans Romance by Kim Faulks
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Kol could not bare for Nova to die a victim of the Holland brothers and so he turned her into a Vampire like himself. However she is not a vampire like him at all - she was supposed to crave the blood of humans but in fact she is craving the blood of other vampires. Kol has told her to tell no one about this but she can see he is scared about what has happened.

This was a great story with some twists and turns. I can definitely see this needs a 4th book in the series. It was a bit short and the bonus dragon story was good but more Kol and Nova would have been better.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: Forgotten by Heather Marie Adkins 4 of 5 stars

Forgotten Forgotten by Heather Marie Adkins
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Dajia Bray's parents were assassinated by the current Regent of Sector 14 so she lives the rest of her life protected under the guise of a normal human woman (she just practices a little Magick in private).

Elliott Pierce is the Regent's heir and lives a life of luxury while being unprepared for the day he has to take over as Regent.

The sector is in chaos as everything becomes cold and dark Dajia and Eli are thrown together as they struggle to save their world and everyone in it.

This is a nice story with plenty of drama as the old Regent's health starts failing. It was nicely written I just felt it was a little chaotic in places.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 5 December 2016

Review: Eros Element by Cecilia Dominic 5 of 5 stars

Eros Element Eros Element by Cecilia Dominic
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book.

Edward Bailey was heartbroken after a scheming woman called Ivy broke his heart. He how lives a very regimented life of scientific principles with structure and predictability. Iris McTavish's father is a world-renowned Archaeologist and she has been assisting him for years when he dies - she needs to find a way to gain some kind of income so when an invitation to a University meeting is delivered for him Iris attends as his assistant while he is indisposed - all she has to do is keep his death a secret to avoid certain ruin.

At the meeting it becomes clear that Iris and Edward are to join a small group of acquaintances on a Grand Tour in Europe to search for an element that will help harness the power of aether. As the 2 more scientific of the party Edward and Iris become closer as the travel to Paris and then Rome. Can Edward keep a handle on his anxiety and can Iris keep her father's death a secret?

This was a lovely story about a journey to find knowledge across borders with danger, intrigue and just a little bit of romance. It was nice to gain some appreciation of how it was in that time for women with the need to wear gloves, have a chaperone, and keeping one reputation intact.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 4 December 2016

Review: Happy Howling Holidays by Harmony Raines and C.E. Black 5 of 5 stars

Happy Howling Holidays - Shifters in Love: Romance Collection Happy Howling Holidays - Shifters in Love: Romance Collection by Harmony Raines
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

Bear in Furry Armor - Emma Alisyn
Hedgewitch Amberely was raised to accept she would only marry a human or warlock however she gave her heart years ago to bear shifter Jayson Conroy. Jayson has had a secret crush for Amberely for years too and has decided the time is right to claim her as his mate no matter what her shifter hating mother says or does.

This is a great novella that I loved from start to finish. It definitely shows that true love can and will conquer all.

Bearly Christmas - Becca Fanning
Bear shifter Tye is fresh out of med school and expected to join a residency program with a top hospital. Melanie is the same as Type but also going against her father's expectations which is for her to settle down now and be a wife and homemaker. After a bad start where Tye knocks into her and covers her with coffee will they ever recover from that bad start?

I loved this story. It was nice to see a story showing the prejudice between humans and shifters and how that can affect the shifters. A well written story of love at Christmas time.

A Roaring Fire - Kim Faulks
Victor is Dragon-born within the sign of Aquarius and is feeling heartache and helpless after his brother Zadoc returns bloodied and beaten. Then he finds four female shifters hiding handmade dolls and carved wooden wolves.

A lovely Christmas story that is sure to warm your heart.

Cowboy Bear’s Christmas Surprise - Scarlett Grove
Connor Milton has given up searching for his mate until he meets Mia Royce when she crashes her car into a tree on his ranch - with just one problem - she doesn't remember who she is. Then when she remembers who she is and accepts him as her mate she also remembers the bad men she was running from. Can Connor defend her or will he lose this one shot at happiness?

A lovely story of happiness for Christmas that leaves you with a warm glow.

Beary Merry Winter - Kate Kent
Bear shifter Zane Harlan is raging with lust when he meets Anne Williamson at an ugly Christmas sweater party. Anne is only interested in having a baby and will do anything to have one. Can they reconcile their differences?

A lovely story of misunderstandings and making it turn out ok in the end.

Her Dragon’s No Angel - Julia Mills
Tomas Youngblood is a dragon and currently snowbound. He takes refuge in a cave and find it stocked with supplies. He then finds another person taking shelter there - Holly the Christmas Angel. They are trapped as the largest blizzard for a hundred years rages. Can they cope with the attraction they feel for each other?

This was a sweet love story that was very enjoyable.

A True Alpha Christmas - Alisa Woods
Mia is at college studying for a business degree. She is also trying to hide the fact that she is a shifter from everyone (including her Mum) as 6 months ago Lucas rescued her in an alley and claimed her for his mate, Mia's heart belongs to Lucas but in the human world she doesn't have a wedding ring and her mother wants to know why. How will things turn out when these two worlds collide?

A lovely story with romance, crossed wires, matchmaking and love. Makes you feel all gooey at the end.

The Cowbear’s Christmas Shotgun Wedding - Liv Brywood
Kate Wrangler has avoided her family's ranch in West Yellowstone but has to return when her father dies in order to sell the run down property. Cowboy bear shifter Logan Grant is the heartbreaker who ruined her life and she is determined not to fall for him and his kisses ever again. Logan decides he will help her to restore the ranch but also wants to restore the bond that used to exist between them. He is also determined to claim her as his fated mate.

A good old fashioned love story with crossed lines, danger and pride. I liked the story and it had a nice Christmassy ending.

Bear My Perfect Gift - Ariana Hawkes
Caleb Ridgeman lives on Stonybear Peak bu leaves there to go find a mate in the shifter town of Green Fields. Paige Buchanan is travelling back from visiting her parents with her abusive boyfriend Kurt when they stop at a motel overnight when Caleb (who is a stranger to her) offers an escape. Can Caleb keep them both safe from Kurt?

That Kurt was a nasty piece of work so I was definitely pulling for Caleb and Paige. A nice story which was nicely told and well written.

Prey - Chloe Cole
Amalie Baptista is a nature photographer and is saved by a stranger (Liam Albrecht) from a wolf attack. Now Alpha Liam wants her and may have to risk everything to have her.

Nice plot of a rescue against the "rules" when a werewolf meets their mate being attacked, and the political fallout afterwards. It was an peasant little story.

Santa Paws - Harmony Raines
Dermot is a Paramedic and has agreed to work this Christmas so others can spend time with their family. All he really wants is a mate so he can have his own family to spend time with. Vicky is a reindeer shifter with absolutely no Christmas spirit - can Dermot help her find it?

It's a cute story but very corny. I guess it's purpose is to get you more into the Christmas spirit which it did a bit. Not the best story in this anthology for sure.

Bear Winter - Michele Bardsley
Bear shifter Gabe Pearson was engaged to Hope Wheeler but after visions of his death where she is there she brakes it off with him. Unfortunately he later has to ask Hope for help in finding a mother and her kidnapped child so they can save them from the abusive ex-husband/father. Will they find the boy and his mother, and maybe themselves at the same time?

A lovely story with some drama mixed in with love showing that you can conquer most things if only you talk to each other and try. Nicely written and quite enjoyable.

A Dragon’s Gift - C. E. Black
Hannah Rhodes has to spend the holidays alone as she can't spend it in the arms of the man she loves. Kye Sorensen is Hannah's boss and has kept her at arms length for years. A mistake puts her where he never expected to see her - maybe things might work out well?

I loved story. A great story of love and acceptance. Well written and enjoyable to read.

Andre - V. Vaughn
Nessa Harrison agrees to sing in her sister's band but discovers that even though she has no intention of getting involved her voice harmonises perfectly with Andre and his touch does things to her - however he is not a human. Andre Lindquist recognises that Nessa is his true mate but he has bad communication skills due to years in the wild. His music is still great and when they write a song together they need to decide if it is a lot more than just a song but a song from their hearts.

This was a lovely story and makes you feel all warm inside.


View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 2 December 2016

Review: Bayou Wolf by Debbie Herbert 5 of 5 stars

Bayou Wolf Bayou Wolf by Debbie Herbert
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
Tallulah Silver is the only female shadow hunter in the Choctaw tribe and is struggling to handle a loss that almost destroyed her. Payton Rodgers is a werewolf who devotes his life to protecting the pack, but when mauled bodies are found in the bayou he starts to think she might be right and that they were caused by a wolf. Can Tallulah risk opening herself up to love again and where will Payton decide his loyalties lie?

This was a lovely story about a dangerous situation all mixed up in a sweet love story. Well written and containing it's fair share of drama.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: Name Your Demon by Dima Zales 5 of 5 stars

Name Your Demon Name Your Demon by Dima Zales
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

This is an anthology of some first books in several series as well as stand alone books. If nothing else this is a bargain compared to the combined price of the books.

The Thought Readers by Dima Zales
Darren has a unique ability - he can go into his own personal version of reality into something he calls "the quiet" and he can then explore his surroundings while everyone else stays still. He thought he was unique until he sees another person - a girl. This how he learns that he is a Reader and is not as unique as he thought.

I loved this story. It had lots of action and drama. Everything was written well and when it ended I just needed to know what happens next.

Vengeance Be Mine by Louisa Lo
Megan Aequitas is the first ever hybrid between a vengeance demon and a trickster. She is trying really hard to keep her trickster half under control and concentrate on the co-op program she is doing at the University of Demonic Studies. She finds a plot to unleash a very fundementaist force that means that most creatures would be deemed too unworldly to exist. Can she balance her sides well enough to save everyone?

I quite liked this story but it got a bit manic and weird in places.

Secrets of the Hollows by Nicole Morgan
Xavier Currington is the leader of the Hollows and lurks in Los Angeles' crime riddled streets. Elizabeth Hawthorn has escaped the life of her abusive step-father and is working as a waitress while living in a dive of a motel. Xavier sees Elizabeth and is drawn by her beauty and innocence. Can he save them both from danger from different directions and can they have a chance at happiness?

I loved this story. It was a little slow to start as it explained the background but it was then an enchanting mix of love against the odds, demons and bad people who needed to be stopped.

Discern by Andrea Pearson
There is to be a university-led expedition and there is a competition among the undergraduates to be involved. Austin is talented and seems the obvious choice, but there is also Nicole. She struggles to control her magic and needs advice and encouragement from her friends and professors. Who will win the competition to be included and will this trip of a lifetime be their last?

This story was fast paced and had lots of action, adventure and magic. Oh there may be some romance in it too. This is the first book in a series and you may well want to read the rest after finish this one - I certainly did.

Wings of Hope by Pippa DaCosta
Mammon is the Prince of Gree and has the services of a half-human, half-demon called Muse for three nights from her ruthless owner Da'mean. During that three night period Mammon gives Muse hope for freedom in her soul and although demons are harsh a violent Muse has a more formidable weapon - humanity.

I didn't enjoy this as much as the ones up to now and I'm not sure why. The writing was good and I understood what was occurring it just didn't gel with me.

Angel Vindicated by Viola Estrella
Abigail is a Demon Control Agent is tainted by thing she had with half-breed demon Simeon Keller five years ago. She has avoided him ever since but the stain of it is still on her character. A demon rebellion is threatening the existence of Angels and she is forced to trust him to help her stop it.

This was a nice story which had drama and a bit of romance. I felt so sorry for Simeon at times.

Feral by Laxmi Hariharan
Maya feels that she doesn't fit even though she loves Luke she needs to go and find out about her roots so she can be happy with him. She travels into the city and gets a job while investigating her birth family. Will she meet someone else or will she find herself and come home to Luke?

I really enjoyed this story. The situations and emotions were well described and done with enough detail and gravitas

Tutoring the Wolf by Jacqueline Sweet & Devon March
Cassie Blake is studying at the Penrose Academy of Magical Excellence and just has to keep her grades up and she can then have her dreams come true upon graduation (including marrying her handsome and successful fiance). However she is forced to be a tutor to werewolf Malcolm Sheppard who would rather live like a rock star than study. Even worse is how he looks at her and the effect that has on her.

This was a lovely story and I really liked the ending.

Wolves: I Bring the Fire Part 1 by C. Gockel
Amy Lewis is travelling to her grandma's house but is being chased by something bad. Loki is in a prison cell but has no idea what he did that was wrong. Amy and Loki need to join forces to outwit those that would stop them. Loki is also trying to remember something but can't quite get it (but knows it is important).

I didn't enjoy this very much - it was a bit too chaotic for my tastes. It was well written just not in a style that I enjoyed.

Soul Ties by LJ Swallow
Ava retrieves souls from demons and this should be just like the others. However Kier is a Nephilim (half angel half demon) and very good looking. A human called Dahlia also has a strange hold over him so Ava needs to get to the bottom of that. Having discovered what happens to the returned souls Ava finds herself in the middle of a battle between good and evil (with lots of blurred lines). What will she choose (and bare the consequences) - betray Kier or join him in the fight?

I liked this story - it had lots of drama and excitement as well as mystery and romance added in.

Romancing the Null by Tina Gower
Kate Hale is fateless so statistics are her profession. She has finally made it to the Accidental Death Predictions Department but an oracle has delivered a death prediction and insisted she help him to solve it. Latent werewolf Ian Becker is the police liaison assigned to her department and is Kate's only hope. However he is a loner with a dodgy past. If Kate can't solve this before it is predicted to occur she'll lose her job and have the blood of an oracle on her hands/conscience.

I absolutely loved this story. It was well written and had me hooked pretty much all through the story. As this is the first story in the Outlier Prophesies series I need to get the next one now to know what happens next!!

Crimson Shadow: Noir by Nathan Squiers
Xander watched his abusive step-father murder his mother when he was a boy and has been trying to kill himself ever since but is always denied that relief. He is then faced with a choice between a continued miserable life as a human or continuing his lineage and becoming a vampire prodigy. He might have a little support but is this new life any easier than his old human one?

I liked some parts of this story but others were a little too dark for me but overall it was enjoyable.

A Touch of Darkness by Yelena Casale & Tina Moss
Cassie Durrett deals with excruciating pain that is a mystery to doctors while working at a New York diner. Then Gabe walks into the diner and tells her it is because she is a mythical creature - no way! Then his predictions start to come true and she ends up travelling across the country looking for answers. Can she find the answers and keep her heart intact?

I liked this book. It was well written and clear to understand.

See You In Hell by Demelza Carlton
Melody Angel is working as a temp for HELL Corporation trying to find out Lucifer's current evil plans so they can be stopped. However the CEO Luce Iblis is hot and determined to claim her body and soul.

I liked this charming story about Demons and Angels.

The Sorcery Code by Dima Zales
Blaise is a member of Sorcerer Council and has developed Gala - a beautiful and intelligent being created in the Spell Realm. Blaise's former fiancee Augusts sees Gala as an aboination and it determined to destroy her even if she has to use ruthless warrior Barso to help her.

I nice story and definitely the start of an epic. I liked the merge of sci/fi and fantasy.


View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 1 December 2016

Review: Romancing the Holidays: 7 Enchanting Christmas Reads by Jolene Cazzola 5 of 5 stars

Romancing the Holidays: 7 Enchanting Christmas Reads Romancing the Holidays: 7 Enchanting Christmas Reads by Jolene Cazzola
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of Hollywood Snowfall by Heather C. Myers which is included in this book.

Erin Sanders is a student who works part time at Chinese Mann Theatre in LA. Johnny Barker is a film star who just wants to watch a film starring anyone else and to not have the public and paparazzi annoying him.

They meet and strike up a friendship with the potential to become more.

I lovely story that was very enjoyable. It was well written and easy to feel the emotions involved. I enjoyed the way their friendship developed and how they overcame any barriers.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: Mostly Murder: Till Death by Lawrence Block and JC Andrijeski 5 of 5 stars

Mostly Murder: Till Death Mostly Murder: Till Death by Lawrence Block
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

I loved this collection of short stories - it was very enjoyable and a great taster of the various authors. I liked the Q&A with each of them so I got to know them more.

Nice Guys Finish Last - JC Andrijeski
Bobby came back from being in Asia with seemingly the perfect wife. However things are not right as objects start disappearing. No much he loves her, he is determined to find out the truth.
I loved this story. I had no idea what the real story was until the end, but I'm stil not sure if that is the real story or not.

Forsaking All Others - Chris Patchell
Mally and Jack Gardiner's tumultuous marriage is rocked after a home invasion.
I loved the twist on this. Great story.

Starter - Samuel Peralta
A couple visit a starter home and it inspires memories and ghosts of the past.
Not sure if I like this or not - it's clever but very short.

Pride - Eric J Gates
Marriage can end abruptly even if you have worked hard at it. This is the story of when FBI Senior Special Agent Thompson is so focused on solving a particular case near his retirement and what happens as a result.
I really liked this story - it was clever and it was all pulled together at the end when you finally understood what had happened.

Two Faces - H B Moore
Newlywed Vivian Wood discovers that her husband disappears every so often without explanation and she realises he might not be the man she thought she was marrying.
I loved this story. It was very original and iked the way the whole situation was handled by Vivian.

Loving Frankie - Patrick Fitzgerald
Faith's husband Frankie could be rough but he could also be gentle.
Lovely little story that you don't understand the full picture until the end.

In Sickness and in Murder - B A Spangler
Murders are revealed that appear to have been committed by the woman he loves - how far will he go to protect her?
Clever story building up to a time when he can no longer ignore what has happened.

Nun of Your Business - Jerilyn Dufresne
Sister Mary Jordan has a big problem - not only are her family a big Mafia family, but she discovers she already has a husband who is in another Mafia family. As you can imagine it is not an accepted thing in a convent. After thought she will escape the situation with the help of a series of lies, murder and chaos - not something you associate with a Nun.
This is a very clever story that could definitely be the start of a series - loved it.

The Long Haul - Josh Haynes
Mary had an affair a year ago but she receives a letter that threatens everything they worked for. Can they put the past behind them or will everything unravel?
I liked this story - it was clever and it was only at the end that you found out what had been going on.

All Secrets Lead to Lies - Anne Kelleher
Three detectives, 2 dead husbands and a love triangle. A tale of a prison, drugs, and a mystery to solve.
I liked this story and they way the layers of it built up. I was a little disappointed with the end as there was still a mystery left that hadn't been solved which needs to be covered (maybe in a later book?)

As Good as a Rest - Lawrence Black
A story of two couples on a holiday touring Europe and what happened.
Nice story with a twist in the middle and a twist at the end. Well written as always by Lawrence.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 28 November 2016

Review: Sea Cursed: Sector 13 by Amy Lee Burgess 5 of 5 stars

Sea Cursed: Sector 13 Sea Cursed: Sector 13 by Amy Lee Burgess
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The normal Trumbull family has ruled Galveteen since a bloody coup where they killed the witch co-regents, changing the balance between those with and without magic so that witches are hated and persecuted. The mark of Othala on a witch means they are now seen as Sea Cursed as they have to save everyone on the island from the Ravagers by renewing the spell of Reutterance which is believed to kill them.

Demetria was a normal person until she was marked with the mark of Othala and discovers she is actually what she reviles - a witch and is now sea cursed. She may be the most powerful earth witch but she has no idea how to be one.

Logan has grown up knowing he is a sea witch and is proud to get the Othala mark. What he was not ready for was his treatment by the Regent and his elite guard. Then he meets Demetria and they are instantly attracted to each other. Will they get through the challenges facing them, exploring these feeling they are developing for each other and save Galveteen?

I loved this story. It was well written and I was definitely hooked as felt all the thoughts and emotions going through Dem as she struggled to learn magic in a very short time and them both as they developed their feelings and relationships. Definitely a great part of the collection.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 27 November 2016

Review: Hollywood Snowfall by Heather C. Myers 5 of 5 stars

Hollywood Snowfall Hollywood Snowfall by Heather C. Myers
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Erin Sanders is a student who works part time at Chinese Mann Theatre in LA. Johnny Barker is a film star who just wants to watch a film starring anyone else and to not have the public and paparazzi annoying him.

They meet and strike up a friendship with the potential to become more.

I lovely story that was very enjoyable. It was well written and easy to feel the emotions involved. I enjoyed the way their friendship developed and how they overcame any barriers.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: Baby, It's Cold in Space by Margo Bond Collins 5 of 5 stars

Baby, It's Cold in Space Baby, It's Cold in Space by Margo Bond Collins
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Solar Express by Erin Hayes
Kear’yl is a Vzekian fearless space ranger but has always avoided her human stepbrother Houston. Her father is the Chief Commander and she just cannot understand why he married Huston mother. Her stepmother has made plans for a family Christmas on Fl’steri. So (much to her displeasure) Kear’yl is given the job of picking up Houston from Earth and delivering him to Fl’steri. Can she get them both there in one piece and will she be able to fight her attraction to him?

I really enjoyed this story. In places it made me laugh out loud, and in other places I was able to enjoy the relationship developing between Kear’yl and Houston. A well written romance story, set in space with Christmas thrown into the mix.

I will read the others and review them later.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: The 12 Dares of Christmas by Leigh W. Stuart 3 of 5 stars

The 12 Dares of Christmas The 12 Dares of Christmas by Leigh W. Stuart
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Lauren Hall is aiming to rise enough money to build a new no-kill animal shelter in her town. As part of that she dares a man she has just met to strip for the local knitting society to raise funds.

Gabe Nicholson is her brother's best friend and has only one wish in life - to get the job of a lifetime he is applying for in order to launch his career. However instead he is faced with his best friend's little sister handing him stripper pants and eggnog flavoured body oil.

In a series of dares between each other will Gabe manage to get the job of a lifetime, the animal shelter built, and the woman of his dreams in his arms?

This was a sugar sweet Christmas story. I liked the clarity of the writing style and enjoyed the overall premise of the book however I found the tit for tat dares went on a bit too long and thought they should have stopped before they actually did.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 24 November 2016

Review: Noble Secrets by Cecilia Dominic 5 of 5 stars

Noble Secrets Noble Secrets by Cecilia Dominic
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed an copy of this book.

Pauline Donahue has left London and has taken a secretarial job at a small university. She is given the job of being a nursemaid to Professor Edward Bailey to keep him on task after a broken heart leaves him unable to function. His brother is the Duke of Waltham (Christopher Bailey) and he is amazed at her power to save them both from their pasts.

When the man from Pauline's past finds her, her new life seems to be falling apart. Can Christopher save the woman he has grown to love and sort out what happened in her past?

This was a great prequel for the Aether Psychics series of books by the same author and for my part has made me consider starting the series. The writing was clear and all descriptions and emotions/feelings were clearly written. I definitely felt myself carried away in the story and was hoping that there would be the ending I felt they deserved at the end.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 22 November 2016

Review: Wicked Legends: A Dystopian Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy Collection by Rebecca Hamilton 5 of 5 stars

Wicked Legends: A Dystopian Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy Collection Wicked Legends: A Dystopian Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy Collection by Rebecca Hamilton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Moon Coven by Connor Kressley (This is a review on the updated version of Moon Coven)

Julia Fairweather's coven has been at war with Roman Blackwood's for generations. However love takes no notice of little things like that. To make things worse Julia's coven have decided to cement their domination over Roman's, she will have an arranged marriage to a warlock from another family.

Roman is determined to keep his distance and Julia is struggling to accept that she has to do her family duty and marry a stranger. Can they resist the pull between them, or will their families tear the area apart in their war?

I loved this story. I could see and hear everything in my mind as I was reading it. I found it addictive and ended up reading it faster and faster as I got nearer to the end of the book. Definitely a Romeo and Juliet but with a nicer ending.

I will review more stories in this book as I get to them.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: Life in Neverland by Heather C. Myers 4 of 5 stars

Life in Neverland Life in Neverland by Heather C. Myers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Neverland does not contains live people generally, just souls. However the person who collects the souls is alive but it is very much like being in a cage with no escape.

Remy Cutler is alive and the captive of The Magistrate - she needs to find a way to save herself and stop The Magistrate from getting control over all three realms in Neverland. If The Magistrate is victorious, Remy will never be able to return home and will have to spend eternity transporting souls to her. More than anything, Remy desperately wants to have the ability to decide for herself what her fate will be, while also being able to be with James Hook. She will never get the opportunity to decide for herself if Neverland is her home and to be able to tell James Hook how she feels about him.

This is the last part of The Neverland Trilogy.

I enjoyed this story a great deal. Everything was worked out between all the parties in ways you may not have guessed, and Remy finally had some choice and closure. I felt empathy with many of the characters in the book and could understand their feelings and motivations. A well written and enjoyable book.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: Moon Coven by Conner Kressley 5 of 5 stars

Moon Coven Moon Coven by Conner Kressley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book.

Julia Fairweather's coven has been at war with Roman Blackwood's for generations. However love takes no notice of little things like that. To make things worse Julia's coven have decided to cement their domination over Roman's, she will have an arranged marriage to a warlock from another family.

Roman is determined to keep his distance and Julia is struggling to accept that she has to do her family duty and marry a stranger. Can they resist the pull between them, or will their families tear the area apart in their war?

I loved this book. I could see and hear everything in my mind as I was reading it. I found it addictive and ended up reading it faster and faster as I got nearer to the end of the book. Definitely a Romeo and Juliet but with a nicer ending.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: Always a Bridesmaid by Cecilia Dominic 5 of 5 stars

Always a Bridesmaid Always a Bridesmaid by Cecilia Dominic
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed a Reader Copy of this book.

This is a short story and is a great one to read. The characters are well described as are the thoughts and feelings they are going through. Definitely worth reading if you want a short quick read. It felt like the start of a series or a novella on the side of an established series.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 20 November 2016

Review: The Alphabet Game. The Complete Alpha Series: A to X, Y, Z by Andie M. Long 4 of 5 stars

The Alphabet Game. The Complete Alpha Series: A to X, Y, Z The Alphabet Game. The Complete Alpha Series: A to X, Y, Z by Andie M. Long
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a collection of small books that together make a series. This is all of them together in one ebook.

Stella Mulroney has been working towards getting a job at Gregory & Sons so she can find out what her multi-millionnaire stepfather is doing so she can bring him down. She catched the attention of Gabriel 'Gabe' Gregory who is trying to understand why she needs revenge as he has a better idea - playing 'The Alphabet Game' with her. Stella then starts to work at a sex club in New York owned by her stepfather and Gabe's father Arnie Gregory but he is not keen for any of his secrets to be revealed.

As she and Gabe get towards the end of the alphabet things work towards a conclusion and there is a dramatic end to the story.

I didn't enjoy this book very much - it has lots of hot sexual content, but the story behind it it a little crazy and a bit hard to accept as credible. I did like some of the detail in the story but it didn't really gel for me.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: Forbidden (Sector Twelve) by Shannon Eckrich 5 of 5 stars

Forbidden (Sector Twelve) Forbidden (Sector Twelve) by Shannon Eckrich
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book is set in Sector 12. Layna is a Natural which is a death sentence if she is ever found out - her mother told her she must always hide it. Even worse her sister is the Regent so if either her or the Council were to find out she was one, they would definitely kill her.

Seth is also a Natural and Layna is drawn to him and the powers he holds. She falls for him hard, then past memories that were hidden start to resurface. Then she learns of a prophesy that says she has the power together with Seth to stop her sister and the Council and save all the people - but it says her true-soul mate (Seth) will kill her unless she can change the future to prevent that happening. No pressure then....

I loved this book. It was very well written, everything was given in great detail and I could feel the emotions that the characters were feeling. I loved the ending - I won't give it away just say that everything works up to a crescendo and then an ending.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Friday, 18 November 2016

Review: Dragon Reborn by L.C. Alleyne 5 of 5 stars

Dragon Reborn Dragon Reborn by L.C. Alleyne
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed a Reader Copy of this book.

Balthazar Andal has been stuck in his human for for a long time since he lost a dragon scale when fighting his brother. He uses some of his wealth to influence archaeological groups to help him find it but so far it has not been found. He is struggling to restrain his dragon Bal and risks death if he fails to restrain him or find the scale.

Archaeologist Eva Haraldsdóttir and her father have found an artefact that Balthazar is interested in and when they meet at a charity event they are both impressed with each other. At the same event there is an assault on Eva and she is suddenly transported into his world of folklore and legends.

Through hearing noises she finds out what he is and has to decide whether to run away or stay and fight to find his scale before disaster strikes.

I loved this book. Everything was clearly written and explained in detail so that you could put yourself into their world and situation. The love story in parallel with the mystery of the location of the scale was nice and added a bit more depth to the story.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 17 November 2016

Review: Shifted Under Construction by C.E. Black 5 of 5 stars

Shifted Under Construction Shifted Under Construction by C.E. Black
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Harper Mattox has had enough of bad boys no matter how great they look and she has a scar to prove it.

She agrees to be the temporary secretary at a construction site as a favour for her best friend and she assumed life would be quiet and she could just organise them and spend some time keeping busy. She has two bosses - Adam Hughes (her best friend's husband) and Christian Viera (his business partner and all round drop dead gorgeous guy)

Harper is sticking to her resolve to stay away from bad boys but Chris drips with charm and asks her out constantly until she relents. Harper's life is threatened and Chris goes into action and she discovers a side of life she never knew existed. Yes they have lots of passion, but can she accept the other side of him with his fur, claws and fangs?

I loved this story. It had some violence but tastefully done, sex, drama and in the end love. Harper proved that she has one hell of a backbone and is not the weak person she used to be which was great to see a woman doing all of that for herself instead of relying on the alpha male to come in on a white charger and save the day. Definitely worth a read.

View all my reviews

Buy on Amazon

Wednesday, 16 November 2016

Review: Lycan Alpha Claim 1 by Tamara Rose Blodgett 5 of 5 stars

Lycan Alpha Claim 1 Lycan Alpha Claim 1 by Tamara Rose Blodgett
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Talyn Phisher is a counsellor in world that technologically more advanced as us and where humans now know that vampires exist. She is sad and depressed with her life listening to people who don't really want to get better. She then suddenly seems to have acquired a stalker with piercing blue eyes. Even worse she now feels very frightened that she is seriously ill as her body seems to be changing in some way

In desperation she reaches out to an elite team within the police called Final Enforcement for help, however she is not happy about the answers she gets about both herself and her stalker.

This is the first of six novelettes and you may want to read this one to make sure you like it and then then decide to buy the set of 6.

I liked this book. It took a few new twists on the shifter/vampire/human conundrum which made it different to many similar books. The writing was good and clear, and I definitely want to know what happens next.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: Behind the Mask by C E Black 4 of 5 stars

Behind the Mask Behind the Mask by C E Black
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed a Reader Copy of this book.

Kassandra Darkmorre is living as a human and working as a hospice carer for the terminally ill, but also has a part-time job in the local blood bank at the hospital. She generally lives a quiet life watching people move to life's end until one of her patients astounds her by giving her the hope she has not had for the 200 years if her existence and a message to take an invitation when it is presented to her.

She also seems to have got herself in the middle of a love triangle - on the one side is Cyrus Good who she has seen in her dreams, and then on the other side is Xavier Drago who she is drawn to and keeps popping up in her life. Will she sort out her feelings for these two men and will she find the confidence and ability to have the future she desires?

I enjoyed this book and the way it was written. Descriptions and emotions were clearly described even if I felt myself getting irritated with Kassy sometimes. I did especially enjoy the merge between the worlds of magic and vampires and how the path of true love has a few bumps on the way.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Tuesday, 15 November 2016

Review: RESIST- A Vampire Blood Courtesans Romance by Tami Lund 5 of 5 stars

RESIST- A Vampire Blood Courtesans Romance RESIST- A Vampire Blood Courtesans Romance by Tami Lund
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Anya hates vampires since one killed her aunt but she has come to Chicago to find her sister who had gone there to become a Blood Courtesan. However before she can go a look she is attacked by two human thugs and then ironically saved from them by a vampire who says without strings he'll help find her sister. This book is the story of what happens when they try to find her sister and how Anya gets over her fear of vampires.

This is a lovely story and a nice take on vampires and their relationship with both humans and each other. I liked the inclusion of the murder of the aunt into the story and that investigation along with finding her sister. A nice story that made me smile at the end.


View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: My Familiar Stranger by Victoria Danann 5 of 5 stars

My Familiar Stranger My Familiar Stranger by Victoria Danann
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Elora Laiken is about to lose everything when she is saved from assassination. Her mentor saves her by throwing her into an experimental device where she finds herself in another world but the cost of getting there is that she is broken. She is delivered to modern day knights where she encounters elves, vampires and has to get used to the differences between that and her own world. Will she get used to it and gain acceptance, will she find herself with friends, allies and some semblance of family?

I loved this story. I had empathy with all of the characters and could clearly understand their emotions and what was happening to them. I was hoping that everything was moving towards one result, but I was quite happy with the way things ended. Now I just need to read the next book to know what happens next.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Monday, 14 November 2016

Review: Wanted By You by Heather C. Myers 4 of 5 stars

Wanted By You Wanted By You by Heather C. Myers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Riley Ledger is the sheriff's daughter, wishes she was born a boy, and would rather read than anything else. She is also feisty and as stubborn as anything. Her family appear to be ashamed of her and there seems no hope of marrying her off.

Then she comes across Reese Hemingway: attractive, rich, and everything Riley hates in the male species. He seems interested in Riley and her family think their prayers have been answered. However their first encounter does not go well and Reese goes to slap her for ignoring him (her book was more interesting) and she is saved from the slap by Scott Lucas, wanted criminal and man who is determined never to fall in love.

Riley is intrigued by Scott but that turns to hate when he kidnaps her for money. Will her family pay the ransom or will she be abandoned somewhere?

This was a lovely story of a story set in the wild west that you can imagine happening for real. The story was well told and I could definitely sense and feel the thoughts and emotions involved in the story.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Sunday, 13 November 2016

Review: Star Crossed (Sector Eleven) by J.E. Taylor 5 of 5 stars

Star Crossed (Sector Eleven) Star Crossed (Sector Eleven) by J.E. Taylor
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Star is a servant who has been forced to serve the Regency for as long as she can remember. She has magical talent but has to hide it else she will be killed. Jaden is her best friend and the Regents son and he has to marry a pure witch in order to keep sector 11 safe and within his bloodline (plus it has to be someone his mother approves of).

Jaden asks Star to help him find one which means she has a real problem - help the man she loves to find a wife and she has lost him, or show her magic and be put outside the barrier with the Ravagers. Either way she loses.

This was a lovely story of evil and how love can overcome it. It contains a few surprises (you have to read it to find out what they are) and I have to confess I was quite teary at a couple of points when I thought it was hopeless and her world was really going to fall apart. So it was very well written and I could definitely feel the emotions involved in the story.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: The Shadow Children by L.C. Hibbett 5 of 5 stars

The Shadow Children The Shadow Children by L.C. Hibbett
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

Grace is 18 and has been running her entire life with her foster family. For now they are living among humans but it feels like it is only time before the angels find them as the magic which binds them is starting to fail. For over two thousand years the Half-Born like Grace have been hunted to maintain the barrier that hides magic from the human population.

Then they suddenly encounter some unexpected allies and are introduced to the world of The Shadow Children. She finds a world here that she belongs in, but there are battles to come, and nothing is certain - even down to who she can trust.

I loved this book - the way they were hiding and the mixture of races and half-breeds was very interesting and added a lot of variety. The writing was very clear, the descriptions of feelings, objects and emotions was very clear. I definitely enjoyed this first book in the series and can't wait for the next book now.


View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Review: The Shattered Seam by Kathleen Groger 4 of 5 stars

The Shattered Seam The Shattered Seam by Kathleen Groger
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I voluntarily reviewed a Reader Copy of this book.

Sixteen year old Sam's parents are away on a holiday and it is definitely NOT her idea of fun to spend her spring break on a haunted island with her uncle and his film crew ghost hunting. Even worse she is going to be forced to finally admit that she is just like some of the other members of her family and can communicate with spirits.

The island was owned by a wealthy serial killer and not only are the trapped spirits from his crimes there but also he is there determined to rise again. Will Sam be able to close the Seam between the living and the dead by accepting who she is or will she become his next victim?

I really enjoyed this story even though it was more a bit more horror that the books I usually read. I liked the occasional twist in the story which added to the drama and excitement. I just felt a little uncomfortable with some of what was happening.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon

Thursday, 10 November 2016

Review: Pound of Flesh: An Urban Fantasy Novel by J.A. Cipriano 5 of 5 stars

Pound of Flesh: An Urban Fantasy Novel Pound of Flesh: An Urban Fantasy Novel by J.A. Cipriano
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Roy Morgan is an Atlanta cop, however as a half demon and half warlock he is rather special even if both sides don't really get on. He has to fuel his demon side by killing people (he only kills the bad guys).

He decides to stop a robbery in progress and gets himself into a whole lot of mess around demons and other supernatural beings with a plot to catch the assistant district attorney. Roy tries to do the right thing and save the ADA but there are demons, supernaturals, and magic a over the place as everyone tries to collect the reward by capturing her.

I really enjoyed this book. In places it was funny yet also dramatic with lots of action. I found myself reading it faster as I got further into the book and wanted to know what happens next.

View all my reviews

Buy from Amazon